We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enigmatic.”
Review of Hotel am Domplatz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel am Domplatz
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Linz
essex
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Enigmatic.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Location excellent, Neue Dom views great (only some rooms), well equipped and quiet rooms. Reasonably priced parking under the hotel.

Staff are efficient, friendly and helpful, especially in the bar. Everything works as it should, huge shower (although you need to be good friends with anyone else in your room as the bathroom walls are clear glass).

Decent breakfast choice, lots of space between tables and fast service.

Downsides? Just a bit 'cold' in character and for a three-day stay, they don't change the bed-linen. It took us some while to work out the electronics, how to open the door, turn on and off the lights, close the electronic window blinds; fine once we'd got it.

A notice in the reception area explains that there are nine deliberate design mistakes in the hotel.

Stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here for the location, be sure to get a 'Dom view' room but be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    113
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
89
18
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've visited Linz a number of times and this is my favourite hotel. Rooms and staff are first rate and overall a great value. The renovation manged to retain some of the old world charm while introducing a modern flair. I'll definitely stay at Hotel am Domplatz next time I visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tag2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great modern hotel, comfortable bed, helpful staff, a good wireless signal. Public pay parking - right under the hotel (with an elevator in the hotel itself, you can enter on the map of the room). breakfast is satisfactory. The restaurant of the hotel (the building next door) is also quite good, the food is delicious. Didn't like large number of people at the breakfast from 8-30 to 9-30

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is newly refurbished and got excellent interior decors. Comfortable bed, great view, nice bar and restaurant. Bath is separated from bed room with transparent glass partition and may not be suitable for all family travels.
Only negative side is that there was no WiFi in guest rooms and available only in common areas.
Excellent staff and was very helpful.
Room electronics especially the curtain control is complicated.

Room Tip: Ask for view to the nearby church
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harbinger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. It's a beautiful space, and if you do get a cathedral view, it is stunning. My room was comfortable and quiet, with great furnishings. Breakfast is very good with many options, and the restaurant affiliated with the hotel is also excellent. I had some trouble with the WiFi in my room, but there was also wired internet access available. The sauna and steam room are very nice, though on my visit I found them turned off and had to request that they be turned on. Overall a wonderful experience with only minor quibbles that the staff didn't hesitate to put right. I'd very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1stClassLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel knowing that it was the best rated hotel on Trip Advisor so my expectations were high. The hotel more than lived up to my expectations. It is ultra modern in style which I really enjoyed, kind of like living in a staged IKEA room. The hotel is situated next door to a gothic cathedral. Get a room that faces the cathetral. I had a room on the third floor with a breathtaking view of the cathedral. One night there was a thunderstorm and I relaxed just watching the lightning against the backdrop of the cathedral. I also enjoyed hearing the bells of cathedral.

The hotel was amazingly quiet and peaceful. Clean and modern. The breakfast was not exceptional but was ample. The restaurant and bar associated with the hotel were very nice. There was an almost too pretty to eat buffet on Sunday. The meat and fish items were cooked on the outdoor grill on the patio.

My only complaints would be that there was no WIFi available on the third floor of the hotel when I was there. Hopefully they will have that problem solved soon. The room was a little warm and I couldn't get the air to work so I just opened a window at night. Also I did not request a room with a bathtub, they do have rooms with bathtubs so if you want one specifically request it. Plus I wish I knew that the mirror slid...Live and Learn.

The hotel was reasonably priced for the quality. I would definately go there again if I ever return to Linz.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the cathedral. Request a room with a tub if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

What is so surprising is that this contemporary hotel which is almost a concrete block sits in the square with the cathedral. I only had one day here for business and was delighted with the wonderful look and feel of the spotless hotel, there again all of Austria is spotless.
Wonderful contemporary rooms with a new concept of bathroom which I loved. Rest of hotel a great design standard. Sits on top with easy access of car park.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linz hotels
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Altstadtviertel
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Linz City
#4 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
ARCOTEL Nike
#8 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Domplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Domplatz

Property: Hotel am Domplatz
Address: Stifterstrasse 4, Linz 4020, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Altstadtviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Domplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique location, top furnishings, high quality and personalized service - the Hotel am Domplatz captivates guests with its exclusivity. Beautifully situated right next to St. Mary's Cathedral, Austria's largest church, the four-star hotel is an extremely attractive starting point for city and culture tourism and a tailor-made location for business guests. Lounge bar, spa and underground garage, the business centre, business apartments and restaurant in the neighbouring baroque houses complete the excellent choice of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel am Domplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing