We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food, Close to Everything in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gruner Anger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gruner Anger
Ranked #1 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Close to Everything in Town”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The dinner at Gruner Anger was amazing. We had read the other reviews about the food and it didn't disappoint. The town is so small that nearly everything in town is only a few minutes' walk. The rooms were just fine, nothing over the top, but it's not supposed to be a luxury accommodation. It was a GREAT value for the price paid!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    52
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
138
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Gruner Anger. Ample parking and friendly staff made the check in process very simple. Our rooms were basic, but very clean. The bathrooms were very small and slightly outdated, but also clean. Breakfast was basic, but good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I was surprised by the host that he could pick us out from the crowds near the info centre and gave us a ride to the hotel. He was very helpful in pointing out the important places of the village. The room was great with a balcony overlooking the entrance. There was not much of a view but this didn't detract from our stay at all.

The highlight of our stay is definitely the food! There were so many choices of food for the buffet breakfast (including delicious home made cakes made by the hostess and some hot dish like rice) so that we could not help ourselves but to stuff our stomach full! The dinner was great value for the money. With €11 you can have a 3 course dinner, including a creamy vegetable soup, mixed salad and main dish choices of fish, pork or beef and dessert. We ate dinner there for the two days we stayed in Hallstatt because we believed we could not find a better restaurant with such a price to quite ratio!
We definitely recommend Anger!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We loved out short stay at the family-owned and run Gruner Anger. Very clean, delightful couple running the establishment, a bit off the busy tourist "trail," free parking, and a wonderful restaurant, also run by the family. We would happily stay here on a future trip to this magical part of Austria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The guesthouse is very wonderful. Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is awesome, and internet speed is very impressive. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Especially considering the price paid, the value is definitely beyond expectation.

The only disadvantage is that it is not by the side of the lake. You need to walk by around 5-10 mins from the lake side.

Room Tip: Even though there are rooms with balcony in the guesthouse, I actually don't think it is quite u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryantheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It was very nice for the host to pick us up at the port, and of course he sent us when we left as well. The guesthouse is close to the centre of the town but very quiet. My friends and I loved the room, loved the breakfast, loved the view from our balcony, loved everything of this guesthouse! We tried dinner here which was good as well. Definitely I will come again next time and recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked this penzion after reading the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The penzion is located in the residential area and it is walking distance to the lake, the quaint little shops nearby as well as the funicular that goes to the top of the hill where the Salt mine is located.
We had a room facing the hills and it was very mystical all covered with mist when we arrived. The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean. And in the room there is a flat screen tv and free wifi.
The value for money 10.50 euros 3 course dinner was delicious and we were disappointed that the kitchen was closed on Monday. The breakfast room was cosy too with a good mixed of cereals, juices, eggs, sausages, bacons and cheese, breads and even cakes.
The owner was helpful in giving us information on the attractions nearby. We visited the Salt mines and it was worth the visit. We enjoyed strolling along the peaceful, scenic and tranquil lake. And would love to return to visit the other town that has the Ice Cave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruner Anger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruner Anger

Property: Gruner Anger
Address: Lahn 10, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruner Anger 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gruner Anger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruner Anger Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing