We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Schlossberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlossberg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a superb hotel. I can't speak highly enough of it. The staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble and the room was out of this world. Large, with proper furniture (not the cheap stuff you get in business hotels), and original artwork.

A really wonderful hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might not like the rooms at the front because of the trams that pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossberghotelGraz, Schlossberghotel-Team at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear merkio,

thank you very much for taking your time to post this wonderful feedback on your recent stay at the Schlossberghotel!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you felt being well taken care of by our staff. Your words are so encouraging and motivating for us!
Thank you very much!

We are also glad that you liked the room that you stayed in and that you appreciate the individual style of our hotel and how every single piece of furniture and artwork in each room is carefully selected!
As the building itself, each of our well-preserved antique pieces of furniture has its own history and could tell a lot of interesting stories about how times have changed if they would have the ability to talk!

Thank you again for your kind words and we do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel!

With warm regards,
The Schlossberghotel-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 603 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Reception staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful in finding us food depsite the late time of arrival.

Location is good, and a short walk from many amenities. Breakfast was extra, but there is a choice of hot or cold.

Internet was free, and worked well in all locations.

If you're a Formula 1 fan there's a few things on interest there for you too including Vettel's crash helmet.

The only thing stopping me from giving Schlossberg the full rating is the shower is over the sloping part of the bath tub. Coupled with low pressure, this meant I had to do a limbo dancer impression to get under the water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicTorchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is already the fourth time that I have been staying at the Schlossberghotel when in Graz for work. The staff at the reception is extremely friendly and helpfull! The breakfast is wonderful. In the summer the roof terrace is just brilliant. For me the perfect place to stay in Graz as the location is very central too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arctickids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights. Upon arriving the exterior looked a bit tired but we were in for a pleasant surprise. Our room number 39 was just lovely with a comfortable bed, modern bathroom with luxurious robes & toiletries, as well as a sitting area. The property has terraced manicured gardens with a few relaxation spots as well as a pool. Location was just a few minutes walk from the historic centre.
The staff at the hotel were always friendly, helpful and had a cheerful disposition. As soon as we arrived our luggage was removed from our car and put into a secure parking station which was part of the building. I cannot fault this hotel at all - cleanliness, staff and location was perfect. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Comfortable hotel, nice and clean and the staff was really polite and friendly. Each room is special, with personalized furniture and artworks. The position is perfect, in the Historic centre, at 5 mins from the Hauptplatz and the hotel is provided with car parking too. Breakfast was excellent, with a big variety of food and great quality. We did not try the SPA because they were restructuring: we'll do it the next time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kastelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Recently I stayed three nights in Schlossberg hotel in Graz, Austria. The towel has its own character. At the back of the building there were steps going up to the garden which is located above the building. From there you will be able to see the old city. The room was clean and quiet. I noticed the bathroom in particular is larger than average. Those at the reception were very helpful and polite. They even have my name imprinted in their mind. I fell sick on the first day and the person at the counter was very helpful in phoning around the city to find a doctor for me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Schlossberg Hotel is an amalgamation of three historic houses (16th century!), with gables set at right angles against the Schlossberg (Castle Hill) behind them. They have been imaginatively integrated into one, and are boosted by a ‘roof terrace’, which really is a hill-slope garden at the back, above the roofs of Graz, with multiple levels, quiet hedge-shielded seating, and a swimming pool (not heated, so operational only in summer). Amazing views make this jewel alone worth the trip (in google maps - zoom in with the search term “47.074432,15.435767”…). Service is what the word means, and truly 24h (including beer on tap from the lobby bar, operated out of hours by the charming reception staff). All rooms are well appointed and clean, and - like the corridors and staircases - they sport original drawings and paintings.

There is one drawback: the fact that the smell of cigarette smoke from the bar area makes its way surprisingly far along the hotel’s corridors, including the into the courtyard areas between the three formerly separate houses. For my room this mean that door and windows of my ‘non-smoking room’ all opened to the smell of cigarettes, which - if you don’t find this attractive when trying to sleep - means that you close your windows and revert to air conditioning your room even when outside temperatures should not require this.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are bright, and not all windows open to the outside. If you want light / be able to ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Hotel Wiesler Graz
#4 of 75 in Graz
517 reviews
Hotel Weitzer Graz
#7 of 75 in Graz
588 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#6 of 75 in Graz
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais-Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Parkhotel Graz
#8 of 75 in Graz
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlossberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossberg Hotel

Address: Kaiser-Franz-Josef-Kai 30, Graz 8010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Graz
#1 Spa Hotel in Graz
#1 Business Hotel in Graz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range: $170 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlossberg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schlossberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossberg Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing