We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not seem to care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Linz
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Linz
GreenLeadersBronze level
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not seem to care”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Alltough in general the staff were polite and helpful our stay was marred by the fact that, on the second day, we returned to find out that the bar and resturant area were to be ripped out and replaced for the new year! At no time, when booking or on arrival, were we made aware of this! This left us eating breakfast or dinner, in an austere looking conference room (which on the one night we had dinner there was unheated) some distance from the kitchen, for the rest of our stay.With no bar area in which to relax,after a day out, we were forced to stay out in town or sit in our rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne19573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    281
    149
    48
    10
See reviews for
58
158
31
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

MY daughter and Bernese mountain dog joined my husband who was in Linz for business had had 2 rooms at the Steigenberger.

Location was good for business being very close to the ringroad, although a little far out of town for sightseeing, so had to drive everywhere.

Hotel was accomodating of our slightly large dog, albeit at a charge of 10 euros per night, and we only had one problem concerning my dog barking at a large group of Russian guests (men) who were congregated around the lifts on our floor, close to our room, generally having a party and being intimidating to the guests (especially the females) and my dog who was a little traumatised by the experience and barked at them. This was at 10.30PM and some other guests complained about the barking which was badly handled by the hotel, i.e. it is ok to party in the corridor of an hotel, but not ok for the dog to get upset. This episode was not repeated since the partying guests were spoken too.

However, the dog was mosly welcome in the hotel, both in the bar and in the restaurant (on one occasion), and didn't seem too bother too many of the guests.

Hotel rooms were ok, overlooking the coutyard with a partial view of the Danube. Furnishings were ok. Bathrooms were clean, although no tubs, only showers.

Breakfasts were excellent, although a little busy at times and difficult to find a table (these were not assigned).

Generally an OK stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast and proximity to the river.
  • Disliked — No real bar area since adjoined busy restaurant and conference centre. No where to meet and relax, hence men partying in the hotel corridors!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

I was only one night in the Steigenberger. I liked it very much. It is decorated very well. It has a lot of wood both in the lobby and the rooms - it looks to me like a kind of yaching style. The breakfast was ok. The room was really nice and comfortable.
The position is good from the point of finding the hotel. When you exit the highway you see the hotel and it's very easy to find it. The center of the town looks to me a bit distant but maybe its not so far - I didn't really go there. The vicinity of the hotel is not suitable for walking or so.
A very nice hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zarac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2005

I stayed at the Steigenberger Maxx in Sept 2003 and it was quite charming. The hotel faces the Danube and I had a room with a lovely view, and it was large and comfy as well. The hotel provided me with a free bike for the entire week (this is a great deal!), so I rode around town on it, cycling along the Danube most of the way. Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2005

I can only agree with the reviewer above. It seems that nothing has changed since 2003. We stayed at the Steigenberger in Linz on a cycling trip by the Danube. Originally we were going to stay 2 nights, but quickly changed to 1 night when arriving at the hotel. The hotel is an architectural disaster, lots and lots of glass and ledges with no apparent function. It seems that most of the rooms look over the motorway rather than the river and the hotel has no air-conditioning. The hotel is approx 2 kilometres from the city centre, which would not really matter if it were an attractive area, but the hotel is situated right next to the motorway and an industrial estate. The rooms are meant to be have a Mississippi flare (whatever that is) to them with dark Asian bamboo style furniture. I couldn't find a wardrobe in the room. As the reviewer above mentioned the bathroom is divided into two sections strangely enough. Breakfast was fine, but we ate after 9.00 and the cooked section had almost all gone, and there was no sign that it was going to be filled up again. Likewise there were no greetings from any of the staff. You just have to get on with it yourself. The staff at the front desk were pleasant enough but distant and not terribly welcoming. The hotel is really for business travellers and definitely not for holiday makers, who want to experience atmosphere and a lovely time. For the price category I am sure one can find something better in Linz itself

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Linz hotels

Montréal, QC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2003

I stayed at this hotel in June 2003. I have mixed feelings about this place. The location, close to the highway along the Danube River, can be useful if you plan to use it as a base to explore the region but is far away from the city center. The hotel has a intriguing modern architecture with useless columns and a wall of glass that makes the corridors extremely hot in summer (despite its modernism, this building is not equipped with air-conditionning). The underground garage is useful and user-friendly for people carrying heavy luggages (no steps, doors that open automatically...). The rooms are attractively decorated in a kind of asian tropical style with dark woods ceiling and furniture. A large ceiling fan adds to this atmosphere and is useful in this hot day. The bathroom is in two sections: only the toilet and the shower have a door. The counter is isolated from the rest of the room by a large closet. A few magazines (in German only) are available in the room. More German titles can be found in public areas. We ate an honest meal at the restaurant of the hotel on the terrasse overlooking the Danube. Service was adequate but distant. The service the next morning for the breakfast buffet was horrendous: no salutations, no smile, no explanations on how it works; the guy was obviously on a bad day and wanted everybody knows. The breakfast itself was adequate with the usual items found in German speaking countries. This hotel is a good choice for business travelers but for leisure travelers who plan to visit Linz, there are better located hotels in the same price category.

Helpful?
15 Thank nomade7A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
ARCOTEL Nike
#9 of 31 in Linz
381 reviews
ibis Linz City
#3 of 31 in Linz
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Courtyard Linz
#2 of 31 in Linz
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Linz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Linz

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Linz
Address: Am Winterhafen 13 | 4020 Linz, Linz 4020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Linz 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The view of the Danube and the mountains has a particular charm which you can only experience from the Steigenberger Hotel in Linz. Here, the guest will find comfort and cosiness throughout the whole of the hotel. In the restaurant, on the Danube terrace and in the bar the culinary emphasis lies on regional dishes. The conference area is ideal for first-class seminars, and medium sized events and conferences can be catered here for excellently. The wellness area with sauna and steam bath provides a perfect close to a long day. The waterside promenade running past the hotel is ideal for jogging, Nordic walking or short cycle trips. You can reach the old city centre of Linz easily on foot or by local public transport in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Linz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing