We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
250
128
27
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
128
27
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstotally recommend this hotelunique hotelcold buffeta quiet residential areaswimming poolwifi worksbreakfast was excellentegg dishesan excellent hotelunderground garagevery pleasant stayrooms are bigtram stopbed was comfortableold citybalconysauna
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 413 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2015

Stayed here for business in Janury 2015.

- Very friendly service at reception & bar
- Spatious & clean rooms
- Good wifi

- The neighboorhood is a disaster, but close to town center.
- I think we emptied the bar, as many bottles were empty and not in stock...

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Dear Mr Stephan J!

Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found our staff friendly since it is one of our milestones to provide our guests with excellent service. Our building is surrounded by apartment buildings, which has the great advantage that our neighbourhood is quiet and peaceful and the augarten park is only a stone's throw away. To the city centre the walking distance is about 5 minutes until you reach Jakominiplatz. From there you find great restaurants, museums and little cafes. We hope you will return to us the next time you visit Graz.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2015

I really wanted to love the Augartenhotel and while I did like it, the experience fell short for me.

The staff were really friendly and helpful at both check-in and check-out and cannot be faulted. They provided us with information, maps and a smile as well as ordering a taxi back to the train station. That side of things was perfect.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes easy walk to the old town of Gratz and is located in a residential area so it's pretty quiet, however be mindful to close the inner door to block off extra street noise, as there can be some from time to time. All the main attractions are within walking distance, so its location is excellent.

The art work throughout the hotel is tasteful and the lobby, reception and public areas are very pleasant. There is free wifi and the signal is pretty good. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, as we found the price at the time of booking to be too expensive.

We stayed in room 405 on the fourth floor. The hotel has a weird system where most of the rooms are accessed from en external path. So you get out of the lift, open a door into a cold corridor and access your rooms. A tad strange! The rooms are certainly nice and there's sufficient room. I found the beds and pillows a bit too soft. But the worst thing about the rooms is the heat. Even though we visited in February with temperatures well below zero and plenty of snow, the rooms were stifling and hot - oppressively so. The controls on the wall did nothing to turn the temperature down. I really love floor heating, but this was just too much. We ended up keeping the balcony open all night to let in freezing air and therefore keep the temperature at a comfortable level.

The bathroom is light and pretty nice. The shower is over the bath and the shower screen a little small so you end up with splashing water on the floor. But the supplied toiletries are lovely.

All in all, it was very good. But I was expecting a little more.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Dear Mr Mark W!

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write such a detailed comment on tripadvisor. With pleasure we read that you were satisfied with our staff's performance at the front desk.

As you have mentioned our hotel is situated only a few minutes away from the old town centre in a quiet area surrounded by apartment buildings. Since our house is an art & design hotel we have paintings and sculptures not only in the main areas but also in every room and decorating the property's outer surface. We do not only provide free wifi at our house but also keep the reception, bar area as well as pool sauna and gym 24 hours open.

Our hotel's architecture is quite challenging some times and as you have mentioned most of the rooms are accessed from an external path. It has its advantages in summer but also its disadvantages in winter. The hotel rooms are all spacious and full of light and heated with floor heating. The setup therefore often gets changed by other guests. Some like it very warm, some prefer cool temperatures. Whenever there is trouble with technical installations in the room, do not hesitate to contact our staff 24 hours so they can check if the heating or cooling is regulated correctly. Floor heating has the big disadvantage that it needs a lot of time to cool off. It would have been no trouble for us to select another room for you on another floor. We always like to be informed about occurring faults, so we can react and solve them quickly.

Whenever you visit Graz again it would be a delight if you return to us.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2015

The Augarten Art & Design hotel is a lovely smallish hotel in the heart of Graz. The rooms and whole hotel have lots of modern art work, great furniture designs in the lobby and room designs. The staff are all very friendly and can not do enough to make your stay a comfortable one.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled on business
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Dear Mr roset02!

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We are more than pleased that you only provide positive feedback of our house. We hope you will return to us when you are back in Graz again.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2015

What a wonderful hotel! I've been trawling the various hotels of Graz recently (I still have a few more to try) and this is (currently) the winner by far. The friendliest of staff at reception gave me the quietest room I've had in ages. Other hotels take note - a second door between the bedroom and the front door makes SUCH a difference (not always practical I know but...). It was a good sized room with a large bathroom, all glass exterior wall with balcony. Good wifi too. Breakfast was excellent and my omelette (at no extra charge) was light and fluffy. There's also a pool, small gym and sauna (I didn't try any of them but I would have done if I'd had time). The hotel may not be in the centre of town but it's only a 10 minute walk to the historic centre and it has the No 1 restaurant in Graz next door! What's not to like.....?!?!?

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2015

Dear knize1!

We first of would like to thank you for your very nice comment. We are very touched that you have personally ranked us the best hotel in Graz. Our team tries to reach perfection when it comes to service, since we think personal service and friendliness are the key success factors in the hotel industry. Most of our rooms are located far away from the main streets with balcony and large bathrooms. Therefore if you have a light sleep we try to accommodate you in one of our most quiet rooms. Gladly we would like to welcome you back again, so you can try our leisure area and use our hotel facilities to the fullest.

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2014

Traveling in a group of 3, we decided to stay here on the basis of our Trip advisor reviewers. On arrival, the staff were very kind in offering an upgrade to an apartment. The apartment, which covered the entire floor, was very spacious and had a very warm feel. The artwork is a great touch, which as you would expect, can be found throughout the entire hotel.

It was extremely quite and the beds were very comfortable which ensured a very restful stay.

We had dinner in our apartment with the food delivered from the Magnolia restaurant. Was a great experience, both food and staff were outstanding, I would say its a must if you are staying here.

The location was great, just a 10 minute walk to the main platz and a little bit longer to the Castle. They also have parking that we used for our hire car, the price was quite reasonable given the location.

The breakast buffet selection isn't the widest I've seen but was great considering the size of hotel and had all the main dishes you would expect.

Overall, wonderful experience, would recommend to anyone visiting Graz.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2014

Dear AustWorldTraveler!

With pleasure we read your lovely comment about our hotel. As soon as there are more people booked on one room we try to allocate our Double Large or Apartment since it is spacious and comfortable. Our hotel is not only a design hotel but we can actually call ourselves art hotel as well. Our paintings and sculptures belong to us and are proudly displayed all around the house.

The Magnolia is rewarded for its cuisine and serves not only at the restaurant but delivers also roomservice to our in house guests. The breakfast kitchen at the hotel is not the biggest, nevertheless we serve best quality and quite a variation of products with many organic and local goods.

We hope you will visit us again when you return to Graz!

Your augartenhotel art & design team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews