We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of ibis Linz City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Linz City
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Another Ibis hotel that seems to be lacking. Other than being close to the main train station, it didn't have any other advantages. I dont think this hotel has aircon for the summer as my room was rather hot and most other people had their windows open. Rooms are dated and the beds where average, borderline not comfortable. Wifi was supposed to be available in the rooms but mine was on the end of the building and the signal didn't quite reach. Overall probably ok for a one night stop over if its not hot but for me it was an uncomfortable nights sleep. Ibis you need to throw some cash at these places otherwise you are going to lose loyal customers like myself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Linz. I am sorry that your experience while your stay did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Zabresky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 679 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, great location 3 minutes walk from Central station, a bus stop for Westbus to Prague or Salzburg and other destinations is just in front of the hotel
Our room was spacious clean and recently renovated with free WIFI.
The staff were very polite and helpful, excellent customer service.
Overall great value for money Highly recommended if you are staying in Linz..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Freeie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelZ847, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor after your stay in our hotel. We are very glad, that you have spent a nice time with us and that you also recommend our hotel. I will certainly pass your feedback to our employees.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Linz and send best regards
Michael Zabresky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Its location is very good, just across the road from Linz HBF. One can just get out of station and walk across the road to the hotel (even with luggage). It is also convenient to catch a cab from the station to the city centre or just walk (20 minutes along a shopping street leading right to the city centre). The rooms are clean, breakfast and restuarant is reasonable. A tourist train can be taken from city centre for a 30 minutes tour. Another attraction is the Science-Electronics Museum where a 3D presentation is quite interesting for children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raza_Yasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelZ847, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your experience after your stay in our hotel.
We are glad, that you have spent a nice time with us and gave us such a good feedback and recommendation. We hope, that we can welcome you very soon again in the Ibis Linz City and send
best regards
Michael Zabresky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ibis Linz is situated just across the road from Linz HBF. This is extremely convenient if you're moving around with heavy luggage and between cities using the trains. The location is not within the city centre. You need to take a tram from the train station which is 5 stops away from the city or walk about 10-15 minutes. Linz is a very small city so spending a night here is more than enough. The hotel is pretty new and the reception was friendly and helpful. There was free wifi which did not always connect in the room but you can get connected online when at the lobby. I felt the cleaner can be more thoughtful by not not placing her cleaning trolley right smack in the middle of the pathway so that it is easier for guests to walk past without touching the cleaning equipment. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluefish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

we thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your experiences while your stay in our hotel.
We are also very glad, that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us and that you recommend your
house here on Tripadvisor.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Linz and send
best regards
Michael Zabresky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

As usual, the Ibis does not impress but it does not dissapoint either. Very simple, very clean room, right accross from the train station and about 15 minutes from the city center. Good breakfast with a variety of options, and pretty standard services.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magdaneagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your experience while your stay in our hotel.
We are glad, that you have spent a nice time with us and that you recommend us also on Tripadvisor.
We are already looking forward to welcome you again very soon in Linz and send best regards
Michael Zabresky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

very very friendly reception and employees, nice rooms, located near to the city center and railway station. standard lunch is typical austrian meal, but only very few choices from which you are able to choose from the menu. everything went very smoothly

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad, that you have spent a nice stay in our hotel and that you gave your recommendations also on this way.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again very soon and send you best regards from Linz.
Michael Zabresky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros: The hotel was clean and the staff was quite friendly. The breakfast and coffee was very good as well. It is a fairly easy place to find and the location was convenient to restaurants and bars.

Cons: The temperature of our room was very hot, so we had to open the windows so we could sleep. However, our room was on the side of the hotel that had a very busy street in front of it. Heavy traffic getting off of the highway was constant, and the numerous tractor trailer trucks with changing gears and squealing brakes made it impossible to get much rest. I think we only got about 7 hours of sleep in two nights. Also, the paper notices and hotel TV announcements about child sex trafficking was a little creepy.

Room Tip: You could have a MUCH better experience if you request a room on the side of the hotel away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcdot09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your experience while your stay in our hotel.
We very much appreciate that you gave us a very good feedback concerning our staff and services, but we also do regret, that you did not spent calm nights. At your next stay in the ibis Linz City
we are pleased to prepare you a room on the other side.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and best regards from Linz
Michael Zabresky, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
ibis Styles Linz
#9 of 31 in Linz
588 reviews
ARCOTEL Nike
#12 of 31 in Linz
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Altstadtviertel
Comfort Hotel, Star Inn Linz Promenadengalerien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Linz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Linz City

Address: Kaerntnerstrasse 18-20, Linz 4020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Price Range: $82 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Linz City 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Linz hotel is located in the city centre, facing the railway station and 15 km from the airport. Just 1 km from the Design Center convention centre, it has 146 air-conditioned rooms, including 4 adapted for disabled guests, a restaurant and a bar serving snacks 24/24. 6 meeting rooms can also be booked for your seminars and conferences. Guests on a business trip have Wifi wireless Internet access. Public covered pay parking close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis Linz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing