We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible opportunity to see the Lipizzaners up close”

Spanische Hofreitschule Bundesgestut Piber
Ranked #19 of 104 things to do in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Incredible opportunity to see the Lipizzaners up close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Lovely spot in Styria where the Lipizzaners are bred and raised for their first few years. The guided tours were not available in English for our visit, but the audio guides were an adequate substitute. We actually enjoyed the chance to peruse the designated stable tour area at our own pace, separate from the large guided group. The highlight of the formal tour was the barn with the youngest colts and their mothers. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. After the formal tour, we browsed the grounds and had a bonus experience. A large group of mares were herded past us out to pasture and we got to see a few mares and their new colts being relocated by the staff. The best though, was getting to see a group of colts and mares frolicking in an open pasture. The young colts were very spirited, racing around and annoying one another and the mares. We could have watched for hours. Beautiful animals being treated with great care and affection by the staff. We saw a few old "retired" stallions that are finishing out their natural lives in this beautiful place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JMGIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Horse Lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was a great experience for horse lovers. If horses aren't your thing, you probably wouldn't enjoy it as much.
We visited in the middle of winter on a weekday, and we did not see any foals or yearlings. We saw and got to pet the group of pregnant mares, two barns of stallions and a group of 4 year old mares. We got a audio-recorder to listen to as the guide did not speak any English. It was a clean and well maintained stud farm with a lot of history. It would have been nice to have a more in-depth tour. Our guide seemed rather rushed though, and he spent about half an hour with us going over things and then left. We continued to walk around after for a while but couldn't go back into any of the barns or buildings (locked). The gift shop was also closed up. I'd really like to come back in the spring or summer to see the foals and it would have also been nice to see some of the stallions outside of their stalls.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Okay, so I love horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

You don't get a lot in the winter. Not much is happening and the tour is not so long. To see the horses you must take a tour which is in German. Our guide seemed so passionate, so enthusiastic but we could not understand a word. The audio guide is helpful, but after a while I gave up and carried it in my pocket.
For me, as a horse lover, it was all about being able to touch these beautiful horses. We were taken to a paddock full of pregnant mares, some of whom came over for a pat. Later we went into a barn where some of the mares really wanted to be cuddled and that was just wonderful. Later in the stallion's stables there was another chance to interact with these magnificent horses and, for me at least, this made it all worth it. I have attended performances at the SRS in Vienna and done the stable tour there, but in Vienna you may not touch the horses at all.
Maybe for a non horsey person this visit has less appeal, but I am so glad I did it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Horses & Beautiful Mountain Pastures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are at all horsey then this is an absolute MUST. The sight of the Lippizaner Stallions in the home yard and the Mares with foals in the stables is sheer magic

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This attraction is more suitable for people who speak German. The introductory film did not have sub-titles in any language and I know we missed a lot of information about the farm. We did have an English speaking guide who gave us a very short tour of the barns where we saw several mares and foal, but you could see that on any farm. I know they are Lipizzaners but the foals are all dark and the mares not the bright white you see in Vienna. For us the wow factor was the Spanish Riding School in Vienna.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanische Hofreitschule Bundesgestut Piber also viewed

 

Been to Spanische Hofreitschule Bundesgestut Piber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing