We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a week at this hotel with 3 generations of our family, age 4-70+, skiers & non-skiers. Our family rarely goes anywhere twice and this is the first place I think we may return to. The accommodation was great, and the food was fantastic. The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were roman & dan who arranged ski hire, ski school & an enjoyable Nordic stroll. The pool, jacuzzi & wellness sauna/steam area were great, especially for non skiers who had the place to themselves during the morning/early afternoon. We were there over Easter and there were lots of Easter chocolate and bakery treats. The restaurant has fabulous views and the food and service was great - a special thank you to Lisa for her wine recommendation and general cheeriness, and to the omelette man. A minor criticism was that the child's menu was slightly too sophisticated for the 4 year old who would have liked more along the lines of pizza, chicken nuggets, pasta & chips! There were a lot of extra free activities at the hotel but many of thes could have been better timed for non skiers to fill their days (eg aqua aerobics). Thank you and hope to return!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_Minx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laarne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Good location but average service (reception, bar), on the other hand good cleaning and restaurant staff.
It lacks the little extra's we became used to in other hotels in Austria. There's an extra charge for parking in the garage and if you like to make use of the WIFI you have to pay too. I heard there planning a renovation next year, this could make the cost/value balance better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blue74Laarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were here for Christmas. The 9 course gala dinner had to be seen to be believed and all the food, from the breakfast through the afternoon "snacks" to the dinners was outstanding, if very generous. Service is personal and friendly, rooms are clean, pool is large and generally peaceful.

The standard rooms are rather small, with space taken up by a seating area. The larger rooms (we had a "junior suite") are expensive but much better.

Wifi is expensive and unreliable, and smoke in the bar areas can make them unusable by non-smokers in the evenings - but that would not stop us going back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Except for the very booking process, everything else was superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just came back from a week at the Kohlmayr with my husband & 3 children. Very good food throughout, omelette/egg counter at breakfast + smoked salmon, soft & hard cheese, roast beef, fruit salad, fresh fruit, different speciality breads each day, croissants, pastries etc. About 8 different juices, again varying each day.

Rooms simple but comfortable, we had a KomfortAppartment which was a 2 bedroom suite with 2 separate single sofa beds in the sitting room, ideal for a family with teenage children.

Pool area large & spacious, good jacuzzi & spa area.

Boot & ski room easy to access from outside, no steps. In house ski etc hire available. Also sells goggles, hats, gloves. Larger shop v close.

Dinner v good each night, 5 courses apart from gala night, 8 courses. Children's menu available. Vegetarian, fish & meat main course choice each night apart from Gala. Self service soft drinks included with dinner - you choose a carafe size, fill it & take back to your table so no waiting for more water or children's drinks.

Substantial après ski snack. Savory, salads and cakes each day. Unlimited tea, hot chocolate & soft drinks.

Staff very friendly & helpful, chambermaid brought robes to fit each child on first day.

Only showergel/shampoo & small bars of soap as toiletries together with small emergency kit - ear buds, shower cap.

We had a great time & would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiflippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I've stayed here for a number of years and always find the staff very friendly. Food is fantastic and although you may read that this hotel is not in the centre of town, it really isn't that far and to be honest it's a bit of a god send. Spa is great pool huge.......enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4realWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of food, very pleasant and helpful staff and the amenities of the pool, spa, bar etc were great. Well located in the main town, plus free parking is a bonus. Also easy to arrange ski passes, lessons, hire without having to leave the hotel! The rooms are average but otherwise all excellent and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steiner
Hotel Steiner
#2 of 35 in Obertauern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schneider
Hotel Schneider
#1 of 35 in Obertauern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rigele Royal
Hotel Rigele Royal
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#13 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seekarhaus
Seekarhaus
#3 of 35 in Obertauern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kohlmayr Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kohlmayr Royal

Property: Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Address: Ringstrasse 5, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kohlmayr Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kohlmayr Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohlmayr Hotel Obertauern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing