We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel needs help”
Review of Gasthof Simony

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof Simony
Ranked #14 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming hotel needs help”
Reviewed October 25, 2005

Gasthof Simony is a charming little hotel with a magnificent location right on the lake in Hallstatt. The rooms are small, heated by ancient water pipes, and are in need of a good cleaning or total refurbishment, as is the entire hotel. The place is acceptable, but only marginally so. It is obvious that the friendly older lady who runs the hotel really needs help to bring it back.

Helpful?
8 Thank Dawgpndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    29
    17
    13
See reviews for
31
59
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

Great views of the beatuiful Lake Hallstatt, good breakfast, and good price. We enjoyed our stay in the Gasthof Simony. The building was very old and quaint, steeped in history and right next to the beautiful town square. We found the rooms were old but adequate and clean. It was a pleasure just to walk up and down the main staircase, as it is adorned with traditional Austrian rustica. We were lucky to have a room with a view and a balcony overlooking the lake. Some rooms have a bathroom, and others share a common bathroom and toilet down the hall.

There was good eating nearby at Gasthaus Zauner in the evening (one of the few restaurants that was open on a Saturday night!) and worth every euro spent (although it was quite reasonably priced.) We all enjoyed the meals, the wine and the desserts.

Overall, we had a good time. We recommend Simony for sleeping and Zauner for eating!

Helpful?
7 Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2005

Very old, quaint (rickety) hotel right on the charming town square. Room was adequate-lots of personality! But at checkout, the proprietress insisted on EUROS ONLY. The literature says, "To pay cash is OK!", and I pointed that out to her, but she insisted on EUROS ONLY. Maybe somthing is lacking in the translation, but CASH was the only way out! I was even forced to walk in the rain to two ATM's in order to comply (problem with phone connection with the first one). Traveler beware! Another traveler used traveler's checks and gave up 20% to convert to euros at the local bank.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 31, 2005

We had reserved at another Inn in Hallstatt, but our room had been sold to others by mistake.We were sent to the Simony by the Innkeepers Sister. Being late in the day, we had no choice but stay overnight. This place was awful! a bad smell in the dining room only got worse as we approached our ground floor room. Goodness knows what they had baked/ boiled but it was obnoxious.

The room was not well cleaned, hair and lipstick on one of the pillows. Cobwebs and bugs in the bedroom; the shower ran out of hot water.

It is such a shame that this place has been let go, as it is well located, but don't stay here. Rick Steves owes us an apology. He describes it as his 500 year old favourite; I don't think he has seen it in its present condition.

Paul Kelly, Innkeeper, Victoria Canada

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hallstatt hotels

St. Louis, MO. USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2005

We arrived for our short visit in Hallstatt in mid March 2005. After our shuttle across the lake from the train station (after our 2.5 hour trip from Salzburg) we quickly found the Simony around the corner. I walked in, saw no sign of anyone, a desk, or anything, so I turned back to the street to look for the other entrance. Soon the innkeeper Susanna stuck her head out and asked us "1st floor or 2nd floor?" She said that the key was in the door and to go on up, so we headed up some steps. Number 17 was quite a room, large and comfortable with soft beds covered with feather comforters and wool blankets. The bathroom was small, but serviceable, once you get the hang of the hand held shower. Our door opened out to a small balcony with an AMAZING view of the surrounding Hallstattersee and mountains. The day had turned wonderfully warm and sunny, the first spring day after a deep snow winter. We walked all over the town that afternoon, bought some Austrian rum at the local grocery (6 euros), went back to the room before dinner, poured some rum, and sat out on the deck to the sound of chirping birds, running snow melt, the city waterfall, and otherwise total silence. What a great hour in our lives!! That night we went the the Gasthaus Zur Muhle up on the hill a little for a dinner of Reinike trout caught in the lake and broiled with new potatos and green salad. What a treat! The little electric radiator, along with all our blankets, kept us very comfy through the cold Alpine night. We had to rise early to catch a train starting our day's trip to Venice. When we came downstairs our table was set for breakfast next to a little stove that held a blazing fire, and candles were lit in the room. What atmosphere! The breakfast was fine, with boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, fresh breads, fruity yogurt, cereals, juice, and coffee. Susanna was there in her house robe and we felt like guests in her private home, not paying customers, as we chatted. The Gasthof Simony is a home and a feeder. We left reluctantly, but the memory of our short visit in what is surely one of the most beautiful, spectacular spots on mother earth will stay with us forever.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Bethalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2004

Gasthof Simony is a real gem. It is right on the corner of the small square in Hallstatt, and the owner is a really sweet old lady. My room was very simply yet adequately furnished and the bed was one of the best I ever slept in, in my entire trip in Austria - soft, fluffy and warm as toast that you want to stay in there forever. (I went at the end of winter just before the start of spring). If you ask for it, you can get a room with a great view like mine, facing the beautiful lake and mountains. Facilities on the floor are also clean and well-maintained. The furniture, picture frames and deco makes you feels as though you are staying over at a friend's house, very homey.

The breakfast is fantastic, all sorts of breads, jams, meats etc...very filling. The rates - 35 Euros for a single is very reasonable too. It is also next to an ice-cream shop with great snacks.

Definite Recommendation!

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#8 of 8 in Bad Goisern
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Simony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Simony

Property: Gasthof Simony
Address: Frau Susanna Scheutz | Wolfengasse 105, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Also Known As:
Gasthof Simony Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing