We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“minimalistic and perfect”
Review of Hotel Sommerhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sommerhaus
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“minimalistic and perfect”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is one of the best stays I had in years. The hotel is not in the center of the city but in a corner of the university tho' going to Linz is just a hop into the tram. The rooms are like student dorms but I found them to be perfect. Two bedroom ones are spacious and silent. The front office staff were very helpful and friendly, they even prepared the breakfast for me when I left early in the morning on the day of checkout. The breakfast was excellent but not big. The Wifi was a bit of a pain as it didn't work across the span of the room. And the restaurant was closed for most of the time.

I loved the place and will go back the definitely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
4
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Not bad for a three week stay, but the cleaning staff didn't do their job well and on time, sometimes we had to wait a week for them to clean the room.
There was no air condition and the heath was terrible, and no screen on the window made us easy pray for mosquitoes.
The elevators smelled terrible, and some of the staff members are not very polite.
It is a good value for the money but it could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcamargo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Rooms are clean but very simple. Images on site are accurate. As long as you know exactly what you are getting it will be all good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Clean, with internet connection, a good desk to work and a very nice cafe for the breakfast. Clean. The only thing is that room are very boudly acoustically isolated - you could hear anybody walking on the corridor.

At about 40 EUR per night incl. breakfast it is excellent value for money. Feels more like an 70-80 EUR place.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I stayed at the Sommerhaus Hotel because most hotels in the center of Linz were fully booked due to the Ars Electronica festival and related events. The single room was booked for me by the Info Centre in Linz's main square and I went to the hotel immediately to drop of my bags. The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the second last stop of the tram lines No. 1 and 2 (which run all night). The Breakfast room was pleasant and the food varied and plenty. The staff were efficient and friendly. My room was on the top floor (12th) facing the countryside though there is a motorway which is visible at a distance and can be heard with the windows open. I liked the idea of leaving the hustle and bustle of the city centre for a couple of days and enjoyed walking in the Linz suburbs and fields. The hotel is large and can cater for large groups. You might think of booking something closer to the centre of town if you want to get to bed quickly without too much hassle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-Spotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
1.6 mi away
Gasthof Hotel zum Grunen Wald Wolfsegger
2.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Adler
Hotel Goldener Adler
#15 of 30 in Linz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Linz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Home Hotel Linz
1.0 mi away
Bildungszentrum St. Magdalena
3.4 mi away
Gasthof Rothmayr
Gasthof Rothmayr
#20 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sommerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sommerhaus

Property: Hotel Sommerhaus
Address: Julius-Raab-Strasse 10, Linz 4040, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sommerhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sommerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing