We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Lentos Kunstmuseum (Museum of Modern Art Linz)
Ranked #11 of 73 things to do in Linz
Attraction details
SWEngland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This gallery does not meet up to it's own, and others ' advertising. The blurbs we had read and the vids one can see of the Lentos illuminated at night led us to have high expectations. Unfortunately the gallery is well below expectations. The building inside is a concrete warehouse, dull , bland ,unstimulating and a very poor venue for art. The works are a disappointment. One Klimt and a couple of Schieles does not a gallery make. The exhibition is poorly curated and not well presented. A very dull experience which nowhere near matches its own hype.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BettyStoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    27
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“relatively small art museum - beautiful views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The museum seems smaller inside than it appears from the outside. They have some interesting exhibitions. Many of the exhibits in the permanent collection are worth seeing. The cafe is a perfect setting in which to enjoy a reverside glass of wine on a summer evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_regnifarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“OK, but small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went in because I had a Linz City card, otherwise I don't think the 8€ admissions fee is necessarily worth it. The exhibit is relatively small, but there are some interesting works on display, and the building itself is cool, but I wouldn't call it a must do unless you are passionate about modern art. It's no MOMA or Pompidou Center.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom74150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot spot in Linz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I really appreciated the quality of the architectural intervention.
if you are interested in a calibrated and significant contemporary architectural work you shouldn't miss this.
nice collection inside, worth a visit. the entry fee is levelled with the european admission prices: quite high, honestly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapua, Finland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The museum building is interesting glass covered and worth seeing. I had chance to have dinner in the restaurant which is modern and offers nice fair priced meals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lentos Kunstmuseum (Museum of Modern Art Linz) also viewed

 

Been to Lentos Kunstmuseum (Museum of Modern Art Linz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing