We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lokal food”
Review of Promenadenhof

Promenadenhof
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadtviertel
Bergvik, Gävleborgs Län, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good lokal food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Seems like a popular place for lokals. Very good lokal food to a very nice price. I really enjoyed it!

Helpful?
Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    107
    49
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice local atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The restaurant is very close to the old town. It is usually a place for the locals to enjoy their time until theie theatre bookings.
We enjoyed the quality of the food and the service. The restaurant provides several local tastes from their pre selected suppliers which we tasted nearly all and liked all of the moments we spent.
I recommend to the families.
If you need a bar for the business related occasions, it's also welcomed as we have seen.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Stands out as one of the best in Linz”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We wandered through the Altstadt of Linz, looking for a good restaurant. No luck. Finally we asked a couple on the street and they immediately suggested the Promenadenhof.

The atmosphere is warm and attractive. We waited for awhile until someone came to seat us and, when the waitress came, she was somewhat abrupt and not particularly helpful.

Still, the food was very good. My wife had an excellent Wiener Schnitzel (with veal) and I selected a loin of veal that had been been braised for 12 hours. It, too, was good; very tender but the flavor was very mild.

This is a good stop in a part of town with few good restaurants to select from.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passionatetraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere, Laid Back Service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall I'd come to this restaurant again. It had plenty of indoor seating for those rainy days with an outdoor patio around back for another dozen tables. There seemed to be plenty of choices on the menu and I was happy with what I ordered-- good sized, tastes great, good presentation. There is also a small salad bar to start things off if none of the starters on the menu catch your eye.

The only things worth noting is that the service was really relaxed. The waiters were extremely polite, but I always had to catch their attention when I wanted something (another beer, the bill, etc). So, if you're rushed, this probably isn't the best place to go.

Secondly, the dessert I received was not what I ordered. It was still delicious, but I am not sure if they mixed up my order or if the menu had a translation error. But, hey, who doesn't love surprises? It turned out well in the end.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schruminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent option in Linz”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had three course dinner with a large group and it was great experience food was of top quality and service was also commendable. The high point of this restaurant is the location and very exciting environment . Go for authentic Austrian food in this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinesh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Promenadenhof also viewed

Linz, Upper Austria
Linz, Upper Austria
 
Linz, Upper Austria
 

Been to Promenadenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing