We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and clean”
Review of Schlossberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlossberg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint and clean”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We travelled to Graz as two couples. We booked via trip advisor. All was as booked. The rooms were smaller than we are used to - to be expected in some places in Europe. The hotel was clean and the service was excellent. The staff very eager to assist in any way they can. The beds in the rooms are a let down are the let down. Not only are they small, they are old and squeaky and exceptionally hard. For the price you pay for the room, I could suggest an upgrade of beds to assist in a good nights sleep for the client. Breakfast in the hotel was not a choice for us as for less money, you can get good food and coffee outside. This is usual for Europe where breakfast is not included in the room. It's hotel has spectacular gardens with a rooftop pool - a fabulous bonus when in Graz . We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is a must - always request non smoking if you do not smoke because they smoke every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossberghotelGraz, Manager at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Vicky H!
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor and the time you spent for giving us this feedback.

High service as well as high cleaning standards, in our opinion, are the most important things in our business. Once again thank you very much for praising these two points in your summary.

I am especially thankful for letting us know that you unfortunately did not sleep very well in our beds. I am truly sorry for this and apologize. If you do find the time I would greatly appreciate it, if you could write us a short email with your full name so that we can see which room you stayed in and have a look at the bed in this room. All our rooms are completely individual, as are our guests, and each one surprises with its own personality therefore we can offer you different beds and as we now know your preference for a softer bed we can take that into consideration for your next stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in beautiful Graz!

Best regards,
The Schlossberghotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    109
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
243
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over our wedding period (the ceremony was nearby), as did several family and friends who were guests. The rooms, service and location are excellent, highly recommended. All of our guests commended it highly, and several were seasoned travellers.

The only drawback (and possibly why it does not achieve 5 stars) is that there is no restaurant, although the breakfast and snack room service were easily sufficient for us. Also, given its old town location, there are several good restaurants very nearby, so it encourages you to explore if you don't know Graz.

The garden / pool area is beautiful, with a good view of Graz from the higher terrace levels.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic, especially the furniture and paintings. I think it was 45 which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked into the Schlossberg late in the day, only to find that our travel agent booked us the wrong dates (always read the fine print). Nicole at the front desk was able to get us a room at close to a comperable rate, with breakfast included. Boy, am I glad we did that! The breakfast was one of the best we had, they cook your eggs to order and have a small buffet with fresh everything. Our room was a suite, and was simply awesome! Very comfortable and quiet. The artwork is amazing! I felt like we were in a museum...we actually spent time walking about the corridors to see all the art on the walls. The hotel is centrally located, but just out of the crowded center. It's about as good a location as you can get to see most of what Graz has to offer. The view from atop the hotel was truly awesome, even though we missed the sunset it was still gorgeous. Everyone we had contact with at the hotel was so polite and helpful, they really made you feel welcome. Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: There are rooms right off the breakfast area that might have been a bit noisy during breakfast. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed one week at the hotel for work on the week and with my partner on the week-end. The hotel personal is exceptionally friendly and competent. Individually decorated roomy with original paintings. We enjoyed every evening a drink at the pool located in a very clever arranged garden with a view on the whole city. Large and qualitatively excellent breakfast buffet. THE hotel to stay in Graz

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abeille-Jaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Schlossberg Hotel in Graz at the end of June 2013 with our five-year old son for one night. The room was spacious, the staff friendly and helpful and breakfast amazing. All of us really enjoyed the experience during our short visit. Next time we will definitely come for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatsES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great hotel. Nice rooms. Copious breakfast. Very polite and helpful staff. Small but refreshing swimming pool. Located 2 min walk from center. Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvernez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

At first, we were in heaven in this hotel. Our suite was amazing and the artwork everywhere and unique furnishings that were fabulous. We stayed for 3 nights. The service was very kind and the gym and spa were well equipped. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. Unfortunately, one thing really put a damper on our trip. During the first night we started noticing spiders-- everywhere! During the first two days we saw four spiders in the entry, two in the bedroom, three in the bathroom, two in the living room, and one HUGE one outside the door to our room. It made it very difficult to sleep at night. My mother, who is horrified of spiders, was having serious problems. I feel that this must have been a fluke considering the level of service at this hotel. It was rainy most of the time we were there (which may have set the spiders off), but we looked at the pool and garden areas. They were incredible-- chic and with wonderful views of the city. Upon check out we informed the reception of our problem. They seemed surprised but mentioned that the hill behind the hotel might have attracted them. They seemed genuinely concerned and took care of our parking charges for us. By the way, parking is nice because you pull right up to the hotel and they drive the car to the garage across the street for you. Anyways, I think they will fix this problem with the particular suite that we were in, but I did feel like it was worth mentioning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erazsicxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossberghotelGraz, Manager at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear erazsicxela,
thank you for your honest feedback and as well thank you for letting us know straight away during your stay. This is the best way for us to make the necessary adjustments as soon as possible. Indeed it was a temporary difficulty because of the weather and the positioning of the room, which opens up directly to our beautiful garden area. We understand that this has made you feel uncomfortable and we apologize and deeply regret this. We would be very happy to welcome you again nevertheless as it seems that apart from this incident you did enjoy your time in our hotel very much. If you choose the Schlossberghotel for your next visit to Graz we are more than happy to reserve a room that does not lead to the garden to make sure that this will not happen again. Your Schlossberghotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#3 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Das Weitzer
#6 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Hotel Zum Dom
#10 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Innere Stadt
Hotel Gollner
Hotel Gollner
#19 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlossberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossberg Hotel

Property: Schlossberg Hotel
Address: Kaiser-Franz-Josef-Kai 30, Graz 8010, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Graz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#1 Business Hotel in Graz
#1 Spa Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlossberg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Schlossberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossberg Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing