We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option in Linz”
Review of Promenadenhof

Promenadenhof
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadtviertel
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent option in Linz”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had three course dinner with a large group and it was great experience food was of top quality and service was also commendable. The high point of this restaurant is the location and very exciting environment . Go for authentic Austrian food in this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinesh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    106
    49
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Very good Wiener Schnitzel, poor service”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had dinner at Promenadenhof with a group of colleagues and we had a separate room. The ambiance was good, everyone enjoyed the food (in particular, what do you expect, the Wiener Schnitzel...) but the service was bad. We needed to pour our own wine at several occasions and look for the waiter at some stage. It took quite some time to order - and hence to get the first course. I also do not remember the waiters to be particularly friendly. We had a good time with each other, however, service needs to be substantially improved would I return here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great schnitzel in nice setting.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pros:

*Great 5 star classic wienerschnitzel of veal wich i had with mashed potatoes (normally served with parsley potatoes). Large and great tasting schnitzel and fluffy and light mash with roasted onions on top. At 16.90 € this is a bargain. Closest in quality i can compare it to would be at Haxnbauer in central Munich and the price there is about 28 €.
*Ambiance. Its a nice oldfashion warm feeling to this place that i like.
*For smokers there is a seperate bar where smoking is allowed.
*We where a group of 15 and there is plenty of room and also seperate rooms for
bigger companys.

Cons:

*Service. I ordered the garlic bread when i got my food but never recieved it at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

During my stay in Linz, I had excellent two dinners there. Food is really excellent and it is not expensive at all. The first evening I had stripes of beef and pork served with vegetables in a nice copper pot! As a dessert, I had the five chocolates dessert: mmmmmmmmmhhhhhhhhhhh; you must try it!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank m2cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth visiting in Linz”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We are currently staying in Linz and have visited this restaurant several times already. Its always been busy, even mid week, so best to book in advance. It is large with a good outdoor seating area and good range of food and drink. The menu includes the typical Austrian dishes as well and many others and is available in English if you ask. Most dishes are good value, especially the excellent salad bar, but steaks and desserts are on the expensive side. The service can be a little erratic, you won't all be served food at the same time, and you won't get to know you server because it seems to be someone different everytime they come to the table. Still well worth a visit and we will be going again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieCynthia1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Promenadenhof also viewed

Linz, Upper Austria
 
Linz, Upper Austria
Linz, Upper Austria
 
Linz, Upper Austria
Linz, Upper Austria
 

Been to Promenadenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing