We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Hotel is centrally located (and might be noisy on the weekend in some rooms - use earplugs), but we had a quiet and restful night there on a Friday night, where the town was very busy. Very charming room, wonderful breakfast room overlooking the main square, good breakfast, nice, friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi (and a computer for guest use). Good beds. It was advertised as a three star hotel, but it is in fact much better than most Austrian four stars hotels I had to stay in. Not cheap, though, but still very good value for money. The only thing that was decidedly not up to standard were the toiletries supplied.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 249 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just returned from a very good stay at the Wolfinger. Situated right on the main square of Linz, this is definitely the hotel to be in for a visit to the city. Linz isn't on the tourist trail, but had plenty of attractions for a weekend and is ideally located in between Salzburg and Vienna. The Wolfinger itself was a great choice; a very, very warm welcome from the owner, excellent antiques scattered haphazardly around the public areas. At a rate of 70euros (inc. breakfast) it certainly offers value for money.

I had two issues with the hotel... the rooms (and in particular the bathrooms) are in need of update, and secondly the hotel does not offer dinner. This is a waste of the well-appointed dining room which offered great views of the main square. However, the owner was very happy to give a long list of his personal recommendations for supper. Overall, a very good stay and I would certainly return on my next visit to Linz.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

If you want modern spacious bland hotel, then this is not for you! But if you want amazing character, fabulous location and staff then this is great. I stay in a lot of hotels on business and although the bathroom could do with a bit of updating (eg there was no space or hook for washbags, and complimentary toiletries were a bit sparse), this was forgiven in exchange for the friendliness of the place. Cant get better location - overlooking the main square & tram stop.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The hotel itself is very nice, particularly as it is on the main square. At night, however, there is a lot of noise, not from the square but from the next building which moves beer barrels or something similar, late into the night. In the morning you are woken by people working in the next building who seem to hover below the hotel windows very early in the morning. The service was excellent in general but at breakfast we did have to constantly ask for more rolls or more croissants etc. as they were not immediately refilled.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suecarol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on the drive back from Prague and Cesky Krumlov. It has a good location on the main square, with the public parking right beneath it. It is an older hotel, with a long corridor leading to the rooms. The breakfast is excellent, get a table with window overlooking the main square. They also have a computer with internet in the lounge next to reception.

We arrived on the Friday afternoon, and the main square was busy with the market. But the lady at the reception said we could double park on the square for 10 minutes while we checked in. When we left on the Sunday morning, it was the day of the marathon, so many of the roads were closed, and we got lost trying to get to the highway. I guess that's the problem with staying in the centre of things.

The hotel is within easy walking distance to most sites, and the tram stop is just right outside. There are shops and supermarkets nearby as well. The staff are friendly and helpful, though their English is reasonable but not very good. I guess Linz doesn't get much non-german speaking tourists.

All in all, a nice hotel in a nice town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We spent a night in the hotel in mid August. The hotel is located right in the city centre, just 50 meters from the tram stop. We arrived at Linz by train and take the tram there. The location is so central that you can't miss it.

The receptionist said that the hotel is around 500 years old but it is well maintained. We had a triple room and its size is big. The room (No. 12) is clean with a double bed and sofa bed. The room that we stayed is facing the front street. From the window, I can see all movement in the centre but at night it is a bit noisy because of tram service.

The breakfast is basic with juice, cereal, bread, cheese and ham.

The stay is nice, and the hotel is well located. Good to use as a base to visit the city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KanMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My wife and I spent one night here travelling between Vienna and Cesky Krumlov, CZ. The hotel is old (and a little worn), but generally well maintained and quaint. The rooms were clean, but small and a little noisy due to the windows opening to the main walkway to other rooms. The location was terrific, being in the main square near all of the sights, many restaurants, and the trams. Regarding the trams; they are very inexpensive (free on weekends) and very convenient from the train station to the square. There’s really no reason to pay for a taxi. Although there was nothing to rave about at the Wolfinger, we’d probably stay here again if we came back to Linz for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
ARCOTEL Nike
#12 of 31 in Linz
403 reviews
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadtviertel
Hotel am Domplatz
Hotel am Domplatz
#3 of 31 in Linz
311 reviews
ibis Linz City
#5 of 31 in Linz
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger

Address: Hauptplatz 19, Linz 4020, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Altstadtviertel , Landstraße
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Linz
#8 Business Hotel in Linz
Price Range: $142 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Linz
Linz Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing