We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is ok”
Review of Hotel Sommerhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sommerhaus
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is fine, very well located if you are going to Johannes Kepler university. The breakfast was very good and. It´s easy to take the tram down town and Linz town is a very beautiful place with lots of museums and restaurants and the Beautiful Donau and surrondings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnaH477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 32 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is one of the best stays I had in years. The hotel is not in the center of the city but in a corner of the university tho' going to Linz is just a hop into the tram. The rooms are like student dorms but I found them to be perfect. Two bedroom ones are spacious and silent. The front office staff were very helpful and friendly, they even prepared the breakfast for me when I left early in the morning on the day of checkout. The breakfast was excellent but not big. The Wifi was a bit of a pain as it didn't work across the span of the room. And the restaurant was closed for most of the time.

I loved the place and will go back the definitely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Not bad for a three week stay, but the cleaning staff didn't do their job well and on time, sometimes we had to wait a week for them to clean the room.
There was no air condition and the heath was terrible, and no screen on the window made us easy pray for mosquitoes.
The elevators smelled terrible, and some of the staff members are not very polite.
It is a good value for the money but it could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcamargo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Rooms are clean but very simple. Images on site are accurate. As long as you know exactly what you are getting it will be all good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Clean, with internet connection, a good desk to work and a very nice cafe for the breakfast. Clean. The only thing is that room are very boudly acoustically isolated - you could hear anybody walking on the corridor.

At about 40 EUR per night incl. breakfast it is excellent value for money. Feels more like an 70-80 EUR place.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank wazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I stayed at the Sommerhaus Hotel because most hotels in the center of Linz were fully booked due to the Ars Electronica festival and related events. The single room was booked for me by the Info Centre in Linz's main square and I went to the hotel immediately to drop of my bags. The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the second last stop of the tram lines No. 1 and 2 (which run all night). The Breakfast room was pleasant and the food varied and plenty. The staff were efficient and friendly. My room was on the top floor (12th) facing the countryside though there is a motorway which is visible at a distance and can be heard with the windows open. I liked the idea of leaving the hustle and bustle of the city centre for a couple of days and enjoyed walking in the Linz suburbs and fields. The hotel is large and can cater for large groups. You might think of booking something closer to the centre of town if you want to get to bed quickly without too much hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-Spotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
Thank andreast967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
ibis Styles Linz
#10 of 31 in Linz
585 reviews
ARCOTEL Nike
#12 of 31 in Linz
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Goldener Adler
#16 of 31 in Linz
73 reviews
Altstadtviertel
Comfort Hotel, Star Inn Linz Promenadengalerien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sommerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sommerhaus

Address: Julius-Raab-Strasse 10, Linz 4040, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Price Range: $71 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sommerhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sommerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing