We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
38
64
47
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
64
47
20
19
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 188 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Gasthof Simony is centrally located in Halstatt right on the lake. It is a traditional guesthouse offering lovely rooms with balconies overlooking Halstattsee lake. Take the opportunity to rent a boat and mooch around the lake as well as taking in the morning sun after breakfast laying on one of the guesthouses deck chairs overlooking the lake.

Room tip: Room 4 (double) has a lovely balcony overlooking the lake!
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justdoit2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our stay here was very nice. The room was clean and quaint. We had a lakeside balcony that was shared with two other rooms, and the view was beautiful! The door to the bathroom was broken, so we couldn't shut it, but that was no big deal since it was just my husband and me. There was a nice spread for breakfast each morning and free wi-fi down in the dining/reception area. The floors are wooden and creaky, again, not a big deal. Valentine was helpful with our questions. We really enjoyed our stay in Hallstatt. It was a nice break after being in the city.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyB667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I decided to book one night here on the recomendation from my Rick Steeve's guidebook. We had the room directly over the sign of the hotel. The room was horribly dirty including hair ALL over the blankets, and the bathroom/shower was moldy and musty. Being a 450 year old hotel, I don't expect things to be perfect, but clean is definitely something that can be controlled. I was very disappointed in the hotel for the price. We overlooked the square and found it to be a nice view.
This hotel is DESPERATLEY in need of some updating. I would not stay here again. Try the other hotels in the area that are ranked higher than this one, and I am sure you will have a great experience It is a beautiful area that makes a great one night stop.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I've made reservation 3months ago and she confirmed a lake view with balcony room 105Eur/night.We had room number9 at the corner face to the square.It's not lake view!!!Grandmom said no any rooms now and everyrooms is the same price.Actually i know it's not truely for same price.I need no more,just be honest to the guests!!

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louisebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The views in Hallstatt are nice, but so is the whole region. Not worth the trip. We stayed at simony during our visit. We had the corner room overlooking the square, nice view of the hills from our window. The room was clean, and beds were comfortable. The floor did squeak, and you could hear the church bells and some noise from the squar, but not loud. Pretty sure you would be able to hear the bells anywhere in town and almost all small hotels in Italy are not as soundproof as they are in the US.
Breakfast was quite the spread! Good pastries. Warm reception

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBee246
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews