We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ploberger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ploberger
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wels
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good for business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

hotel was good, clean rooms, friendly staff.
Breakfast was good. Good location.
Is perfect for business travelers.
Public parking in front of the hotel both underground and next door.
Typical city hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the backside are very silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgiantravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
29
10
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This recently re-modeled hotel is located in the city center of Wels, less than an hour away from Linz and slightly over two hours from Vienna. The single room offers only a single bed and therefore is very small. The double room is also a bit small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast quality is very good and offers enough selection of fresh food such as honey and fruits. It is also within walking distance to many nice restaurants. We went to a traditional Austrian restaurant nearby and then a Croatia seafood restaurant not far from the hotel for dinner during our stay. The underground public car park, with direct access to the hotel lobby by a lift, is most convenient. The hotel reception can also process the payment of parking and include the fee in the hotel bill if you wish. My wife and I and a friend stayed three days here for business and we definitely like to stay in this hotel again in the future. We have stayed in Wels many times. It is one of the best business hotel in Wels although we also saw a small tour group spent one night here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ytlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Doberan, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Best Western Hotel Plus Hotel Ploberger is centrally located and offers bright modern rooms with comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Price a bit steep. Booked a classic room but upgraded to a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Go for the "Bei Etage" rooms. They are much more comfy and have air-condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catsailor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were travelling from to Budapest by car and this was a convenient place for a one night stopover. Initially we stopped at a motel attached to a motorway service station just over the border after you arrived in Austria from Germany. Now THAT was a dirty hellhole and they wanted over Eur 170 a night for a family room. A couple of trip advisor searches and a phone call later, we were on our way a few more Km to Wels, and the Hotel Ploberger to stay in a family room for Eur 130 the night, including breakfast and secure parking. We didn't see enough of Wels to really figure out what was there, but what a lovely little hotel. Looked like it had just been refurbished, our room was lovely, quick wifi everywhere, somewhere to have a drink downstairs, comfy beds, friendly staff, couldn't fault it at all. The breakfast the next morning was an amazing spread as well!!!
If you're looking for somewhere in this area, this is great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Ploberger. The room was small, as most European hotel rooms tend to be, but it was clean. I didn't care for the egg shaped footrest by the small table because there was just not enough space around it. It seemed to be part of the theme of the hotel, however, quite modern in it's decor. The breakfast was very nice, with some western style foods, like scrambled eggs and bacon along with delicious pastries and the meat and cheese items that are the staples of the European breakfast. We enjoyed 2 walks around the old part of the city. There were maps located around town, so we could find our way without getting lost. We also went to the airport that has a pre WWII hangar and restaurant. The hanger had about 10 gliders and some other very interesting aircraft inside. I'd recommend the Hotel Ploberger for it's convenience and good food.

Room Tip: Our street side room had quite a bit of street noise, but I wear earplugs so it didn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberalm, Austria
Level Contributor
190 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is right in the center of the small city of Wels. The rooms are very clean and convenient. For a price of about 109 EUR per night for a superior 4 star room. Definitly to recommend! Very nice in my opinin was the welcome table with fresh fruits. As well the idea of a Nespresso machine ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent 5 days (Christmas) at Hotel Ploberger. Great hotel, very quiet, the location is very central.
The size of the room was just right, big and comfy beds, big drawer, great bathroom.
Wireless in the room worked like a charm.
The staff is very helpful and do everything they can to make sure you have a great stay at the hotel.
Breakfast: 2 big thumbs up.
The present received from the reception at our departure was a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayrischer Hof
3.1 mi away
Hotel Maxlhaid
Hotel Maxlhaid
#5 of 9 in Wels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GoesserBraeu Hotel
GoesserBraeu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Wels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.9 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Schallerbach
Parkhotel Bad Schallerbach
#2 of 4 in Bad Schallerbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#6 of 9 in Wels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ploberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ploberger

Property: Hotel Ploberger
Address: Kaiser-Josef-Platz 21, Wels 4600, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Wels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ploberger 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4-star Hotel Ploberger is centrally located yet quiet in the old town of Wels. Exhibition grounds, pedestrian zone, train station and sights are within walking distance. Our family-run hotel is furnished in a contemporary style and equipped with modern amenities: free high-speed wireless internet (100 Mbit/s) throughout the hotel, timelessly elegant rooms, and a cozy lounge & bar with fireplace. The 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms are equipped with modern technology and can accommodate up to 140 people (parking in the underground car park). A large, fully-equipped sauna and fitness area offers relaxation with state-of-the-art TechnoGym(R) equipment, juice bar and large screen TV. A good start to the day is our varied breakfast buffet with ham and sausage from our own butcher, daily 10 fresh fruit varieties as well as lactose and gluten-free products. Each of the 92 rooms at the Hotel Ploberger has been designed with the thought of the comforts of our guests: free high-speed WLAN (100 Mbit/s), flat-screen TV with cable TV and international channels, seating area, and tea and coffee facilities. Due to the long experience with the different needs and requirements of our guests we have created five room categories, which vary in size and equipment: Economy (17 sqm) and Standard Rooms (21 sqm) in a classic design for a short stay, Comfort Rooms (29 sqm) with air conditioning, coffee machine and desk or Superior Rooms (29 sqm) with floor-to-ceiling windows, city view and modern designer bath with glass door. Our Junior Suites (41 sqm) with lounge area to work and relax are ideal for a longer stay or for a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ploberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing