We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunchtime Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seekarhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seekarhaus
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny South West
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Visited this hotel for lunch whilst skiing in Obertauren, the food and service were excellent. From the sheepskins provided for guests who wanted to sit outside to the immaculate fixtures and fittings within the hotel I wouldn't hesitate to book a room and have an extended stay, thinking of walking in the Alps this summer so this and the hotel we stayed in at Obertauren will be high on our list of places to use.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scratchgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    10
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
82
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SIN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Every need was well taken care for the entire duration of our stay. Its location and proximity to the ski lifts is a plus. From the warm hospitality, daily staff service to the food quality and meal options, Das Seekarhaus has met our expectations and more. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkle_travel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in the club of the top hotels in the alps and as spoon as you enjoy it you know why. Whatever you have in mind thinking of a very good hotel will Becker thru here. And the environment on an altitude of 1790m in the middle of snow wonderworld is just a fairy tale.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_l_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

For skiers of all abilities, this is the perfect place. The hotel is located in-between 4 chair lifts with the closest being 10m away. The hotel has recently added on a spa with a sauna and also a pool. Also a high-tech gym for the fitness conscious. New rooms have also been added all of which being in a pristine quality. The Beatles film 'Help' was filmed in the hotel and in the surrounding areas, with members of the owning family starring in the film as the skiers. Many of the gear that was used is displayed in cabinets in the ironically called 'Beatles Bar'. The Krings family owns the hotel, they are one of the main selling points of the hotel, tending to the needs of every customer. The Family have also boasted two world champions in the world of snowboarding and skiing. The food is cooked by top-notch chefs who on request tend to the needy English requirements. The hotel is 40 minutes from Salzburg Airport and is 2000m up in the mountains. If you want a holiday which has a blend of activities or even just relaxation, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

During the winter season, I use to go skiing in top ski resorts in Austria or Switzerland. I can say that I have seen lots of them up to date. Regarding the Seekarhaus, and giving it an overall rating, I can say it is the best I have seen. That's the reason why I went there many times. It is perfectly located, in the midle of the nature, surrounded by mountains and snow. It's wonderfull to live the skiroom, take the lift to the second floor, go out and there you are on the slope.
The food is really good and one of the highest quality. Rooms are also very nice equiped with anything you need. Especially In the new part, they have very beautif rooms.
Service is also great, they ar always at your disposal, ready to help you.

The only thing i don't like is the thing that the bar area is a smoking one, and the smoke can easily reach the lobby and reception area.

If you like quality ski, try this. You will not regret!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyTravelPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekarhaus, Direktionsassistentin at Seekarhaus, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,


we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Seekarhaus!


We are planning to install a separate "Smoker's Lounge" this winter to please all our guests. We want to ensure an enjoyable stay for our none smoking guests as well as for our smoking guests who will definitely feel comfortable in our newly created space!


Best regards
DAS Seekarhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondsee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We just have enjoyed a wonderful week in this great hotel. The staff is very friendly and very well trained. The food is really top quality. Location directly at the tracks is perfect. Even with only little sunshine this week we had fun and enjoyed the swimming area and the fitness facilities a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is on the top 1850 meter of Obertaern. The advantage is you ski out this hotel direkt on the best slopes! The restaurant is a One star Gault Millaud with verry fine food.The rooms are verry wel maintained and ofer you small and luxuryi suites. The new swimming pool is gorgeus with haman and sauna. In the morning from 10 am t'ill 4 pm you can sit on the terras
in the full sun !
We alredy went 5 times to this hotel and go back next year !
Have fun and Topski!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Steiner
Hotel Steiner
#2 of 35 in Obertauern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Schneider
Hotel Schneider
#1 of 35 in Obertauern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.6 mi away
Superior Hotel Kesselspitze
Superior Hotel Kesselspitze
#4 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
#9 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rigele Royal
Hotel Rigele Royal
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seekarhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seekarhaus

Property: Seekarhaus
Address: Seekarstrasse 32, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seekarhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So close to the sky: at 1,800 metres above sea level, only a snowball’s throw from the ski slopes and cross-country trails of the Obertauern region, one finds the venerable Seekarhaus – a paradise for winter-sport fans, wellness aficionados, foodies, and other lovers of the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, seekda GmbH and Agoda so you can book your Seekarhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing