We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the good old days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hofkeller - CLOSED

Hofkeller
Price range: $14 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Like the good old days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Remember Walt Disneys Snowwhite and the seven dwarfs? Allthough this is not the black forrest in Germany the way this place feels is like the house of the dwarfs. All dark wood with detailed delicate carvings, stained glass and large beers on draft served by ladies not teenagers. Friendly as everyone in Austria and serving good solid traditional food. Homy in a Disney way.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank YaldaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great dining experience (and no smoke!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Really enjoyed our last dinner in Graz by trying this place. We walked over and found out we could make a reservation but they had just one table left, for their opening at 6 pm. This is not a huge restaurant and there is only one menu. "The" menu is on standing chalkboards that show today's choices (in German, but happily explained in English if you need it as I do) -- and you might have to wait until the table next to you orders to get it.

One of the more enjoyable aspects was that after the menu was listed for us, we were told to think about what we would like and that they would be happy to reconfigure or mix items or give us different sizes. We ended up splitting a gnochi entre as an appetizer and my husband had the salmon with eggplant tart, but opted to switch half the salmon to try monk fish. I had the spaghetti with clams (available either with a cream or tomato sauce) and opted for the tomato sauce that was enjoyably spicy. While waitng for our food, we were given a variety of breads and some olives to enjoy.

We tried the "wine of the month" and really enjoyed the chianti.

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoBusyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric, small restaurant, locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We totally enjoyed this find. Old world atmospheric, food excellent, service superb! I would go back!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, traditional Italian. Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Suggest you book this restaurant should you wish to sit outside. Due to its popularity, it gets busy and outdoor tables are generally reserved in advance. Hofkeller did not disappoint with freshly prepared Italian food, great service by a knowledgable waiter who thorougly understood the menu and wines. Had a main and entreee that was served in a timely manner, priced reasonably and was a dining experience, I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorthKnowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
185 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

And great atmosphere....I loved the way the presented the menu...just check out yourself. Food is delicious, definetly one of the best if not the best italian restaurants in Graz, als award winning therefore prices are not cheap but adequate for the quality of food. Right in the centre of Graz, 5 minutes walk from Hauptplatz. Recommended!

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gecco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofkeller also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing