We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel zum Domplatz
Ranked #1 of 26 Klagenfurt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My new husband and stayed at this City Hotel zum Domplatz on our honeymoon in Europe in May. We mentioned it was our honeymoon when we booked and when we got there we were treated so well (however I am sure they would treat all guests the same way). The room was lovely and we were given a bottle of champagne. The front office receptionist was so friendly and helpful. The owner came in when we were checking in and he welcomed us like he was awaiting out arrival (which made us feel special) and he knew about us. We wished we could have stayed there longer. I HIGHLY recommend this place to stay. Its very clean and tidy and I loved the decor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityhotelklu, Manager at City Hotel zum Domplatz, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Julie G

Thank you very much for your very very nice review and for awarding our hotel as the best in Europe. Your compliments are very valuable to us and our work and will be passed on to our staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope, that you had a great honeymoon trip and that you came home safely.

Regards
Oliver Oth
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel is between the bus/train station and the central square in Klagenfurt (about 800m from train station). Unless you have a lot of baggage this is an easy walk with no hills.

Oliver and his staff were friendly and helpful. Anna helped me with some words I was stuck on in my German language study.

The room we had on the first floor was large, clean and comfortable. It had a wall mounted flat LCD TV (with HDMI port for connecting a computer). The bed was comfortable with two separate large single doona's. The bathroom was very large with a reasonably sized shower (no bath) cubicle. The rooms aren't airconditioned but in autumn/winter it is heating that you need to worry about and this was adequate.

The breakfast had a good range of items, with a boiled egg (and a very cool device for opening them).

We ended up booking directly through the hotel since it had a better rate (including free cancellation) for the period we were there than any of usual booking engines. Our rate was a special autumn/winter package that included a welcome drink (try some of the zweigelt burgenland red), free entry to two art galleries (MMK modern and municipal gallery - both worth a look), a local tour on Saturday/Sunday (through local tourist info office - German language only) and best of all a four course meal at the Gasthaus Im Landhaushof (outstanding food and worth a visit even if you don't have complimentary meal).

The Wifi internet was very fast and free. The signal was good throughout the hotel although for the first two nights we were there it lost connection after 6 pm and we had to wait for Oliver to reset it the next morning. Oliver was quick to address the issue when he arrived in the morning. As anyone who works with technology will know these hiccups can occur from time to time. After the first two nights there were no more issues.

Room Tip: There was no street noise at all that we noticed so a room at the front would probably be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityhotelklu, Geschäftsführer at City Hotel zum Domplatz, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure for us to be your host and to help you around with all your request. We hope you had a great onward journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for a short city break in October 2011. The City Hotel vom Domplatz is very convenient for city centre tourism, shops, restaurants, bus routes, etc. The staff offered advice, spoke good English, and helped us get the most out of our trip.
Klagenfurt is a good-looking city, with the lake in walking distance and the mountains not far away. One small warning; it's 'dead' on a Sunday, no shops open and few restaurants, so bring things to do or plan a trip!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityhotelklu, Geschäftsführer at City Hotel zum Domplatz, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We have enjoyed having your family as guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

clean, nice owners, good breakfast, good location for city visit in Klagenfurt

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityhotelklu, Geschäftsführer at City Hotel zum Domplatz, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itswoodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank francy962016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ruhiges Zimmer wünschen, nach festen, neuen Matrazen fragen. Keine 10 Min. In die Altstadt. Restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klagenfurt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandwirth
Hotel Sandwirth
#2 of 26 in Klagenfurt
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Porcia
Hotel Palais Porcia
#4 of 26 in Klagenfurt
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AllYouNeed Hotel Klagenfurt
AllYouNeed Hotel Klagenfurt
#3 of 26 in Klagenfurt
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
#8 of 26 in Klagenfurt
36 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Plattenwirt
Hotel Plattenwirt
#6 of 26 in Klagenfurt
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel zum Domplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel zum Domplatz

Address: Karfreitstrasse 20, Klagenfurt 9020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Klagenfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Klagenfurt
Price Range: $95 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel zum Domplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wish to stay in the heart of Klagenfurt and enjoy a pleasant and personal atmosphere?Then you have chosen the right hotel!The location of the City Hotel zum Domplatz, right on Cathedral Square, is the right choice for:your business tripyour visit to an event or a concert in the city or within the province of Carinthiaevents and exhibitions at the nearby located Fair Klagenfurt (Klagenfurter Messe)the Wörthersee and many other attractions and cultural highlights in the surroundingsThe City Hotel is the clear choice for business travelers, leisure travelers alike, sports fans, cyclists, motorcyclists, or event visitors.Start the new day at our hotel with a buffet breakfast and a daily newspaper.Other services offered by us:* Free W-Lan/WiFi* Parking near the hotel* Free bicycle/motorcycle parking at the hotel premises* Cozy spots to relax in the lounge or on the patio* Free apples at the front desk* Rich Breakfast buffet* Multilingual help in English, German, Italian, Spanish or French* Self check in for your later arrival* Baby cots and extra beds for adults* Payment with all major credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, AMEX or Diners Club) and Maestro-Cards* Individual research for further travel information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your City Hotel zum Domplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Klagenfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing