We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
253
131
27
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
131
27
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews totally recommend this hotel pool and gym old town cold buffet sized room a quiet residential area underground garage wifi works egg dishes breakfast was excellent an excellent hotel comfortable hotel very pleasant stay rooms are big hotel staff tram stop city centre
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 419 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2015

Positives
- Nice WIFI
- Very Good Breakfast
- Nice big rooms with Balcony
- Floor heating is really worth the money
- Choice of TV channels are limited
- Bar at the hotel is also good
- Near to the City

Negative
- Far from the nearest supermarket

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Mr Abhishek P!

The whole team would like to thank you for writing about our hotel. Your comment is filled with positive words and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Our nearest supermarket is actually only a three minute walk away, nevertheless a little hard to find. Whenever you return to us, we would be pleased to assist you with directions and any other occurring matters.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

We had originally booked a different hotel and at the last minute chose Augartenhotel art and design in downtown Gratz. We were so glad we did. It is central to everything we needed. We could walk everywhere and it was always a beautiful walk. The hotel is bright, the paintings modern and interesting. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very, very pleasant. Outside the sculptures are fun to look at and even inside in the stairwell there is sculpture. The pool is a little chilly but the sound of the cascading water and the sauna make it all worth doing. We loved it.

Room tip: Each room boastsd a balcony so it is hard to go wrong.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Cynthia B!

We are so pleased to read your lovely comment on tripadvisor. Thank you for taking the time to review our house. Our location is very convenient if you like to explore the city center by foot and now that spring is coming the city is blooming a little bit more every day. Our hotel was designed in a very modern way with lots of windows which has the benefit of lightening up the inside naturally. We are glad you have experienced our breakfast buffet as well as our leisure area and hope to welcome you back again when you return to Graz.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2015

Stayed here for business in Janury 2015.

- Very friendly service at reception & bar
- Spatious & clean rooms
- Good wifi

- The neighboorhood is a disaster, but close to town center.
- I think we emptied the bar, as many bottles were empty and not in stock...

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Dear Mr Stephan J!

Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found our staff friendly since it is one of our milestones to provide our guests with excellent service. Our building is surrounded by apartment buildings, which has the great advantage that our neighbourhood is quiet and peaceful and the augarten park is only a stone's throw away. To the city centre the walking distance is about 5 minutes until you reach Jakominiplatz. From there you find great restaurants, museums and little cafes. We hope you will return to us the next time you visit Graz.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2015

I really wanted to love the Augartenhotel and while I did like it, the experience fell short for me.

The staff were really friendly and helpful at both check-in and check-out and cannot be faulted. They provided us with information, maps and a smile as well as ordering a taxi back to the train station. That side of things was perfect.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes easy walk to the old town of Gratz and is located in a residential area so it's pretty quiet, however be mindful to close the inner door to block off extra street noise, as there can be some from time to time. All the main attractions are within walking distance, so its location is excellent.

The art work throughout the hotel is tasteful and the lobby, reception and public areas are very pleasant. There is free wifi and the signal is pretty good. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, as we found the price at the time of booking to be too expensive.

We stayed in room 405 on the fourth floor. The hotel has a weird system where most of the rooms are accessed from en external path. So you get out of the lift, open a door into a cold corridor and access your rooms. A tad strange! The rooms are certainly nice and there's sufficient room. I found the beds and pillows a bit too soft. But the worst thing about the rooms is the heat. Even though we visited in February with temperatures well below zero and plenty of snow, the rooms were stifling and hot - oppressively so. The controls on the wall did nothing to turn the temperature down. I really love floor heating, but this was just too much. We ended up keeping the balcony open all night to let in freezing air and therefore keep the temperature at a comfortable level.

The bathroom is light and pretty nice. The shower is over the bath and the shower screen a little small so you end up with splashing water on the floor. But the supplied toiletries are lovely.

All in all, it was very good. But I was expecting a little more.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Dear Mr Mark W!

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write such a detailed comment on tripadvisor. With pleasure we read that you were satisfied with our staff's performance at the front desk.

As you have mentioned our hotel is situated only a few minutes away from the old town centre in a quiet area surrounded by apartment buildings. Since our house is an art & design hotel we have paintings and sculptures not only in the main areas but also in every room and decorating the property's outer surface. We do not only provide free wifi at our house but also keep the reception, bar area as well as pool sauna and gym 24 hours open.

Our hotel's architecture is quite challenging some times and as you have mentioned most of the rooms are accessed from an external path. It has its advantages in summer but also its disadvantages in winter. The hotel rooms are all spacious and full of light and heated with floor heating. The setup therefore often gets changed by other guests. Some like it very warm, some prefer cool temperatures. Whenever there is trouble with technical installations in the room, do not hesitate to contact our staff 24 hours so they can check if the heating or cooling is regulated correctly. Floor heating has the big disadvantage that it needs a lot of time to cool off. It would have been no trouble for us to select another room for you on another floor. We always like to be informed about occurring faults, so we can react and solve them quickly.

Whenever you visit Graz again it would be a delight if you return to us.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2015

The Augarten Art & Design hotel is a lovely smallish hotel in the heart of Graz. The rooms and whole hotel have lots of modern art work, great furniture designs in the lobby and room designs. The staff are all very friendly and can not do enough to make your stay a comfortable one.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank L835ZOtomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Dear Mr roset02!

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We are more than pleased that you only provide positive feedback of our house. We hope you will return to us when you are back in Graz again.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews