We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel close to pistes”
Review of Hotel Latschenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Latschenhof
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

About 3 min. walk to piste where you can snowboard down to the lifts. At the end of the day, you can board back to where you started which is also the site of an apres-ski bar. The hotel is at the bottom end of the village, but you can walk the length of the village in about 15 minutes max. The hotel bar is not particularly expensive if you are drinking alcohol, but the non-alcoholic drinks are about the same price. The food was excellent with plenty to choose from including vegetarian options. The sauna was ok but it is limited and not completely free. If you want to hire a robe, it costs 5 euros. The sauna and steam room are free but there is a charge of over 10 euros for half an hour in the relaxation room and there are also charges for the jacuzzi and solarium. The ski room isn't locked so you may want to take a lock. We stayed at the front of the hotel. It is set quite far back from the main road and is the quietest ski resort hotel I have been in. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loulabelle1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel was excellent. Afternoon tea from 4-5pm everyday consisting of choice of beverage and cakes /pizza / cold meats ect . This was followed by 5 course evening meals every day.

The location meant a two minute walk to the ski slope and our room at the front of the hotel overlooked the ski slopes. The staff were very friendly. The bar and "lounge" area were a little small but still very pleasant and welcoming. Would defintely recommend it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank golferLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at Latschenhof 4 days for skiing and I have to say the hotel was better than I expected after reading the reviews. The best things were the food, the location and the friendly and helpful staff. I did not use the spa so I cannot comment on that. The restaurant outside terasse was wonderful in the afternoon for sunbath and just looking at the people coming down the slope. The closest pist was less than 100 m away so it was almost ski in ski out. The single room was quite small but comfortable and had all the things needed including enough storage space and even a balcony which was on the sunny side during daytime. The only complain I have is that the wlan/internet could be better in the room, however in the lobby it worked fine. Those who complain that it did not reach the 4 star status, please consider the cost also. 72€/night for a single room including buffe breakfast and a great dinner, that I think is great value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerLofholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just returned from a ski trip with five friends staying at the lovely Latschenhof. The hotel is immaculate and the service staff at the bar and restaurant were fantastic! The front desk staff were good but not on par with the restaurant and bar staff and were not always around. The hotel is a lovely traditional ski hotel and whilst the bar is somewhat small, as has been mentioned in other reviews, it was more than adequate for the size of the hotel. The location was perfect, with an entrance to the piste about 300m away and the food was solidly good throughout the week. The effort made by the staff in the restaurant and bar to ensure we were happy and comfortable was exceptional and the cleaning staff were fantastic! I think we could have eaten off the floor. The rooms were comfortable, although a bit small with suitcases and gear, but more than acceptable. The only minor negative was that the hotel was quite hot given we were skiing late in the season, with no heat adjustment in the room. Therefore we had the windows open at all times to balance out the heating issue. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Following a recent stay I was disappointed on the size of our room which included a single pull out bed for my 15 year old daughter which was placed with one half wedged up to the drafty balcony window and the top half against the radiator. We actually moved to the end of our bed.
When we asked the receptionist if they had another room we were told that our room was a standard room which is always reserved by Crystal and that they were fully booked. Unfortunately we then discovered that their was no hot water for a shower, only luke warm. During our weeks stay we only managed 2 hot showers which were taken late afternoon which suggests that the hot water system cannot cope when fully booked. We spent most evenings after dinner in our "small room" as the small lounge area was directly opposite the main entrance and was extremly chilly. The small bar area which was opposite the lounge area was again not very appealing which meant there were not other areas in which to spend time relaxing.
Access to the free Wi-fi proved difficult and we were unable to connect for the majority of the time.
As for the spa area we disappointed to find that the "Jacuzzi" as stated in the brochure is just a single bath with jets and which required a token to be purchased from reception. We also had to pay 5 Euros for gowns which was not stated in Crystals brochure description.
The restaurant in our opinion was the hotels saving grace with the staff extremly attentive and friendly. The breakfast menu offered everything from cereals, fruit, fresh bread rolls to boiled and fried eggs along with omelette made to order. Between 4 - 5 pm there were teas and coffees along with cakes and often a savoury dish.
The evening meals were sufficient although our 15 year old struggled with many of the meals and would have preferred it if there had been a childrens menu on the evenings when she disliked what was on offer.
As for the ski resort itself we were disappointed in the lack of piste grooming which resulted in poor conditions on the majority of pistes. Even first thing in the morning the pistes appeared to be in the sort of condition you'd expect at the end of the day and not first thing. We also found the runs to be extremely short.
We have been skiing for the past 11 years and this is the first time we have been disappointed with a ski resort.

Room Tip: If travelling with children i would recommend inquiring into whether they have triple rooms rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel skiing with Crystal holidays, the hotel was one of the highlights of the trip. The rooms are clean comfortable and reasonably spacious.
The food in the hotel was excellent and the kitchen staff were always willing to be flexible in order to accomodate my wifes aversion to meat and my daughters pickiness. The reception staff were very helpful and even though we arrived early, our room was quickly prepared.
Free afternoon tea on return from the slopes which I must say were fantastic was very welcoming. If there was a downside it was the cost of drinks in the dining room but they have to survive on their takings in the summer when the resort is closed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbinhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were in Obertauern for Skiing and stayed in the Latschenhof for this week.

The service was excellent most of the time (including the hotel getting ski passes, and to the most kind very friendly staff at the reception and in the restaurant).
There is some room for improvement with regards to some of the services, in other words it would have been helpful for the hotel and for us if we would have been informed at check in time that the hotel offers getting the ski passes this would have spared us some waiting time the next morning and the hotel the need to rush someone to buy the passes (which they were willing to do without complaining nevertheless), but these were IMHO minor aspects.
The food was as well very good most of the time (with 1 out of 7 exceptions at dinner). Breakfast was very good but dependent on the staff being on duty the "egg service" (the hotel offers making omelettes, eyes sunny side up etc. on individual demand) there were sometimes long waiting times until someone was supporting in this area.

It was generally quite cold in Obertauern at the time of our stay so it was very convenient that the hotel let its heating run at a setting that allowed the rooms to become convenient (we have seen different settings in the past :-) ). The only disadvantage observed in the shower was that the overall warm water capacity was limited to some extent so in some cases the water became hotter or colder most probably when someone else started or stopped showering (nevertheless manageable).

The hotel offers free WiFi (which I perceive as very helpful :-) ); unfortunately the log in into the hotels system did not work a significant portion of the time.

Generally we had a very positive impression about the hotel with few aspects that have room for improvement (without being bad as they are).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusTravVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
#22 of 35 in Obertauern
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
#26 of 35 in Obertauern
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#12 of 35 in Obertauern
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cinderella
Hotel Cinderella
#10 of 35 in Obertauern
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#9 of 35 in Obertauern
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Latschenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Latschenhof

Address: Ringstrasse 4, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range: $176 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Latschenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Latschenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latschenhof Hotel Obertauern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing