We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect to much. It's just ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ploberger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ploberger
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wels
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't expect to much. It's just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff is amazing. Nothing is problem for them. Late checkout wasn't problem, they showed us everything on the map at the moment we checked in.
Room was big, bathroom was ok but something is missing, some kind of touch.
Breakfest is excellent, wide choice

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    55
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
29
10
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding nearby. We found our Bel Etage room to be very well designed, comfortable and efficient. Hotel staff quickly filled two special requests. The breakfast was superb. The location, near the main town plaza, is excellent.

Perhaps most importantly, every member of the staff was very solicitous of our experience. Cheerful hellos from housekeepers, good advice about restaurants from the front desk, and the breakfast crew that remembered our preferences after a couple of days there.

There were about 14 people who stayed at the hotel while attending the wedding; every one of them found the hotel excellent.

You can stay here or recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: We opted for a Bel Etage room that accommodated three people. The room design allowed for some priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyclewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

For small town it is a high standard. Clean, modern, excellent service by staff. Breakfast very nice with eggs made to choice. Rooms small but are comfortable and seems too be recently renovated. WiFi at no extra charge, and accommodated both laptop and phone connection at the same time which is a problem most places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0ggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have already become a Stammgast (regular guest) at the Hotel Ploberger in Wels as a result of my annual “pilgrimage” to the Richard Wagner Festival in June and the friendly and cheerful welcome greeting from the staff upon my arrival is a sign of familiar friendliness. Wels is small town in Upper Austria with 9 hotels, one of which is the Hotel Ploberger centrally situated in the Kaiser-Josef-Platz, close to shops, supermarkets, the post-office and the theatre itself. The festival has become a popular meeting for Wagnerians and usually, at this time of the year, the hotel is completely booked.
In addition to its famous breakfast, which has earned an award, has been acclaimed by many reviewers and probably considered the ex-libris of the hotel, I have found that this Best Western keeps on improving from year to year the quality of the services it provides. Compared to last year, the hotel has followed the worldwide trend and now offers free Wi-Fi in the rooms.
Although the single rooms are rather small, this fact does not trouble me, considering that the big picture is positive. The staff are professional, friendly and relentless in their efforts to provide the best assistance and service. Parking in the garage is at a reduced rate for hotels guests; otherwise it would be prohibitive and impossible using the parking meters. The hotel rates are a bit higher than those of the other Wels hotels, but all in all, I think it pays off, considering the quality of the services provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I use this hotel when visitng business partners in Wels and linz Area.Top clean houseand easy service, good internet, modern furnished fuctional rooms and top breakfast one can enjoy to best austrian tradition.
Ënjoy and go again!
RGB, Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAGA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Hotel has a great location, only few steps from the pedestrian zone and a historic part of the city. I booked a single room. Room was extremely small, felt claustrofobic. I would never book a single room at the hotel again. Breakfast was simply excellent.

Room Tip: I would never book a single room again. Room was extremly small, it felt claustrophobic. It is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikam0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had another fantastic stay at this hotel. The service and rooms were excellent. The breakfast is out of this world. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a luxury hotel. I would say this hotel is great value for what you get. I have already booked to stay again.

Room Tip: Room 406 is a corner room, very spacious, light and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amedia Wels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayrischer Hof
3.1 mi away
Hotel Maxlhaid
Hotel Maxlhaid
#3 of 9 in Wels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Paradiso Hotel
Paradiso Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bad Schallerbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.9 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Schallerbach
Parkhotel Bad Schallerbach
#2 of 4 in Bad Schallerbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#7 of 9 in Wels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ploberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ploberger

Property: Hotel Ploberger
Address: Kaiser-Josef-Platz 21, Wels 4600, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Wels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ploberger 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4-star Hotel Ploberger is centrally located yet quiet in the old town of Wels. Exhibition grounds, pedestrian zone, train station and sights are within walking distance. Our family-run hotel is furnished in a contemporary style and equipped with modern amenities: free high-speed wireless internet (100 Mbit/s) throughout the hotel, timelessly elegant rooms, and a cozy lounge & bar with fireplace. The 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms are equipped with modern technology and can accommodate up to 140 people (parking in the underground car park). A large, fully-equipped sauna and fitness area offers relaxation with state-of-the-art TechnoGym(R) equipment, juice bar and large screen TV. A good start to the day is our varied breakfast buffet with ham and sausage from our own butcher, daily 10 fresh fruit varieties as well as lactose and gluten-free products. Each of the 92 rooms at the Hotel Ploberger has been designed with the thought of the comforts of our guests: free high-speed WLAN (100 Mbit/s), flat-screen TV with cable TV and international channels, seating area, and tea and coffee facilities. Due to the long experience with the different needs and requirements of our guests we have created five room categories, which vary in size and equipment: Economy (17 sqm) and Standard Rooms (21 sqm) in a classic design for a short stay, Comfort Rooms (29 sqm) with air conditioning, coffee machine and desk or Superior Rooms (29 sqm) with floor-to-ceiling windows, city view and modern designer bath with glass door. Our Junior Suites (41 sqm) with lounge area to work and relax are ideal for a longer stay or for a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ploberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing