We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Hauserl im Wald
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

THE PROS:
The receptionist spoke very good English and was very helpful.
The hotel is small and cosy, an antique piano and lovely antique furniture inside.
The hotel is further (about a couple of houses apart) from the restaurant, so it is really peaceful ant quiet (and the restaurant gets rather busy on weekends). It's in a district of private houses, so it is really calm and quiet.
The reception is about a couple of houses apart from the hotel itself (it's in the restaurant), so you have the hotel almost entirely to yourself.
Our room had a terrace with a view to the mountains.
Lots of nature around - the was bird living near our terrace that sang beautifully, one of us even saw a squirrel in our terrace. There is a lovely garden surrounding both the hotel and the restaurant, there are even some geese in the restaurant territory (fenced) and a nice playground for children.
The interior of the hotel looks like a museum - there must have lived a sculptor, because there are numerous wooden sculptures, pictures and other kinds of artwork both inside and outside. It feels like you are staying not at a hotel, but at someone's home.
Our room was very well equipped: a good TV, a fridge (a normal one, not a minibar), a coffee-maker, sink in the kitchen, a stove, pots, a frying pan, plates, glasses, cups, eating utensils, etc., so you could prepare your own food.
The staff was very helpful and thoughtful - on the second day of our stay, they hung the TV on the wall so that we could watch it both from the room and the terrace. We even didn't ask for that, they were that thoughtful!
For breakfast, there was always a nice selection of several meats (hams, sausages) and cheeses, fruit, yogurt, etc. The buns were amazing - they are baked on the spot.
It is cheap, way cheaper than hotels in the center. We were very happy about our choice, it truly exceeded our expectations!

THE CONS:
The parking is a little steep, though you get used to it.
If you have no transportation of your own, you have to walk a little bit down the hill to the tramway. However, it is a nice, pleasant and not a long walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rimaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    3
    7
    9
See reviews for
23
23
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a dinner and it was not bad although not the quality we had experienced before - we had lunch (warm meals) here a couple times and always with a larger groups (20+).

But during our latest dinner (8 persons) we had a small confrontation with one of the waittress. When ordering coffee we wanted to make sure that Latte Macchiato is the one we wanted and not Latte or worse: 'Milch Kaffee'. The waitress correctioned us that Latte is the same as Latte Macchiato while we know for sure that it is not. When serving it was luckily as expected but again she lectured us that this is Latte and that there is not any difference. It was okay when it was friendly or with a humor but she wasn't. She was really serious and arrogant.

Well, my wife lived in Italy before and we ordered Latte, Latte Macchiato and Macchiato everywhere around the world before and these are 3 different things. Maybe not in rural Graz and it is for sure not the Sisi era anymore but then again - a waitress shouldn't argue with clients, especially not about these non existential meticulous issue.

Surroundings: pitoresque
Food: average (big portions but the fish was not fresh)
Waitress: -1

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Graz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
worcester.england
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

we go to graz a lot and i would not stay anywhere eles.the hotel is fantastic the food is great and my host and staff are very very good.we travel all over the world but i love coming back to this one.we brought some friends with us huw are wine experts they could not believe the wine on offerthank you once again for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radovljica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

This impressed us as a beautiful restaurant which was constantly full, with hotel rooms. We did not find a lounge to relax in. Food very good - although not as good as we expected from other reviews . The situation of the hotel is picturesque, although extremely difficult to find even with satellite navigation which would not recognise Number 105. Instructions would be good from the hotel on booking confirmation. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayRadovljica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Everytime I visit Austria, I have to have a visit at the Hirschenhof or Haus Sonne at Hauserl im Wald. The hotel has 3 different accommodations and if you want to have a fairy tale experience, ask for one of the suites at Hirschenhof. It is a renovated farm house where the elks and deer run around in the front yard. A 5 minute walk trough the forest will take you to the main house. The drive takes a bit longer, you have to drive around the mountain and I recommend a GPS if you are not loal. But it is worth it if you like solitude.
Haus Sonne , a wonderful villa , nestled in a beautiful garden is up the road from the main hotel. Ask for one of the corner suites. They are bigger. Get the one with the poster bed and the piano
The main hotel is very nice, but nowhere near as special as the other two properties.
All rooms seem to be different in design and size, so ask the reception at time of booking to describe the rooms to you, so you get a special one. The price seems to be the same.
The family Legenstein knows Gastronomy in and out.
the fabulous food - A breakfast for Gods, homebaking, homemade jams and breads. My mouth waters. Great Lunch Menu- a fabulous deal to be had. Exquisite dinners. The restaurant is known among the local foodies for great cuisine.
I always bring friends and colleagues from around the world and everybody says it is one of their favourite places in the world.
The streetcar is very close to the hotel, so leave your car and take the streetcar into the city. Great value for such a wonderful place. The home website is a bit hard to find.
www.legenstein-hiw.at- it is translated in 3 languages.
Look forward to go back again.
Rita B

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

The Hauserl is located a few miles northeast of the main section of Graz. It is located in the Leechwood Forest. You must take a narrow winding one lane road to get there. The hotel is more famous for its gourmet restaurant but it does have some accomodations. We stayed in the Sonne (Sun) house. It does not have Air conditioning and it was hot/humid during our stay. We stayed for one week. We were in what they called an apartment to handle the three of us (adults). TV has only one English language channel. Good thing it was CNN World so we could keep up with world events. Rooms do not have internet access. The rooms were tastefully decorated and functional. It is rated a three star facility and it earns that designation. The staff were helpful but not always fluent in English. In the mornings the typical European continental breakfast was provided. Excellent coffee products. The Austrians know how to make their coffee. We paid 85 euro per night which seemed fair. There are many other nicer facilities in town but the Hauserl will do just fine.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — lack of air conditioning and lack of internet access
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkylover43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graz hotels
Hotel Wasserpalast
#60 of 75 in Graz
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
B&B Graz
B&B Graz
#19 of 75 in Graz
154 reviews
Stoiser's Hotel Garni
#32 of 75 in Graz
52 reviews
Lend
Hotel Daniel Graz
Hotel Daniel Graz
#8 of 75 in Graz
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hauserl im Wald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hauserl im Wald

Property: Gasthof Hauserl im Wald
Address: Roseggerweg 105, Graz 8044, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hauserl im Wald 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Hauserl im Wald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hauserl Im Wald Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing