We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite nice place for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldenes Lamm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Certificate of Excellence
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quite nice place for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

It's located just at the end of pedestrian zone, next to the river. Very nice and friendly staff, a bit old but cosy rooms. Large and well equipped bathrooms (but remember to ask for hairdryer at reception). Free and secure parking. Quite good Internet access.
I didn't see airconditioning in the room, during summer it might be a bit hot. Our room was overlooking the street which was nice to watch for a while, but pretty noisy as well.
Breakfast could be improved, it is rather basic. But anyway - for a short stay it is excellent place, I would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
70
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ivanic Grad, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second time in this hotel. It would be wrong not to praise this hotel. Once more, I liked everything - the location is great for those who travel by train. Receptionists are very kind, friendly, talkative. Rooms are ok. The last time - I was in a back hall, this time I got the main room that overlooks the main street, with flowers outside of window. So alpine, so romantic. Those who write complaints are those who seek perfections and they will never find that on this planet until they change their closed minds. Unlike in Slovenia, there are no annoying room cleaning in the early morning, eager to throw you out of room. Even though the room was at the main street, once the window was closed I didn't have problem with street noise, I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motti77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel in Villach for one night as a stopover between Venice and Salzburg. It is located in a charming street of shops and restaurants.
When we walked into the hotel it immediately smelt like cigarette smoke, which we later found out came from the restaurant which allowed smoking in some parts of it - inside. This is certainly a huge turn off and we only ate there for our breakfast that we had already paid for.

The room was very outdated in decor but spacious. The toilet was very weird as the hole with water is at the front and there is a little ledge that your "business" sits on - kind of like a viewing platform. After 2.5 weeks on holiday and a very bad diet - the room stank after every visit! We later found out that some Europeans don't like the splash back which is why the toilet was designed that way.

One thing that saves this hotel is the lovely receptionists who spoke sufficient English.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fabulous location, close to everything, lovely, friendly staff.
Rooms are spacious, but old. Very old. I really wish I could have loved the hotel, because the staff were so nice. A bit of a renovation and I'm sure it'd be wonderful.

My biggest gripe though, was that in the attached indoor restaurant, smoking was allowed and with zero ventilation, it was disgusting even walking past the restaurant entrance (in the hotel lobby).

Room Tip: All have a nice view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed there before going to slovenia. Prices were very reasonable and the room was quite nice. . Nothing negative to say! QUite near the train/bus station. Breakfast was tasty but it could have offer a bigger selection,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Anselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had spent two wonderful days in Salzburg and drove to Villach enroute to Slovenia and spent a night at the Hotel Goldenes Lamm. The reason we stayed at this hotel is because they had a secured parking lot. It was unfortunate the day we arrived it rained in the evening. We arrived in the afternoon near the end of September and found that the village square was very quiet. A big difference from Munich and Salzburg. We figured it was because it may have been the end of the tourist season. We had booked in advance a non-smoking room and also a room away from the street as we had heard it could be noisy. When we enterred our room it smelled like smoke and asked to be moved. They gave us two other options and we chose the room near the middle away from the laundry room. The room they provided us faced the right side of the hotel. The young lady at the front desk was very pleasant and smoke English very well. The breakfast was your usual European breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the streets and insist on a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We made the Goldenes Lamm one of our stopover hotels enroute from Croatia to UK having stopped over in 2008. Our main reason to stop here was the excellent restaurant in the Hotel sadly the restaurant was closed ( Monday night ?) We did go to a nearby restaurant in a adjacent Hotel which was awful and expensive, in the morning we could not go to breakfast due to the effects of the evening meal, but we where still charged for breakfast by the Goldener Lamm. The Hotel does have a secure enclosed car park which is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Villach
Holiday Inn Villach
#1 of 19 in Villach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Post
Romantik Hotel Post
#5 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#6 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kramer Hotel
Kramer Hotel
#8 of 19 in Villach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
#17 of 19 in Villach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mosser
Hotel Mosser
#10 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldenes Lamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldenes Lamm

Property: Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Address: Hauptplatz 1, Villach 9500, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldenes Lamm 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Goldenes Lamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing