We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Villach
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to perfection”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We selected this hotel after having looked at tripadvisor, showing it to be the best in Villach.

We'll, we are not disappointed, on the contrary, the sight from the room is indeed fabulous, but moreover, we found out that the the parking was a sort of private parking on the lowest parking level, with direct access to the hotel elevator. So we could leave the luggage in the car without having to worry about it.
Also the room was fabulous, wher the bathroom design was very innovative, architects would call this playing with space, very original.

Shortly: this is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermaantje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    132
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
106
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
873 reviews
485 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Very nice hotel and rooms although the rooms were pretty warm. Found out that the system only worked if the windows were closed and even then, the temperature was set at 23C. Great location in Villach with reasonable parking rates. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in Villach two seperate times in April 2011. First time we paid the extra amount for the river view which is defintely worth it. It has a great view of the old town of Villach, the river and the mountains in the background. We took the train into Villach and it was a semi-short walk from the train station to the hotel. Hotel is in a great location right across the bridge from the old town which is great to walk around. The hotel decor is very modern and the rooms were spacious. Hotel staff was great and very helpful. No business center or computer access which was dissapointing. Though they do have free wi-fi if you have your own laptop. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiscoMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Wonderful room direct on the river side. Great breakfast. Excellent money value.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The entrance to the hotel is oddly plain, and somewhat boring. But perhaps that has more to do with the local design. The staff and the rooms are really first rate. At first we were a bit surprised at the room's configuration. The bathroom and shower have odd, dual purpose doors in which you can configure to either completely close off the bathroom/shower/vanity area, or setup for a more traditional style to close off only the toilet area and shower. Also, the doors and walls to the bathroom, shower, vanity area are made of a pinkish smoked glass which might present a privacy issue. Since it was just my wife and me, this was not a problem. For some reason the maids wouldn't leave us any wash cloths. I had to keep asking for them. Maybe they don't use them in the shower in Austria? I finally just went into the storage closet near our room and grabbed a bunch since we were staying there almost a month.

All modern amenities are available in the room, flat panel tv, comfortable beds, internet access, etc.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the old town area and is wonderful! The river Drau runs at the back promenade of the hotel and goes for miles. I enjoyed going out for jogs there along the river. It was like an adult Disneyland! We stayed on a back end, corner unit facing the river. It was an outstanding view. However, we were directly over the bar, and frequently we could smell the cigarette smoke which rose up and into our room when the window was open. If you're sensitive to smoke, don't take a room above the bar!

The breakfast was first class! The food selection was bountiful and delicious. They will cook your eggs to order too. We were pampered and spoiled! Dinner was also very nice, but a bit pricey. Overall, Holiday Inn is probably the best hotel available for Villach. Staff is friendly, and speak English well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This Holiday Inn property is definitely highly recommended and the best hotel the city has to offer! It's design, amenitys and service makes it a 5 star holiday inn which usually doesn't exist!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCW1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I liked just about everything with this hotel, the room, the cleanliness, the restaurant, the staff, the decor and condition, the price but most of all I am a raving fan of the excellent wellness/sauna are housed in the ground floor. Our room overlooked the romantic river Drau. As cycling tourists we were maybe not the best dressed guests this hotel has ever seen, but we were treated like gods, quite simply put. It was hard for me to motivate my wife to leave the place. We ate in the restaurant overlooking the river on a lazy August day and found the food, quality of the wine, and the price to be absolutely satisfactory. The staff could not have been more helpful especially when checking out helping us with luggage etc - Austria at it's finest. Cyclists will not that the bikes are locked up in a separate storage room accessible via the underground car park.
This hotel for me is the only reason to visit Villach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billhelm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villach
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Post
Romantik Hotel Post
#5 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#6 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
#3 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globo Villach Hotel
Globo Villach Hotel
#17 of 19 in Villach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kramer Hotel
Kramer Hotel
#9 of 19 in Villach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Villach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Villach

Property: Holiday Inn Villach
Address: Europaplatz 2, Villach 9500, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Villach
#2 Family Hotel in Villach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Villach 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As new design-hotel the hotel Holiday Inn Villach is the first internatl. businesshotel in the south of Austria. Villach, famous for its Mediterrean flair and its extensive festivals like the carneval Villacher Fasching or the traditional folkloric festival Villacher Kirchtag, is located in the tripoint of the 3 countries Austria, Italy and Slovenia. The area with its many lakes - Faaker See, Ossiacher See or Wörthersee, and mountains provides countless opportunities for sports or cultural events. 10 golf courses within a 10 to 30 min. drive (incl. courses in I/SLO). Famous spots like Triest (1,5h), Ljubjlana (1h) or Venice (2h) are worth a trip! The modern hotel offers high-tech equipment like W-LAN and highspeed internet access in all rooms, flatscreen SAT TV and air condition, aswell as an exclusive vitality club with sauna, sanarium, steambath, gym and massages. Located in the heart of town(major companies like Infineon or SEZ only a few min.away), by the river Drau (jogging), the hotel is the ideal location for business and leisure. It provides 12 conference rooms, all with daylight, air condition and latest technology, for up to 280 people. Furthermore the hotel is directly connected to the congress center of town (up to 2000 delegates).Public underground car parking available directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Villach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Villach Hotel Villach
Villach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing