We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
64
100
44
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
64
100
44
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean train station convenient location other hotels air conditioning economy twin arriving by train wide variety of food superior room old town walking distance parking wifi elevator austria festival toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 227 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018

This was the perfect option for us. Room was basic. No AC should be noted. However, room was clean and comfortable. Efficient check in. Excellent breakfast in the morning included in price. Right next to the train station which was perfect for us arriving late at night.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingSoccerLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Dera Domer90mom,
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very happy about it. Looking forward to your next visit in Villach. Best regards Eva Maria Eder, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for one night here on way to Italy. Family room was great with separate adjoining rooms. Breakfast relaxed and good. Parking outside hotel. Slightly expensive but would recommend as location great too for rail or car

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank VictoriaW672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Dear Mrs. Victoria W,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy about it. Looking forward to your next visit in Villach. Best regards Eva Maria Eder, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We come to this area every summer to enjoy the lakes and it’s so hard to find a hotel with air conditioning. I’ve tried some in Klagenfurt and the AC did not cool down the room. So I’m so happy I found this hotel, the AC worked great. You have to book a room with AC not all rooms have AC. But it works to USA standard, nice and cold. Also the superior room was nice and big and the bathroom even had a separate shower and bath tub which was nice. Breakfast was also included. The location is great, short drive to lakes and short walk to shopping and restaurants. We ended up being there for Kirchtag which is a wonderful festival with traditional food and drinks and rides and games for kids and it was walking distance. Also if your taking the train it’s right by the train station, there are also buses and taxis right out front. It’s not a big fancy hotel but don’t be fooled book an upgraded room and you will think you are in a big fancy hotel. The room was spotless clean, nice size with big windows. Biggest plus for me cold was individually controlled air conditioning that actually works, which is so hard to find in Europe. I will be coming back to Hotel City Villach!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank CrissyP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear CrissyP79,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the time you took to write this long review. We are very happy about it. Looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely, Eva Maria Eder, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Located a 2 minute walk from the train station and also a 5 minute walk from the old town, this hotel is in a good location. My only complaint is that there is no air conditioning and it was not while we were there. We opened the windows and it was pretty noisy.

That said, its in a good location, the room was clean, beds we ok. Although we had two single beds not a double. Clean and modern bathroom.

Overall a reasonable hotel. I would rate it as 3 star.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 771PhilG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Hotel City, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Phil G,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy about it. Please be so kind and book one of our C "Klassik" rooms for your next stay. These are located to the quiet courtyard side and you can leave the window open and sleep quietly. Some "Klassik" rooms are also available with air condition. You can book it as an additional service.
Looking forward to your next visit in Villach. Best regards Eva Maria Eder, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Directly opposite the railway station and bus terminus stands the Hotel City.

Staff greeted us courteously and were most engaging with us, proactively offering help and suggestions for sightseeing, and even went out of their way to help us to the nearest doctor when we both became ill with head colds.

Rooms are lovely with superb mountain views, and they are spotlessly maintained. The breakfast buffet is lovely with hot and cold dishes with local flavour.

Room tip: Ask for a mountain view room - and there are plenty to choose from.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChrisatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear ChrisatSydney,
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very happy about it. Looking forward to your next visit in Villach. Best regards from Villach Eva Maria Eder, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews