We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Gollner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gollner
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Graz
Reviewed July 5, 2007

As some reviewers have been less than impressed with this hotel, I thought I should share my own very good experience.

I wanted to take my elderly parents to Graz (my father had been stationed there after the War) and noticed, from its website, that the hotel offers apartments, including use of a kitchenette which seemed a suitable option for 3 people for a week, especially as we didn't always want to eat out. I booked one direct with the hotel and was very satisfied.

The hotel is in a very central location and so it's easy to get everywhere, whether walking or using Graz's excellent public transport. The apartment seemed newly furbished, was clean and comfortable with a very nice view over a rose garden. It also had air-conditioning and use of a roof terrace for sitting, quite an advantage with daily temperatures of 30 centigrade plus.

Breakfast was included: a good and plentiful selection of the usual Austro-German type of breakfast with friendly and efficient service by pleasant ladies.

Reception staff were English speaking and always helpful and courteous.

Graz has many really good or at least solidly reliable restaurants serving Styrian, Austrian or more international fare and the prices seemed to me to offer very good value for money. For Styrian-Austrian cooking I'd recommend Stainzerbauer near the Cathedral, but there are others. For self-catering or even just a snack, the daily market in the Kaiser-Josef-Platz (a stone's throw from the Gollner) is really excellent. Farm fresh produce sold by the farmer (or at least the farmer's wife, mother or grandmother !) and good "fast" food stalls that are nothing like McDonalds.

An interesting and relaxed city well worth visiting. We were there for culture (including the Opera House) and memories, but the city has a student population of over 20 to 30000 so there's plenty for young adults too.

No complaints at all about the Gollner and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank St.Pancras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 177 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2007

Stayed in the Gollner for the second time, the last being about four years ago. Very good quality but at €110.00 per night including breakfast the value was bordering on the marginal. Breakfast very good on first morning as I dined about 0730, but on the second morning still very good but less of a choice as I did not arrive until nearer 10.00. Single room was adequate, very clean and comfortable and a nice bathroom. Very sparing with shampoo and the towels on the small size. Bed comfortable, TV with 41 stations but only CNN in English. Safe in the wardrobe and no mini bar, not a loss in my opinion as always overpiced and of doubtful benefit. . Staff very friendly and professional. Location very central in terms of the City and the transport network. Plenty of shopping locally and staff more than willing to suggesta activities.
Would recommend for a business visit but had not looked at it from the perspective of a family holiday but would investigate if travelling to Graz on holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

It is a mystery why this hotel is ranked 4 stars. According to European standards, the proper rank would be between 2 and 3 stars. Why? First, the typical cheap-hotel smell of the room. I have never found out about the origin, but cheap hotel rooms have that smell. Second, the cheap carpet. Third, the bleak walls. Fourth, the small bathroom with a shower, two thin towels, a small bar of cheap-smelling soap and a bag of bath gel/shampoo. Fifth, the broken blinds, so that light comes into your room. Sixth, the stains on the wall. - And for all of this, the price is pretty high.
IMO, the location is mediocre. Yes, you can walk to the city center, but it is quite a distance and the immediate surroundings are anything but nice.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank traveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

I expected more from this hotel but unfortunately it was lacking in certain respects. My single room was small and basic with no mini bar, no shaving socket and no room safe (a serious omission). I was also promised a king sized bed but got a not very comfortable ordinary single pushed up against the wall. At least the room was non smoking and didn't smell. A small TV was provided with several satellite channels but BBC news was not included - the only English channel was CNN. On the plus side, the room was well soundproofed and provided free internet access - there is a computer on the first floor if you didn't bring your laptop.

The buffet breakfast was just adequate - not sumptious. If you came down late, it was very likely that some items would be missing, particulary the bacon and eggs.

The best thing about choosing this hotel was the location. The old town, the market and local cafes were within easy walking distance. And the hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful.

In conclusion, I would think twice about booking this hotel if you are travelling alone - I suspect couples and families get a much better deal.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Traveller853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

We have just returned from a short stay in Graz and we have discovered this lovely hotel minutes away from the old centre. Hotel Gollner truly meets all expectations. We stayed in an apartment (for a family of four )which forms part of this lovely building, and we were so comfortable is this spacious accommodation. Spotlessly clean rooms, great breakfast, splendid helpful staff who even granted us a late check out without extra charge. We were given extremely good last minute rates through HotelClub. I would blindly stay there again on my next visit.

Thank nadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

On the plus side the hotel has the most friendly and effecient reception staff I recently encountered. The location is very central, and although the surrounding streets carry a lot of traffic, the rooms are very well isolated against the noise. Our room was not very special, the furniture adequate, the bed good. The bathroom was oldish. One major problem was the (not very efficient) heating, the room was cold when we came (probably empty a couple of days over christmas), the heating hot, and when we returned late in the evning, the room was cold again, since the heating was turned down for the night.
Breakfast was nearly eaten up by 9.20 (although served 'till 10), when we pointed out that there was no orange juice left on the buffet, we were given a tiny glas per person - not the thing for a hotel that has 4 stars on the outisde (certainly it is not a 4 star hotel by any standard).

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

I've stayed at Gollnar hotel last month and i liked it. They have very good service, the stuff is very friendly and very proffessional, but i didn't like that there was not any mini bar or small fridge in the room. The room was very big with lots of windows around, i had a view in three roads. It was not noisy at all from the traffic outside. It was because the windows were very good. I liked also the bathroom. It was very big. Defenitely i would go again to that hotel. The price was a little expensive, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatsoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graz hotels
Parkhotel Graz
#8 of 76 in Graz
201 reviews
Lend
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Graz
Lend
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Hotel Wiesler Graz
#4 of 76 in Graz
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais-Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Hotel Weitzer Graz
#7 of 76 in Graz
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gollner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gollner

Address: Schloegelgasse 14, Graz 8010, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range: $118 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gollner 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4-star hotel Gollner is situated directy in the city centre of graz. All our rooms and appartements are furnished in a modern but timeless style. Our staff will be at your disposal at any time. Parking facilites on site, free W-lan internet access in all rooms We are looking forward to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gollner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gollner Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing