We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Linz was the second stop on our cycle trip down the Danube.

The hotel is situated in an historic building that was in the middle of the main city square. This was the most comfortable bed - although the room was basic with a modern bathroom.

The city square was pedestrianised with trams that ran down the middle of the square. We ate in one of the restaurants around the square and we had an excellent meal. The breakfast room was beautiful and overlooked the square. The breakfast itself was substantial and the best in the whole week.

The town itself was excellent and would be well worth a longer visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exiled_Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great location, although to find a parking for our car was a bit challenging not knowing we have to use the public garage under the Hauptplatz. Once this was solved, everything else was fine, the room was quiet and OK for a one night stay. Dont expect a true double bed as already stated in a review earlier. Breakfast was delicious, and the view from the restaurant is also superb. Generally speaking, a thumb up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomazzo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Linz was a short stop at the end of our 5 hour ferry from Passau on our way to Vienna. Reading the guides our expectaions were not especially high - but havign visited we now think that Linz is sold short and is a great place to spend a few of days.

The hotel is in a historcim building right on the main city square (mostly pedestrianised with trams down the middle). We had a third floor room looking out over all the activity. We were able to walk with our bags from the ferry terminal via a nice elevated pedestrain overpass.

Ferry is a great way to arrive in Linz.

The hotel room was bright and comfortable, and surprisingly we didn't find it too noisy. Again this is mainily a German speaking tourist hotel, but the staff were pleasant and spoke good English and the breakfast was a typically good continental (Austrian style) and suited us just fine

Linz is a very pleasant small city with good shopping and local historic and cultural sites. We went to a Beethoven 9th cponcert in the relatively new Bruckner House concert hall (by the Danube) - again only a short walk from our Hotel

We took a day train trip to Bid Ischl from Linz on a rainy day - proved to be a great idea

Room Tip: non smoking upper floor rooms are the best - view over the sqaure is a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65Graham65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

It's a hotel that used to be a Monastery. Little creepy hotel. Great Location! Medium size rooms!
Great Hotel! It is 500 year old.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I write this as I am sitting in my room at the Wolfinger. Other reviews seem positive, so I guess I must have just got the worst room in the hotel. The room looks nothing like the nice photographs, the shower room is tiny, the "double" room is actually 2 x single beds pushed together, but they don't give you a double duvet, just 2 single duvets. I agree with some comments about cleanliness as there were hairs on the pillows and lots of fluff and dirt on the carpet. The WI Fi is very poor if you're on the 4th floor as I am, much too weak a signal to be able to use it. The hotel is practically empty, I've not seen or heard anyone else so you would think they could give you a better room to give the visitor a feeling of wanting to return one day !

Room Tip: Simply ask for a nice room, it didn't work for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Hotel Wolfinger is located at the main square of Linz, 200 meters to Danube river, 300 to Ars Electronica center and 100 Meters to Landstrasse, Linz´s main shopping area. It was built in the 18th century and so it is not comparable to modern hotels. The rooms are gathered around a sky-open patio so most of the rooms are completely free from traffic noise. Most of the furniture is from former centurys so this hotel certainly has its own charme.
Nevertheless everything is working fine, service quality is good and rooms are clean.
Surprising for a relatively cheap hotel is the quality of breakfast: I am not used to have fresh pressed orange juice, fresh pineapples or high quality jams in an 80 Euro hotel.
There are hotels in Linz that offer more luxury to their guests, but Wolfinger offers more charm and an excellent price performance ratio.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The hotel is located at the Main Square, needless to say that there is no other way to be more closer to the City Center. The room is old-fasioned and a bit dashy but not in a negative way as it fits the old style of the Hotel. The breakfast is very rich and healthy and the staff is very friendly. I really felt like being at home. And last but not least: The bed was sooooo cosy and brought me a bunch of great sleep. I really would recomment this Hotel to everyone who is keen in Austrian style and hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mturrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadtviertel
Comfort Hotel, Star Inn Linz Promenadengalerien
ARCOTEL Nike
#12 of 31 in Linz
412 reviews
ibis Styles Linz
#10 of 31 in Linz
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger

Address: Hauptplatz 19, Linz 4020, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Altstadtviertel , Landstraße
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Linz
#8 Business Hotel in Linz
Price Range: $120 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Linz
Linz Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing