We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“solid place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Linz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Linz
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Linz
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“solid place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

i enjoyed my experience at steigenberger linz. it was an excellent value for the price i paid (via booking.com). the rooms are simple but nice, many with a view of the river. staff was friendly and spoke excellent english. the weather was terrible during my visit but they have an outdoor terrace cafe/restaurant with river views that i wished i could've visited. the location is not right in the center, but maybe a 15 min walk along the riverside path, which was actually quite a nice walk home from the city at night.
the unique river location and the price definitely made it worth it for me for a simple overnight city break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dj_seaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    263
    133
    45
    8
See reviews for
55
141
29
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

the rooms where nice with some old Hollywood touch, in this occasion I got Humphrey Bogart and the movie African Queen deco, nothing extra just enough
the service was good, sleeping nice and room well equipped all working find.
the location could be the issue but by car only 10 minutes from centre. Breakfast good choice and good quality, the view from the restaurant nice and peaceful with the terrace

the rooms are a little priced

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located on the bank of river. You can see it from your room window. Rooms are good. Breakfast is included in room rent. It is very close to railway station. There is good path way on bank of river and it makes easy to take few trips using river route. The hotel is also value for money and have good variety of breakfast for bith veg and non veg lovers.
The river view from restaurent makes it special.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiteshbharti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I Washington here for a business meeting. The hotel is nice, room large, wifi free, quiet. Nice terrace too for breakfast or lunch. People in the staff are friendly. The only problem is that is out of the center.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Z72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in 4 rooms. On our first night, 2 of our rooms had decent water pressure while the other 2 had trickling. My shower hose sprayed more water out the sides than out of the shower head. After complaining about it all, I got a new shower hose (but the bracket to the shower bar snapped off) and miraculously water pressure was restored.

The beds were not terribly comfortable & the pillows were terrible.

Parking is ample. Breakfast had a good selection but staff were at times good and at times not... Inconsistent.

I think I'd probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Su-In K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Linz hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Jeddah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are frequent travellers through out the years. But, it's the first for us to find this Junior Suite room that has two separate bathroom with showers and two vanity sinks, sort of His and Her.
Perfect reasonable price for Junior Suite compared to other cities which will get you a standard or deluxe room.
Picturesque view of the famous Danube river and the park across with skiers and cute dogs. You will enjoy the view that reflects from the mirror, either doing your make up or shaving.
Refreshing stroll along the Danube to town which takes about 15 minutes or hop on a taxi that cost around 8€.
Also, it's just situated next to A7 highway.
Surprisingly good food at the Bar and Restaurant with a separate smoking bar section.
Always worth the stay overall....

Room Tip: Junior Suite with His and Her shower....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

in which hotel you have to pay in advance???... in Steigenberger Linz.
what were they thinking that i will run away and not pay?!
for 95 euros with breakfast i expected much more. i stayed 21-22 january 2013.

Very clean, great breakfast, very bad pizza,the staff was terrible and not freindly at all.

I am sorry that i'm coming from east europe so that probably mean that we all are criminals who come, eat, sleep and run away without paying.
...so we do not deserve the same treatment as your "Normal" guests.

I will NEVER come to this hotel again. you made me feel like a 2'nd class citizen.
Imposible to get a smile... cold treatment...totaly unfriendly staff.


NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dalibor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
ibis Linz City
#7 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Nike
#9 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Courtyard Linz
#2 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Linz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Linz

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Linz
Address: Am Winterhafen 13 | 4020 Linz, Linz 4020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Linz 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The view of the Danube and the mountains has a particular charm which you can only experience from the Steigenberger Hotel in Linz. Here, the guest will find comfort and cosiness throughout the whole of the hotel. In the restaurant, on the Danube terrace and in the bar the culinary emphasis lies on regional dishes. The conference area is ideal for first-class seminars, and medium sized events and conferences can be catered here for excellently. The wellness area with sauna and steam bath provides a perfect close to a long day. The waterside promenade running past the hotel is ideal for jogging, Nordic walking or short cycle trips. You can reach the old city centre of Linz easily on foot or by local public transport in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Linz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing