We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Museum”
Review of Landeszeughaus

Landeszeughaus
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.28*
and up
Landeszeughaus Styrian Armoury Entrance Ticket in Graz
Ranked #6 of 106 things to do in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Among the 21 departments and institutions of the Joanneum Universal Museum, founded as the Joanneum in 1811, the Armoury is in a class of its own. Attracting around 55,000 visitors annually, it is the Joanneum's most-visited institution without an exhibitions role. Moreover, as the largest historic armoury in the world, it is a living memorial to a chequered, conflict-ridden past, whose bogeymen and prejudices are still with us.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Museum”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This museum is amazing in the amount of weaponry and armor on display. I strongly recommend the Audio Tour Guide. I prefer not to use a guided tour group because I like to go at my own pace. There are no descriptions or signs anywhere in the museum, so the Audio Guide was perfect for getting the full experience. Do not pass this up if you are in Graz!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mceciles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    57
    23
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tour of the Landezeughaus”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very interesting armory museum. It is specifically weapons collection from the 15 and 16th century. Helmets, flintlocks, long guns, suits of armor, one even for a horse of which there are very few left, mortars, swords, pikes, and a sabers to name a few. We took the English tour that lasted about one hour and the info was interesting and gave us the history of why the armory was created and how the weapons were used. Recommend the tour and definitely a must see in Graz.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vacationtime12389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Miguel do Oeste
Level Contributor
461 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“The best in Graz!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

For me these was the best attraction in Graz (and I'm not a weapon fan!!)
The Landeszeughaus in a big armory from 15-16 centuries, very well preserved and kept! It's like going back in time, the wooden floors, the low light, and all those equipments!!!
You can take an audio guide (that I really recommend) that will make your visit a lot more interesting, since it will tell you all about the armory, and the way it worked, and also about the guns and how they where build!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like NOTHING you have seen before.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Amazing collection in 100% condition of armaments used in centuries past. An armoury: a place intact and just waiting for soldiers to come and grab their weapons and leave for the battlefield. From the heaviest broad swords and rapiers and spears to all forms of hand guns, bayonets, long guns, and on and on. Great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CometoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Interesting museum but the staff on each floor seemed to follow us about the whole time we were looking round which was a bit off putting. I understand as you're not allowed to touch anything and we were the only ones in there at the time. Some beautiful weapons and armour but rather samey on all floors. As students we paid €3 but for adults it was €8 and, had i forgotten my student card, i would not have paid that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharliMarsh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landeszeughaus also viewed

 

Been to Landeszeughaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing