We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living Canvas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augarten Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Augarten Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Living Canvas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Exquisite little hotel in Graz. Outstanding works of art everywhere - all originals, even in the car park (garage). Very nice employees, helpful, very friendly, accommodating. Take the suite at the 6th floor - it comes with direct access to the awesome terrace. Nice small gym, an always empty indoor pool, great breakfast and the adjacent restaurant is one of Graz's finest.

Room Tip: The Suite on the top floor is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear GFK88,
thank you for your kind words and your praise. We are especially proud to give home to so many pieces of original artwork and I still often just walk through our hallways and rooms to admire the unique and beautiful paintings and sculptures. Thank you as well for the room tip. Among the staff we are also great fans of our newly built penthouse! We hope to welcome you back soon in Graz and hopefully in our penthouse in the augartenhotel art & design and all the best for the coming year. The augartenhotel art & design team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    105
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
141
20
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We arrived to the hotel in the middle of the night and for some reason our booking was not registered. What could have been a total nightmare turned into fantastic stay. The hotel staff were so kind and we were upgraded to an apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms of which 1 huge enough for 2 people, a dining room, TV room and a Kitchen. I almost forgot the spacious terrace.
WIFI is free and works perfect.

The apartment was clean and well serviced. We stayed 10days, it was perfect.
Not a lot of variety at the breakfast buffet but everything served is very good, the service is exquisite.

The gym is not really a gym, it's a tiny little hole in the wall but it was enough for me to do my workouts. I used the outdoor space although it was -6 degrees on the good days. The gym had a bike, a treadmill and an Elliptical, all of excellent quality, and some dumbbells. No space to do much though.

The hotel is not in the middle of downtown but it is walking distance to everything. Graz is small and walking is not a problem.
It is 2 minutes away from the main park and a running trail that goes along the river.

Anytime am back in Graz, I will be hoping this hotel will have availability cos I would definitely be staying there.

I absolutely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RittaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear RittaTT,
it was just wonderful for me to read your kind words about our hotel and to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here. It is the aim of every hotel to make everyone feel as comfortable and well looked after as possible and reading your review I got the feeling that we are on the right way and this is such an important thing for us to know. Thank you again from the whole staff and we hope you have the chance to come back soon again! Your augartenhotel art & design team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel has all you need: good breakfast, cosy and modern rooms, good service, small bar in the entrance area and a super restaurant called Magnolia, where we had a great dinner with good wines and local food. Try it!
We did not try the spa area, but it looked great on the pictures and seeing that this hotel was of modern style, this will not be a disappointment. The parking level in the basement of the hotel is also a good solution.
What we asked ourselves was: who the hell had the idea to put such a building right into such a spot, which is surrounded by buildings (and not too close) where mobile tv antennas are attached to balconies and seemingly the lower end of society lives. It might sound weird, but take a seat in the restaurant and you might feel guilty to have a menu for 80 euros, drinking wine of 30-40 euros a bottle. The glass windows reveal the full picture to you while eating (unless you arrive during darkness).
If you do not mind the view or the environment there, this hotel itself is still a good choice.

Mind the long queue in the morning, as there is only one person at the reception usually.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear RSF15,
we are very grateful for your words. I am glad you had a great time in our hotel and enjoyed the dinner in our restaurant Magnolia as well. I am sorry to hear, that the surroundings of the hotel have made you feel uncomfortable though. As we are situated quite close to the city center unfortunately we cannot offer the great view that we would be happy to offer. The area around the hotel is actually quite a good living area in Graz but as they are apartment buildings you do see the balconies and tv antennas. If you do enjoy a beautiful view, I would recommend a drink on our sun terrace on the roof, where you have a wonderful view of Graz and the Schlossberg. We would be very happy to welcome you back in our hotel some time and wish you a wonderful year 2013! The augartenhotel art & design team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Clean and efficient rooms. Wifi works very well!
The staff is nice and competent.
Just a 10 minutes walk to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chagasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Chagasso,
thank you for opinion about our hotel. We are glad you appreciated our hotel and hope to welcome you back again some time.
Happy new year! Your augartenhotel art & design team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel is very new and well designed, with lots of interesting art. I had a business single room which was bright, clean and well laid out, with a large bed and large bathroom (incl excellent shower), an anteroom, my own balcony with shading and chairs. Indoors I had a large desk which made it easy to work, and a couple of english language channels on the tv. I had a free apple every day, in addition to some thoughtful additions to the minibar (chewing gum, magazines (in german!) etc).
The pool and sauna was very well laid out and maintained, with thoughtful touches such as books in the indoor lounging area, and its own outdoor seating terrace. The adjacent gym was small but perfectly formed, although the crosstrainer needed a bit of maintenance.
The breakfast was excellent although not included in my particular room rate, so at 15 Euros only worth opting for if you are hungry!
The staff are very friendly and courteous. The location is within easy walking distance of the historic centre and close to the tram/bus hub at Jakomini Platz.
My only real problem was with the wifi - on a business trip wifi is especially important, so it was frustrating that I initially had to spend over an hour trying to get online, which I don't think was a fault with my computer - however after those teething problems my connection mainly worked okay, and quite quickly after that.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaw104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAugartenhotel, Manager at Augarten Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Kaw104,
thank you very much for your time to give this feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in the augartenhotel art & design and especially our "little extra thoughts" that we put in to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I am very sorry though, that the internet did not work immediately and that you had to spend a lot of time trying to get connected. I am happy to inform you, that we have been working on this and constantly add new routers to make sure, every room has a good connection. We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel and as a little tip, if you mention at the booking that you would like to have an especially good internet connection then we will assign a room to you where we know for sure that the connection is excellent.
All the best from Graz and a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. While my husband worked I walked to the City Center which was approx 20 min - not hard to find! Breakfast was incl in our rate and it was ok. The staff was very friendly and wifi good although we had issues w/ it at times not working. The bar was also ok but small. The hotel was a short 10 min taxi ride from the Graz Hauptbahnhof train station. The room was quite spacious w/ lots of room to move about. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlevrywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

HIghly recommend this hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - yet laid back atmosphere and proper king size beds with the softest feather pillows.

You are surrounded with wonderful modern art.

The breakfast is star quality with so much to choose from and all fresh that we didn't know where to start or end.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graz hotels
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#4 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#3 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Hotel Das Weitzer
#6 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Innere Stadt
Hotel Gollner
Hotel Gollner
#18 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augarten Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augarten Art Hotel

Property: Augarten Art Hotel
Address: Schoenaugasse 53, Graz 8010, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Graz
#2 Spa Hotel in Graz
#4 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Augarten Art Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FROM BUSINESS ROOM TO PENTHOUSE. Whether you’re unwinding for a weekend as a couple, discovering Graz with the family, stopping off for a medium or long-term stay or just need an inspiring place to pull back to during a business trip, our wide-ranging room categories are perfectly in tune with your needs – no matter what they are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Augarten Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augartenhotel Art & Design Hotel Graz
Augartenhotel Art And Design
Augarten Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing