We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good breakfast, but hard to sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Linz City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis Linz City
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good breakfast, but hard to sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros: The hotel was clean and the staff was quite friendly. The breakfast and coffee was very good as well. It is a fairly easy place to find and the location was convenient to restaurants and bars.

Cons: The temperature of our room was very hot, so we had to open the windows so we could sleep. However, our room was on the side of the hotel that had a very busy street in front of it. Heavy traffic getting off of the highway was constant, and the numerous tractor trailer trucks with changing gears and squealing brakes made it impossible to get much rest. I think we only got about 7 hours of sleep in two nights. Also, the paper notices and hotel TV announcements about child sex trafficking was a little creepy.

Room Tip: You could have a MUCH better experience if you request a room on the side of the hotel away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdot09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your experience while your stay in our hotel.
We very much appreciate that you gave us a very good feedback concerning our staff and services, but we also do regret, that you did not spent calm nights. At your next stay in the ibis Linz City
we are pleased to prepare you a room on the other side.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and best regards from Linz
Michael Zabresky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    313
    122
    24
    8
See reviews for
71
184
104
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catterick, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was in Austria for a training course and spent two weeks in this hotel. From arrival on day one to booking out on my final day it was a most thoroughly enjoyable experience.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy with TV and free WiFi. I did have a very minor gripe and that was that there was a shortage of clothing storage (ie drawers) for the amount of clothes I had for a two week stay. This point was mentioned to one of the hotel employees who was very sympathetic to my issue and I believe has already raised my concern higher up in order to try and remedy it. To get this kind of quick resolution (even if not actioned by the time you leave) is most heart warming and it certainly gave me confidence in the hotel.
The food in the restaurant was most impressive with a varied choice from two menu's (a standard cuisine menu and a special wildgame menu).
I thoroughly recommend that anybody wishing to stay in Linz considers this hotel as an option to stay in, especially as it is located in close proximity to the rail station and the city centre is within easy walking distance. There is also currently ongoing a refurbishment programme that will further enhance it's appeal.
Finally i find it impoosible to write this review without mention to all of the staff in the hotel. To the end they were all very accomodating and would put all their efforts into helping out in any way whatsoever. All the hotel employees, from the girls on reception right down to the cleaners, are consumate professionals and without them my stay would not have being half as much fun and enjoyable.
Many thanks to all who made my stay an enjoyable one and I hope that i get the chance to visit again.

A very satisfied Adrian Furniss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Linz Ctiy. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerley
Michael Zabresky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I got what I expected, breakfast a bit overpriced at 11 euros for budget hotel. As a family, we booked 2 rooms, one of which happened to be the reduced mobility room. The bathroom in that room, functionally ok for disabled people was a bit awkward for young children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgybxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time, to give us your feedback concerning your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to inform you, that we are renovating all our hotel rooms at the moment and will finish the works at the end of January. We hope to welcome you again very soon in Linz and send best regards
Michael Zabresky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamont, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent location nr. train stn. Didn't meet their own "guarantee" of correcting problems in the stated amount of time. Poor evening meals -- very expensive and poor quality -- had a better meal at the par in the train stn. -- same meal ordered. Rooms ok. Breakfast passable for eating but poor when taken into consideration the amount you pay for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibisreview_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Linz City. I am sorry that your experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Zabresky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is very close to the railway station, to and from which all city trams pass. A relatively new Ibis it is of a good standard with bar and restaurant. The reception staff were very helpful in giving info on such things as period tram/bus travel. A feature not found everywhere was the provision of free internet access via a dedicated terminal - good for non-laptop carriers (for whom there is free wifi)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to give us your feedback after your stay in our hotel.
We are glad that you have spent a nice stay, and that you recommend our perfect location for train travellers in this way. We hope, that we can welcome you very soon again in the Ibis Linz City and send best regards

Michael Zabresky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

It's a perfect stay for Linz, so close to the station and to tram trains 1,2,3 that go through the city center.

The hotel is ok but we had problems with wifi reception working in our room, which is a deal-breaker for me.

Also it would be nice if they added a larger selection of food for the room service. I am vegetarian and I had exactly one choice. Prices are v good though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivnvgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking time to tell uns about your experiences while your stay in our hotel.
We are very glad, that you have mentioned our great location but are also very sorry, that the wifi did not meet your expectasions. We are renovating all rooms very soon (starting November 2012) and will also improve the internet access. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Linz and send best regards
Michael Zabresky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are very glad to stay there, it is a ferry good hotel and i recommend everybody. For us is only one night but is ok to stay more that. For this hotel we give 9 points. The rooms are very clean, the location it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabresky, Geschäftsführer at ibis Linz City, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

we thank you a lot for taking time, to tell us about your expericence while your stay in our hotel.
We are very glad, that you recommend your hotel in this way on Tripadvisor. We also hope, that we can welcome you very soon again in the Ibis Linz City.
Best regards
Michael Zabresky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Nike
#8 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
ibis Styles Linz
#10 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Linz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Linz City

Property: ibis Linz City
Address: Kaerntnerstrasse 18-20, Linz 4020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Linz City 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Linz hotel is located in the city centre, facing the railway station and 15 km from the airport. Just 1 km from the Design Center convention centre, it has 146 air-conditioned rooms, including 4 adapted for disabled guests, a restaurant and a bar serving snacks 24/24. 6 meeting rooms can also be booked for your seminars and conferences. Guests on a business trip have Wifi wireless Internet access. Public covered pay parking close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Linz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing