We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Villach
Nearby Hotels
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$322
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel City(Villach)
$129
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mosser(Villach)
$138
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kramer Hotel(Villach)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
203
143
27
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
143
27
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivermodern hotelcomfortable bedsold townomeletteunderground parkingnespresso machinehotel chargeson demandexecutive roomdouble rooms arewell stocked barexcellent staydirect accessexcellent hotelfeel very welcomenight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 392 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I was positively surprised by the holiday inn in villach
A great hotel worth staying again & again
Fantastic rooms, super breakfast , decent service, great gym
I will come here again
The rooms are worth mentioning again , very well done , spacious & everything I needed as a traveller

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MahendraPoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

First the positives:
Very good location - just over the bridge a very short walk into the altstadt (old town).
Excellent breakfast. Good quality food, lots of choice, freshly cooked eggs, local produce.
The view from the bedroom window (as long as you have a room with a river view) is lovely.
Good car parking right below the hotel.

However:
our stay was spoiled by the upset caused by the hotel's underhand pricing policy. As a previous reveiwer has remarked and i wish I had read it before making my booking. I found the hotel while making a quick search on 'Bookings.com' for one overnight in the area. I found the hotel and remebering its location thought it would be nice and the price was quite reasonable. I told my wife that I would just check the price on Holiday Inn's web site and found the price was even lower. I quickly booked a double room and selected the option to include breakfast for up to 2 people. So we arrived confident in our booking for a double room with breakfast for up to two people. That led us to the assumption that this was the price for two people sharing a room. This turned out to be incorrect and we were advised that my wife's presence would incur an additional charge of 40 euros. The only thing extra involved in my wife's presence was breakfast and that had already been covered by the breakfast supplement for 'up to two people'. Therefore, as i told the receptionist on arrival and on departure - this charge is really out of order. It was obvious that we were not the first people to have raised thsi!

I would suggest that for the single traveller the hotel is ideal. However for two people it may be less than idea due to the above issues, but also the room design, again commented on by previous reviewers. The bathroom and toilet doors are quite transparent which may be chic and modern, but is also quite unpleasant.

The restaurant may well be good as breakfast is excellent, but feeling ripped off we decided to take our business elsewhere for dinner and found the very attractive Romantik Hotel in town. Here we had an absolutely fantastic meal - we have quite exacting standards for food, often being very unimpressed by restaurants getting very positive reviews of trip advisor, but honestly this restaurant and its food were realy special.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the river side.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian_COLCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Villach, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Adrian_COLCHESTER,

I would like to thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Villach as well as for taking time to leave your feedback and your impressions on this website.
On the official IHG webpage, where you have made your reservation, it is very important to fill in the correct number of passengers from the very beginning on. Please let me explain you why: Our hotel is equipped with double rooms only. There is the possibility to book them also for single use but we do not have single rooms as such. So when you enter a request for 1 passenger, there will show up only double rooms on the screen but displaying the price for 1 person. The meaning “double room for up to 2 persons” only describes the room type selected and its maximum capacity. This is, what also happened in your particular case and aroused the irritation about the surcharge for the second person when arriving at our hotel.

Unfortunately we do not have an impact on the depiction of our room types on the official IHG webpage. For future reservations with us I therefore would like to ask you, to make sure that you type in the correct number of passengers before completing the reservation process. Thank you for your understanding.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Villach!
Best Regards,
René Sulzberger (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Good location in the center of the city, but quiet and calm. Clean rooms but different from Holiday Inn standards, there are no coffee machines in all rooms. Big disadvantage is that there is no bathroom, but glass box inside the room serves as toilet! Also shower is in the middle of the room (glas box). Very unpleasant, especially if you do not travel allone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Villach, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Dragan M.,

thank you very much for staying at Holiday Inn Villach and for leaving your impressions on this website. As we already told you on the IHG webpage – where you also have assessed our hotel – most of our guests like the modern design of our rooms and the bathroom inside. The Holiday Inn standards imply that there have to be coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms, which we do have. You will find a kettle as well as tea and instant coffee at your free disposal in all of our superior rooms. Please note, that only our executive rooms are equipped with Nespresso - coffee machines.
However, we would be pleased to welcome you once more at the Holiday Inn Villach. Kind regards, René Sulzberger (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great welcoming and polite staff, attentive to business Travellers and families with children. Nice clean and cosy rooms, good food with average prices, and very cosy bar. We came here on a reward night and were even offered an upgrade! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are quite charming, but if you have children you may ask and book two connected rooms on the other side. You'll have to make do without the view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuliano26874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Little village, in very nice surroundings (mountains, lakes, etc.). Superb hotel with view on the mountains or on the lake, nice, accomodating staff, excellent food, including excellent choice of breakfast and close to several restaurants, clean, modern rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Villach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Villach.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a pleasant time until then.
Kind Regards,
René Sulzberger (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews