We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Steirer

Der Steirer
Ranked #4 of 631 Restaurants in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Gries
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant had a local flavour. Somewhat rustic ambiance we felt very comfortable and had a great dining experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tytaany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Der Steirer, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Tytaany,

I thank you for your positive comments about our restaurant and we are very pleased that you felt comfortable staying with us.

Best regards,
Eva and the Steirer team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    281
    73
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Can only recommend the Steirische tapas, they are fantastic,and a perfect introduction to the local cuisine, they can be had as starters or as an entire meal, choose the wine list is also excellent, and they also have a wine shop with good prices and broad selection in the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Der Steirer, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Jimmi2014,

it's a great pleasure that you enjoyed your visit and the food - especially our Tapas. Thank you so much for this great review!

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Best regards from Graz,
Eva and the Steirer team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stuffed up bookings ruined more than one evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This was definately our last visit to this restaurant - which is a pitty, because the food is good and the service is friendly and quick - however, for the 3rd time in a row we have been stuffed around with our prebooked table.

The first time was some months ago when I had booked a table for 2 well in advance in the window - when some friends decided to join us, I phoned them up again to inform them that we would now be four - the woman on the phone explained to me that our booking was NOT for a window table?! When I protested and insisted, she first said that no one can prebook the window tables, then she went on to say that the window tables in any case are for 4 persons only - since we now were a party of four she said she would see what she could do, but she wouldn't promise. On arrival we got the table, and - surprise, surprise - the other window tables were occupied by parties of 2?!

The next time we were again just the two of us, and to safe ourselves the disappointment and rejection, we booked another table. On arrivel 10 min. before our time our table was still occupied, and we were told to wait at the bar - half an hour AFTER our time we were informed that our booked table will not be available and that they can only give us a small table next to the bar - since we had no other option and not to completely ruin our evening, we accepted this table - the worst table in the restaurant I guess - people constantly brushing by between the bar and our table, or sticking their bums in our faces when people were gathering with friends at the bar to chat, drink, and smoke - needless to say that 2 of the window tables were occupied by 2 persons only. That evening was ruined for us!

Now the third time was last Friday evening - we had booked a table yet again for 2, I rang up TWICE just to make sure that we would not get the same table as last time, and yes, you guessed it, we got exactly the same table again, and this time that area around the bar was really crowded and we had to constantly move our shoulders and heads out of the way to avoid having peoples bums in our faces, and twice careless bar-revellers nearly cleared our table with their coats and rucksacks?! So that evening was spoiled for us as well - btw.: there were again just 2 persons at one of the windows tables!!!

I guess I can only blame myself for having gone back there again after the previous bad experiences, but I have finally got it now: they just don't want us there!

No matter how good the food or how friendly the waiting staff is - experiences like ours ruin the whole evening and wipe out all the good points!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hubert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Der Steirer, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Hubert H,

thank you for your detailed feedback. It’s important to us that our guests feel comfortable staying in the restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you had this experience. We understand very well that you are upset.
In general our tables are subject to availability. If possible, we try to meet the expectations, but normally we don’t make any fixed table commitments. We deeply regret, that you didn’t receive this information. We’ll make sure that all employees are aware of these point.

Anyway, I would like to thank you for your positive feedback about the staff – it’s very motivational!

Kind regards,
Eva and the Steirer team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food/Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very nice restaurant, special "interior design", fun to sit there, good food.
And, on the way out you can buy your favorite bottle of wine to take home. Very, very nice!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank boeseknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Der Steirer, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear boeseknecht,

Many thanks for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. It’s a great pleasure reading, that you enjoyed your visit in our restaurant.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Best regards,
Eva and the Steirer team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wowed again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went back to the Steirer for the 3rd time since living in Austria and was happy to see the spring menu in full use. Lovely seasonal meals on offer! Lots of asparagus, etc. Whole tapas menu changed to lovely spring dishes such as spring salad with fresh cheese and wild garlic filled pasta. My veggie polenta was lovely with asparagus. Waiter friendly, as they always are, and very attentive. Was very helpful with pudding recommendations as we couldn't decided! The coffee cake was especially lovely, as was the strawberry and asparagus salad with lemon ice cream. A strange combination but it really worked! Whole meal (tapas for starter, main, pudding and 2 drinks each) came to just over €50 for us both which i think is fantastic!

will be sad to leave Austria and not have this wonderful restaurant on my doorstep!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharliMarsh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Der Steirer, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear CharliMarsh93,

thank you for your review – you have made our day! Wonderful comments like yours bring us great pleasure and gratitude. It is indeed very important to us that our guests always feel welcome!

Maybe you’ll come back soon to Austria!

Best regards,
Eva and the Steirer team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Steirer also viewed

 

Been to Der Steirer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing