We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas at Alpina”
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpina
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just sent Christmas 2013 at this wonderful hotel. From the moment we were picked up at the Airport, which was arranged by the hotel, to the moment we left, there wasn't anything that we could moan about, criticise,or wish that it had been different.
The receptionist, Jessika, was fantastic and went out of her way to provide any information we needed, from organising ski passes, to keeping all the guests informed of lift closures one morning during a period of high winds.
Christmas Eve was magical, a harpist, carols, Father Christmas and presents for all the guests both young & old, followed by a fantastic 7 course dinner.
We were 2 families, with 3 children between us aged 15, 12 & 5, all 3 were welcomed and catered for in the Hotel, from a lovely 'Kids Club' , a children's buffet every evening & despite lots of noise, laughter & children having fun, the children were never made to feel unwelcome and were treated as equally important guests.
The meals were fantastic, a buffet breakfast to set us up for the day, fresh fruit in the lobby, hot snacks and cake to return to after skiing & then an evening meal with various themes & all freshly cooked. Marius , the Sommelier, was great, funny, informative and nothing was too much trouble,even cleaning up spilt red wine, bolognaise sauce and the general mess that the 7 of us seemed to make every evening !!
The ski rental shop, below the hotel was perfect and provided an excellent service too.
We had a magical Christmas, thanks to the hard work of the 'Will family', who work incredibly long hours to ensure that their guests are having a great holiday. They made us feel very welcome & special & we look forward to returning in 2015.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpinaObertauern, Owner at Hotel Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Nikki7727,

We thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review.

We were really happy to celebrate Christmas with you!

It is a pleasure to hear that the service our team provided gave you and your family such a magical Christmas.
We are delighted that our team did a great job and that you enjoyed the meals.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!

Your hosts Family Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very caring hotel. They really do their best to make you feel special. Absolute excellent food!!! You don't want to eat anywhere else!
Best Christmas ever away from home. We even got Christmas-gifts :)
Perfect for skiing! Perfect for families or couples. Skirental in the house at a discount. Spa/ and different kind of saunas, but not a pool. Massages. Skischool downstairs. Doctor just next to hotel.

Room Tip: A balcony is always nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinHelsingborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpinaObertauern, Owner at Hotel Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear guests,

we thank you for you taking the time for a lovely review.
Our head chef Matthias and his team are delighted that you enjoyed their food.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Your hosts Family Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Alpina with my wife and one year old son for 1 week. I cannot remembered feeling being made more welcome at a hotel in Europe and I travel a lot over past 8 years. The staff are extremely hospitable. The meal changes daily and spanned over a variety of cuisine (mostly European in nature although there was a blend of Asian fusion theme) and were all excellent. To be honest, I was pleasantly suprise by the quality of meals as it was far above my expectations given past experiences with half-boards. There is a free crèche for children which we used so my wife and I could ski together and my son seem to have enjoyed it. My only complaint is the distant from ski lift. While it isn't more than 5 minutes walk, walking in snowboarding boots isn't my favourite pastime.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felixclai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ideal Location, friendly staff allthough almost no-one nativ, but so, well trained due..flexible and welcoming, 10% early booking a year ahead...
In General very nice all together, also the food > BRAVO!
Maybe some rooms and bathrooms a bit small..but clean/fine
We ll come back!

Room Tip: No elejir Habitacion Single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great family run hotel, charming owners (Elizabeth and Matt), and friendly staff. Excellent kitchen, inventive cuisine and good sized helpings. Particularly enjoyed the “Wellness Centre” and the sauna facilities (dry, Finnish and wet rooms). We hope to return. Harley Nott March 2013.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I visited Hotel Alpina for 2 nights; I was doing a quick stop through in Austria and wanted to get to the Ski hills. I traveled from New Brunswick, Canada and can honestly say I've not stay at a nice and more friendly hotel ever. The staff were engaging, and only as much as you needed them to be. They were helpful (the owner offered us a tour of the ski slopes on the 1st morning of our stay) a discount was offered at the rental show which is at the front door of the hotel; plenty of selection in snowboards and skis. And the owners went as far as calling the rental shop to have them open early so we could get out onto the slopes as soon as the chair lifts were running. The food at the Hotel restaurant was fantastic. Great buffet options, and a very tasteful chef who served great dishes including vegatarian. I can't recommend this place enough. Fantastic place. If you are going to Obertaun feel safe and happy if you are going to stay here!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family have spent here 5 nights, including New Year Eve opn December 31. Our impressions about this hotel are very mixed and here are the reasons.
As everybody wrote in their reviews, the hotel stuff and a owning family are extremely friendly, attentive and do their best practically everywhere - from parking lot to a restaurant or your room. I will not repeat all the details given by other travellers - everything is even much better that you can read. Another great impression is about food. It was excellent and very, very rich! Just only a salad buffet was so various that it was rather difficult to refuse from tasting everything in favour of main dishes.

Now about what caused overall mixed impression - there are 3 main reasons.
1) Nearly all the ground floor of the building is occupied by a ski shop and ski school, so the hotel by itself is located starting only from the first floor (there are only a ski room and welness area on the ground floor, in the rear part of the building). It means the 4-star hotel has no lobby with reception facing the street - you will get to a small reception only by stairs or elevator. Yes, there are a small bar and a small lobby are on the first floor, near reception and restaurant, but in this hotel you deprived of pleasure to enter a spacious lobby immediately from the street, to seat with a cap of wine near a big window and look for outside etc. In my opinion this is an essential quality of a 4-star hotel.
2) The hotel rooms are rather weared out. Yes, there are an LCD, but a wardrobe, beds, furniture in a bathroom are old. EVerything works well, but impression is not good. I would say - the first hour I was shocked seeing my room.
3) The hotel positioning is not perfect for those who come here mainly for skiing or snowboarding, as we are. Closest ski lift on the western part of ski area is about 10 minutes walk to south of the hotel (to the left). You may choose an option to go to the right but it will take a lot of efforts to reach a slope which finally brings you to a place where are 3 ski lifts located. If you start you day from an eastern part of ski area, you have to go 3-4 minutes to a primitive ski lift (it moves you while standing on foot), then you need to go a short distance to a short slope which leads to a Central ski lift, and only after ascending you will start you skiing. But be aware - you will not be able to go back to a hotel this way.
In conclusion I would say: I'm for a second time in Obertauern, I like this ski region, I will come here back, but I will not choose Alpina hotel because of 1) and 3) cons.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schneider
Hotel Schneider
#1 of 35 in Obertauern
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
#27 of 35 in Obertauern
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rigele Royal
Hotel Rigele Royal
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
#21 of 35 in Obertauern
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#9 of 35 in Obertauern
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 35 in Obertauern
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Roemerstrasse 53, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Price Range: $138 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpina 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inspiring 4 star hotel expect you!Spend a memorable vacation at the ever-popular 4-star-family hotel in the center of the village, surrounded by lifts.You’ll love the hotel’s amenities and the unlimited access to sports. Savor our creative culinary delights and fine wines in a personalized, homely ambiance. Complimentary free of charge childcare service at the Alpina Kids Club and our private Snowland right next our own CSA-Skischool Willi Grillitsch - a sport shop is also directly in the hotel NEW: Alpina Wellness ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing