We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the city center, close to the main square”
Review of Hotel Kongress

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kongress
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Leoben
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed there for one night at the beginning of December 2012. The staff is nice and attentive, the breakfast buffet beautiful and of high quality. Nice rooms, toiletries free on request (which is in my view better than providing every room with them automatically). We stayed in a room directly under the roof, and had fresh snow and icicles on our horizontal windows in the morning. Nice! The walk to the main square, where they have a nice advent market in the weeks before Christmas, is short and nice, and all the important shops are in walking distance. What a joy, no car needed!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although it is not a top modern hotel, I really enjoyed my two night stay there during a wedding in Leoben. The hotel has a very cozy atmosphere and a friendly staff. It is centrally located in Leoben and it is just 3 minutes to the city square, shopping centres and cafés. There is a parking area in the basement next to the hotel. If you like jogging, it is just to follow the street across the river (small bridge for pedestrians) and then just follow the path on the right (if you look upstream) side. The hotel at free wifi which worked perfectly. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is situated near the Hauptplatz and just around the corner there is a grocery store, where you can shop food, beverage, bread etc. The single room I used was very good and clean. There was a shower in the toilet, not a bathtub, which was nice.
The staff was very nice and helpful. In the breakfastroom you can have a good breakfast with most things you need for a good start in the morning. One positive things is that there are a separation for smokers and none-smokers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

EXcellent for short trip. Comfortable hotel. Pleasent staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludovit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I found the room to be very comfortable for getting a solid evening of work done. The staff were very helpful, and the location was convenient. There's a very convenient grocery store just around the corner as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_fruitfly_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Rated as 4 star hotel but, I wonder how they got the 4th star... I was surprised to find that, to have a wash and a shave, I could go downstairs to the reception, and buy toiletry items which are, in most places complimentary. The room was of an agreeabe size, clean, tidy though a bit dated, The venetian blind over the window was a bit damaged but, I could still darken the room at night. Free WiFi was available at reasonale speed. Buffet style breakfast was a businesslike affair with an air of "Hurry up and leave" touch about it. No personal service, no style...Teutonic! wont come again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter5981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed for a week while attending a course at the University of Leoben, located in a quiet town but home to one of the best mining schools.

This is a comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Don't expect the "big hotel chain" experience. The rooms are small but cosy and within a few minutes walk you will find yourself in the center of Leoben, with shopping mall, restaurants and bars. It is also a short walk from the University.

The buffet breakfast did not offer a huge selection but the food was tasty and fresh.

Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuadCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leoben
0.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Asia Spa Leoben
6.9 mi away
Landhotel Reitingblick
2.2 mi away
Brucklwirt
Brucklwirt
#5 of 5 in Leoben
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Landskron
Hotel Landskron
#1 of 2 in Bruck an der Mur
30 reviews
23.7 mi away
Schloss Gabelhofen
Schloss Gabelhofen
#1 of 1 in Fohnsdorf
64 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt
Hotel Hofwirt
#1 of 1 in Seckau
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kongress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kongress

Address: Hauptplatz 1, Leoben 8700, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Leoben
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Leoben
Price Range: $118 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kongress 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Leoben, close to the main square, the Hotel Kongress Leoben which has international standards in equipment and service, offers 65 rooms and 108 beds. As one of the few ISO certified hotels in Austria we make hospitality and reliability our highest priority which makes us a capable partner for travel groups, individual tourists, business travelers and private people who like to visit Leoben as well as conventions and events of every kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kongress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing