We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For young or for one night”
Review of Hotel Daniel Graz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Graz
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“For young or for one night”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel is nicely located, next to railway station. People in reception are nice and helpful. From the previous reviews I understand that we got not the best type of the room (our booked room was called `smart room’). The room was very clean, but we had a feeling to participate in kind of it was a kind minimalist project: the same folded door for shower and toilet, so if one person uses toilet, another one cannot really take the shower. Washbasin in the room, lack of the wardrobe, minimalistic desk, all of that create of atmosphere of provisory and lack of comfort and privacy. For young people it can be fun, for older (like us) not so. We stayed there one night and it was OK, but staying there for more could be rather stressful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedrus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    234
    92
    22
    9
See reviews for
38
214
50
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all 2 important tips:
- You don't want to share a room with someone with whom you are not completely comfortable. I say this because as mentioned by other reviewers there is a transparent glass dividing the room from the shower. So as you are lying on the bed you can look to the right and watch tv or to the left and see your roommate having a shower.
- If u come by train, from platform 1 there is a shortcut to the hotel. It will take you a minute to arrive to the hotel although you will have to drag your suitcase through a gravel way.

Don't let the outside look of the hotel scare you, once you get into the hotel you will see that the rooms are quite nice and well appointed. The internet is not very fast but no problems connecting.

Overall the hotel is a nice hotel, but the construction going on...the thing is that this construction works are going on not only on the square where the hotel is located by also through the main street that connects the hotel to the city centre. The trams are not working and although the trip to the centre is only 10-15 minutes by foot I think this information should be available on the webpage of the hotel (especially as it seems that the constructions have been going on since July). I am a seasoned traveler, traveling alone often and I didn't feel comfortable walking from the city centre to the hotel at 08:30pm, due to some of the clubs and people hanging around.

Once the constructions end it should be much better....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axola2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

As many have said before, excellent breakfast. My personal favourite (and apparently of others as well ;)) was the pumpkin bread. The rooms were comfortable though on the smaller side. Owners try and alleviate the feeling with some "smart" ideas, such as rolling table (hospital like tray that can go above your bed, or be a side table) and a bench like sitting against the wall. I was in the cheaper room (smart), the loggia is a bit bigger. I was surprised by the glass shower - you don't want to share the room with a work colleague for example, as the glass wall opens on the room and there is no escaping the sight of the shower. I was staying on the 4th floor and my internet connection was very bad - most of the time barely able to find the wifi. Colleagues were on the 1st and 6th floors and had no issues (2 other colleagues were on the 4th floor and couldn't connect) People at the reception desk were very nice and friendly. Iron and boards are on loan for free from the reception, and each room has a hair dryer. Beware the toilet is hidden behind the sliding door that closes either the shower or the toilet - thankfully my colleague knew the trick and showed me! Construction work at the moment is a bit bothering, as the tram was not running and I had booked specifically to be able to take line 7, as my conference was on that line. Replacement buses will be running until mid-september I believe. The hotel itself is very quiet - there are 2 double windows (one double window towards the outside, one small ledge, one double window inside) so I couldn't hear any noise from outside. They are selling a few of their brand name stuff, such as messenger bag, shower gel etc. You can rent a vespa for 15 euros a day, though I was too scared to try it out myself....! I would go back, but would get a room closer to a wifi access point, as I was unable to Skype back home and that really bothered me. Last tip: if you are booking via booking.com or hotel.com or any other central system do check your bill on check-out - my colleague was charged 89 euros per night for loggia instead of the 79 agreed upon reservation (they did correct the price subsequently)
There is no restaurant in the hotel, but a decent small pub is at the bust stop corner and opened until midnight. In the train station you will find a Spar (supermarket) open until 10pm and a Mac Donald's as well as pizza slices.

Room Tip: Make sure you are close to a wifi access point if this matters to you - 4th floor was very bad, 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Portugal, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is situated 20 minute walk from downtown and with the central station in the same street. Rooms are nice, modern, clean, with a comfortable bed, TV and air conditioning. The construction work made it a bit difficult to get to the hotel from the train station but I didn’t listen to any noise. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nika_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Clean, comfortable, quiet, modern rooms with large bathrooms. Location is within 15-20 minute walk from downtown and very close to public transportation. There is an elevator and parking is available for an extra fee. The construction work made it a bit difficult to get to at first, but we were not bothered by any noise. Free wi-fi, but it did not work in the room, only in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed 5 nights here and enjoyed every minute of it! Loved the cool vibe as you walked in from the mad construction work happening outside (due to finish September 2012). The rooms are compact but fine for the two of us. Loved the buffet breakfast which was plentiful. Staff always accommodating as we asked for extra pillows and use of the iron. Air con worked fine and the room was really quiet, considering all the work happening outside. Wifi worked ok in our room on the 4th floor but there was better reception downstairs. Just a short walk from the station and 10 minutes on the bus to the old centre of Graz.. 2 supermarkets close by was also handy. Bit of a hassle dragging suitcases across gravel at the moment but it really is no problem as the hotel was really welcoming.

Room Tip: We had room 413 which was on the other side of the hotel and lift which we found very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Breakfasts great Staff are young and polite. Everything is spotless. Rooms are very good, but don't have a comfy chair. This is the second time I've stayed here. Next time I'll hire one of their Vespas!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Hotel Wiesler Graz
#3 of 75 in Graz
493 reviews
Hotel Weitzer Graz
#6 of 75 in Graz
562 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#5 of 75 in Graz
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Graz
#11 of 75 in Graz
495 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
585 reviews
Lend
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Graz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Graz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Graz

Property: Hotel Daniel Graz
Address: Europaplatz 1, Graz 8020, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz > Lend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Graz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully taken back to basics, moving away from cumbersome hospitality and towards the uncomplicated and a sense of well-being - this is what Hotel Daniel has specialised in. "Smart Luxury" perfectly caters for today's travellers and their requirements: Intelligently equipped rooms, with a timeless, aesthetic design, 'rain-dance' showers in the daytime and free WiFi all over the building. Check in is looked after in the espresso bar, which is open 24 hours and located in the generously sized hotel loft. With a fireplace in the lounge, it's also the perfect place for relaxation and reading or for business, which is already fun by breakfast time here. After all, the breakfast is the best in the city. The Daniel is within 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre and busses and trams run from next to the train station. Or explore the surroundings with the vespas or the original Piaggio Ape Calessino from the Daniel's own 'vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Daniel Graz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing