We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pumpe is a traditional Austrian restaurant, which is main specialty - stew”
Review of Pumpe

Pumpe
Ranked #4 of 196 Restaurants in Klagenfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pumpe is a traditional Austrian restaurant, which is main specialty - stew”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A large tables, where you will certainly sit with several groups of friends or several families, and a friendly staff who will quickly find a place for you, even though it may seems impossible.

Pumpe is a traditional Austrian restaurant, which is main specialty - stew.

You must visit it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miodrag I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    79
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steiermark
Level Contributor
135 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cult status appears to be the prime attraction”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

“Pumpe” is the best known pub of Klagenfurt. Having existed since the nineteenth century, it does not seem to have undergone major changes of appearance in the last decades. Relatively new is only the fact that smoking is no longer allowed in the inside areas.

We went there on a Saturday for a late lunch. The place was still crowded when we arrived. Our naïve question posed to a waitress whether there would be a free table for us two made here reply something like: “Share a table with others wherever you find empty seats. This is a tradition here.” So we did.

The rustic furniture is made primarily of dark wood and let the place as a whole appear rather dim. Apart from old wainscoting the furniture is not really special. The somewhat chaotic decoration contributes markedly to the particular atmosphere of “Pumpe”. As long as the place was full, the enormous noise level was almost unbearable and sometimes made conversation onerous. They do not seem to compromise authenticity with a view to tourism. So, at the time of our visit most guests around us were locals.

The waitress fitted well in with the atmosphere prevailing at “Pumpe” by being efficient and very straightforward rather than outwardly friendly. The choice of dishes was limited, such that the menu consisted only of a single page. Of course I ordered the most renowned dish of the place, i.e. “Gulasch”. Our meals were served after a moderate waiting time. As expected, they were of a no-frills kind rather than being nicely arranged and decorated. However, they were savory. Portions were quite large and in view of the celebrity of “Pumpe” prices were reasonable.

All summed up, this the right place to go for a beer or two, but not the best choice for a relaxed lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Austriacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“GULASCH AND MORE GULASCH”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Pumpe in Klagenfurt is fabulous. This is THE place for the locals and you can see why. Their speciality is gulasch with dumplings which is yummy. The beer is pretty good too. This is Carinthian hospitality at its very best. The locals know it so visitors should simply join in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THEAPPRENTICELONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice local restaurant with nice food, wine and beer. most of its guests are the local citizens. the atmosphere is happy”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

an english menu would be of help to explain the various dishes offered they serve many gulasch dishes, which is very interesting but with an only german menu, one might be lost...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank myifrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best watering hole in Klagenfurt!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great Lunch, traditional food. A true great place to enjoy a beer or 4. Every time I'm in town I go out of my way for lunch and a beer. Could be pretty full in the evenings as this is a locals favorite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpe also viewed

 
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
 

Been to Pumpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing