We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hallstatt Salt Mine”
Review of Salz Welten

Salz Welten
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.35*
and up
Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Hallstatt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take the panorama funicular railway up the mountain at Hallstatt to discover the mysterious attraction of this mystical area. The path leads to the tunnel mouth and into a unique underground world first dug by hand more than 3000 years ago: many kilometres of tunnels lead deep into the rock interior. Enjoy a day full of fun and information at the Salt Mine Hallstatt for the hole family.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hallstatt Salt Mine”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Fantastic and worth every pennt. The slides and train ride were fun and worth the death defying trip up the mountainside!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    286
    78
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Exciting and interesting and not to be missed”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a brilliant trip. I returned to experience it after forty-two years. (I was very very young when I first visited!!!!!!!) Allow plenty of time - approx two and a half hours. Take the funicluar up to the 'dusembarking level'. Then allow approx 15-20 minutes to walk upto the Mine - there is much information en route. It is a vrey steep climb however. The views are fantastic - have your camera at the ready. When you reaCH the Mine, then make sure you change into the protective clothing - believe me, you will need it. The actual tour of the Salt Mines takes approx one hour and thirty minutes. The Guide we had was brilliant - she gave an Explanation in German at every stop, and then (albeit a little shorter) in English. BE WARNED!! There are two slides to whizz down. Two strips of polished wood. You sit, legs splayed over them, leaning backwards. You are warned not to touch them with your bare hands - or they will burn. As I am in my 60s I was a little unnerved - thought I would tip off. However, when you have done it, it is a case of 'Great! Glad I did it) The Underground lake and the light and sound show are both superb. You are finally taken back by a 'train'. You are presented with a small phial of salt. The shop is full of wonderful salts. Great experience. BUT WEAR SENSIBLE SHOES!!! Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsorrento2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cunha
Level Contributor
214 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Don´t miss!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The visit is sensational for both adults and children. It starts with the view of Halstatt and the lake. The visit is guided, and the explanation is in English and German. There is a very interesting audio visual about the formation of the salt mine and the prehistory. The slides and the train that are used to move around in the mine are very entertaining. A Must See!
Be sure to bring warm clothes because the temperature is around 10 ° C

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LanaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My advise is to take the funicular early to have time not only to take the tour into the salt mine , but also to enjoy the 15 min walk up to the mine or to enjoy the breathtaking view of the lake and town .
The tour is fun and educative and I am sure the kids will love it especially for the two slides.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ct83mol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow, do not miss”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visit it the salt mine and learn the history of the ancient that how they did it in the time before history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SUTHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salz Welten also viewed

Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Salz Welten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing