We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ski holiday!”
Review of Hotel Rigele Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rigele Royal
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Omak, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect ski holiday!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just came back from beautiful Austria! This time our choice fell on Obertauern. Awesome place for everybody and Rigele hotel is a real pearl! Central location (2 minutes to the slopes), nice building, decent rooms, delicious food, great recreation center - outdoor pool in -20 C(don't worry, water is slightly warmer, lol) is a real fun! And most important - service! These guys are real professionals! From the room service to high management! And all this stuff you can get for reasonable money - slightly under 1000 euro/pers. for week with HB/ski-pass. In my case I had to add about $880 for a flight from... USA. Definitely was worth! I can't wait for the next time!
Wojciech Kalamon, Omak WA, USA

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrzdupix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

First of all I just want to Thank every staff member of the hotel for their great welcome.
Rigele Royal is a great place to stay. It's right next to the slopes. Rooms are nice. Everyone is so FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. I would stay there again.

The only thing I might recommend is to make a separate smoking area just because it's a bit unpleasant for people who don't smoke!

But Overall great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We will for sure return to this really nice family owned hotel. The staff is friendly and very service minded and the ambiance is great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenkeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

From the moment we arrived (Very Late) until the time we left, we were made to feel like we were family. The staff were great, and the owner went out of her way to make us feel at home. The place is located close to the slopes - 75 meters in/out. the Food was amazing and we spent most of our free time in the in/outdoor pool.
This will be a Hotel on our yearly schedule

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sand-N-our-shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The other English written reviews say it all, we have just returned from Obertauren - loved the Rigele Royale. The pool is wonderful and special. relaxing with underwater lights , a big draw, esp the outside bit with warm water and bubbles. Our kids skiied 6 hours and then spent 3 in the pool, nipping out to lie in snow and back into water! (not sure this is encouraged!). The hotel is not huge so plenty of room poolside and never too crowded, they serve drinks poolside and it is just beside the afternoon snack area so you can pop through in your robe and load up your plate.

Only negative was we found it a bit hard to understand the difference in the 2 restaurants and that as half board guests we could order 'off menu'. (not all the staff have fluent english though enough do). They were very accommodating also made some favourites for our kids not on the menu at all, perhaps they could explain this to guests on arrival, esp those coming from England not used to the Austrian way of serving dinner with many courses. Lucky we asked at the begining of the week. The food was lovely but the banquet style food is not for our teens but they found plenty on the menu they loved. Gala dinner memorable. We've been elsewhere in Austria where they were not so flexible, nothing was too much trouble here.

Esp popular were the after ski snacks, endless sweets and nibbles and the lovely bar area to relax on sofas (but sd one family be allowed to reserve the best sofa corner for themselves for a whole week?). The bar staff were very professional and friendly and beautifully attired (was a bit disappointing to see them in normal gear arriving for work!!). Breakfast also excellent, rooms spacious, comfortable - robes and slippers for everyone.

WE also got a €100 voucher for the shop which I thought would have a snag, but no, we got a €99 pair of ski gloves for nothing - just hand over the voucher. Going home we got a a nice little duffel bag as a gift.

It's just left to say that the skiiing here is marvellous, after 6 days we still found new routes (though 3 days was so snowy we couldn't see anything), there are different spectacular views from the many summits with lots of interesting and varied ways of getting back to the village. The prices in the lunch stops were not too high by the general run of these things, you could eat for 5/6 euros in most places and big servings. It is a good resort for the intermediate, some nice wide runs and fun sections for kids to race down. bit off putting for the beginner as most runs have some steep section. Maybe if you love black runs there is not enough but reds are often quite challenging and steep. Best of all it was half term week and there were NO lift queues, just once for 10 minutes there was a crush, not sure why.

I don't want to say too much more as we hope to book again and don't want this lovely place to be full.

Our room was at the front did not hear any noise at night.

It's not ski in but it's only 4 minutes walk to 2 main lifts, boot room v good with warm boot racks, ski shop opposite (ask for Rigele discount), ski school will collect from hotel.

It's expensive but does not disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocofamilyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We have just returned from a week-long skiing holiday in Obertauern. We were a bit unfortunate with the snow conditions but at least we stayed in a great hotel, the Rigele Royal. A medium sized family owned and run hotel in the middle of Obertauern. We had planed on staying at hotel Schneider which is a famous an much bigger hotel, but decided at the last minute to try a smaller hotel. And we did not regret it for one minute! We got excellent personal service from arrival to departure. Special thanks to the head bartender who really knows his stuff when it comes to drinks and funny anecdotes. We ate almost all of our meals in the ala carte restaurant which held a very high standard (not to be confused with the pre-fixed meny buffet). The Rigele Family has a special reserved corner in the bar and are always there to ask you if you "had a god skiing" or if everything is alright, thereby creating a loose and gentle atmosphere. The bar/reception is the central nervous system of the hotel where everybody meets for a pre dinner drink and is spectacular. Rooms are traditional austrian in style and very different from what we scandinavians are used to (keep that in mind). The outdoor swimmingpool is absolutely fantastic after a day of skiing, and you can enjoy a drink in warm water with stars over your head. Monika in the spa will also take good care of you. One heads up though, because of its loction in the middle of centrum apreski-noise can be heard from the night club in the cellar the monkey`s heaven. Will return for easter if we dont give sölden a try!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Have just returned from one week at the Rigele Royal Hotel in Obertauern, Austria. It's a beautiful hotel, centrally located, just a short walk to the slopes. It is family run and all the staff are extremely friendly. The attention to detail is superb. The room quality is high, robes and slippers provided, mini bar, room safe, balconies, views etc. All facilities are clean, modern and attractive. The wellness centre is well equiped and the indoor/outdoor pool is a particular favourite. The breakfasts are mainly buffet with a huge choice. For half board guests there is an afternoon mini buffet provided every day. The evening meals are superbly presented and beautifully cooked. We did not try the onsite club or the casino but heard good reports from other guests. There is underground parking and onside ski room with heated lockers. It is not a ski-in ski-out hotel but it's only a few minutes walk to the slopes. You are surrounded by good apres ski and shops.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and good attention to detail
  • Disliked — Lack of English channels on the TV
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantasialandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steiner
Hotel Steiner
#2 of 35 in Obertauern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schneider
Hotel Schneider
#1 of 35 in Obertauern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
#9 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#13 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cinderella
Hotel Cinderella
#11 of 35 in Obertauern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigele Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigele Royal

Property: Hotel Rigele Royal
Address: Rosenweg 1, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Rigele Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rigele Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing