We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Hallberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Hallberg
Ranked #4 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
오스나브뤼크, 독일
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairly good!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Even though my first impression while communicating with the owner with email was not so good (just like other people, the way he writes with english feels not so polite and the fact that I have to pay 100 euros in advance with my credit card which charges commission fee made me feel bad.) after I met him and saw my room, I just felt so good. Room was wonderful and the view from my room was gorgeous too. The owner explained and recommended places in hallstatt with the map and I just felt him as if he is my grandpa :) At the last, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniminseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights in room 6. We used the little kitchen a time or two. The view is wonderful. We appreciated the parking right there at the pension. We took little day trips to visit other areas & lakes but always spent the afternoons in Hallstatt & found it the prettiest of towns. The owner is quite helpful & has a very interesting collection in the pension of things he has found in the lakes scuba diving for 20 years. Really a historical collection! We would recommend staying here & would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktdeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our experience of Pension Hallberg was extremely pleasant.

From the initial prompt response from the owner & manager Eckbert over the phone (great English) and email through to our induction upon check-in - Pension Hallberg was a great experience in an amazing location.

We stayed in Studio 6 which has excellent views of the lake and and beautiful sitting deck (bi-fold windows to experience the fresh air). Excellent value for money.

We travelled with our 4mth old and although I hadn't requested it - Eckbert & his wife had taken the initiative and provided us with a cot/crib which was very much appreciated.

The location was surperb (don't worry by not being "on" the town square as it is a tiny place & literally 60meters down the road to the square) and the lodging a true Austrian Lake experience.

Eckbert provided valuable advice on the local sights etc and very helpful throughout our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Studio 6 was lake view & quite large. It is up 2 flights of stairs however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamelSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pension Hallberg is a lovely pension with great views onto The lake. The hosts are very nice and helpful. Try and ask for a room with a view onto the lake, It is simply stunning early in the morning and late at night. We have stayed here on two occasions and have not been disappointed. the last time we visited in Sep 2012 we even experienced thunderstorms and the heaviest rain I have seen. This still did not dampen our enthusiasm and love of Hallstatt. Our room( the honeymoon suite I think) had a raised bed to optimise the view of the lake. Hallstatt is a Unesco World heritage site, and can get quite busy with tourists, The centre is pedestrianized and this is the only drawback in getting to and from your hotel as you have to arrange to get a pas to bring your car in. There is a stillness and serene quality about Hallstatt that I have not experienced anywhere else. There is plenty to with Boat trips on the lake, the salt mines and nearby Dachstein. Note cash only is accepted in the pension. There are some nice restaurants in the town especially if you like Fish. Yu will enjoy your stay like we did in Beautiful Hallstatt

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon room with view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanstravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had a wonderful stay in this pension. The host couple are welcoming and helpful. I stayed in the very spacious double room. It is very clean and with nice interior settings. The lake view is stunning. It is just happy to wake up with the most beautiful lake view every morning. Wifi connection is ok but not for uploading lots of photos. Euro 100 will be charged when you make the booking. And, You have to settle the rest in cash.

I will stay here again if I com back to Hallstatt.

The last train arrives Hallstatt station should be around 6:40pm and you should be able to catch the last ferry to Hallstatt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishwsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Be very careful if there's a chance that you may need to change your itinerary!

We made a booking for two nights for our last trip, but due to our friends change of plans, we had to re-do our trip plans, and were forced to forsake our Euro 100 deposit(it is vaguely written in your confirmation,: "For bookings we take a deposit of Euro 100 via your credit card which will be balanced with your bill only at the end of your stay.").

We tried to change dates, or perhaps try to ask friends if they wanted to take over the booking, but Herr Winkelmann said that "to find someone else is no solution to us!". Not sure what he meant by that, though my impression was that he wasn't really willing to try.

I guess at it wasn't yet high season, and hotels were not full, the owner was very reluctant to give up any possibility of revenue, especially from foreign tourists who he knew would have no opportunity for recourse.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mnbmacleod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place has a very good location in the center of the town in Hallstatt. The rooms have views of the lake. Our room was roomy, basic, and clean. The house is quirky (it has a Diver's Muesum with WWII artifacts from the lake bed) and the owners are also quirky. There is no breakfast. The room prices are low and overall it is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hallberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hallberg

Property: Pension Hallberg
Address: Seestrasse 113, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Hallberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hallberg Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing