We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a wonderful city”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My cousin and I stayed for one night at the hotel in September 2013. They helpfully arranged for us to have separate twin beds, and we upgraded to the lake view - what a great choice! Our room was 302, on the third floor, and the view of the lake from our balcony was spectacular! We walked in after a few days traveling and it was as if we'd walked into the lap of luxury.

The hostess (whom I can only assume was Monica but have not confirmed) was so incredibly welcoming to us - allowing us to deposit our bags into our room early, giving us instructions on how to make sure our laundry was done (it came back the same day, mere hours later!) and arranging a cab from a neighboring town to take us to the Dachstein glacier cable car. In short, the service was spectacular from start to finish, and the view was a true gift. Of course, no description of this place would be complete without also mentioning that the beds, the finishes and the rooms in general (not to mention the bathrooms) were amazing (clearly the rehab is finished). We had drinks one night on the dock, and the only challenge is that because it's on the water, it can be buggy at night - so there was some challenge with managing the ventilation in the room.

All that said, having traveled to more than 20 countries in the last 24 months (for work and pleasure), I can honestly say it's one of the best hotels I've stayed in anywhere in the world. I'll be back, it's just a question of when.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a lake view - even if you only want to see sunrise on the lake, it's wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g8trgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    157
    44
    24
    19
See reviews for
110
367
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is situated on the market square and has rooms overlooking either the market square or the lake. We had a view of the market square. Small balcony with two chairs and a table to enjoy this lovely view. The hotel rooms must have been refurbished not too long ago, the finishing are clean and modern. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Both members of staff at reception were very helpful and friendly, unfortunately the bar staff were rather miserable and let their colleagues down. Beautiful view of the lake from the restaurant / breakfast area. Good breakfast but please cover the cheese and meat plates to keep the flies off it, how difficult can that be?! Will recommend the hotel and stay there again at a future visit to Hallstatt, one of the most beautiful places I have been to!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is still under renovation. It is nicely decorated, we had a double room on the second floor with balcony facing the market square, the room is spacious and newly renovated, the room has a sitting area and a sleeping area.We are three people and the extra bed is just a sofa bed. No air-con but it was cool in the evening in August, so it´s not a problem. Price is higher than other hotels, It is just a minute walk to the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel, and enjoyed every minute of it. The room and the whole hotel are absolutely beautiful, the design, the furniture, the bathroom, the sittings areas (in the room and outside of it), the restaurant, everything!
The service was great, and the option to make yourself tea in your room, with the small treats they leave you - everything is just beautiful.
The only downside is that the beautiful location just in the middle of the gorgeous village of hallsttat makes it a bit hectic when you go in and out of the hotel (full of tourists by the hundreds, all day, every day). Other than that - great hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the church suffer from strong smell of food making (fish frying etc..), which makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is still under renovation. It is nicely decorated, we had a double room on the second floor with balcony facing the market square, the room is spacious and newly renovated, the room has a sitting area and a sleeping area.We are three people and the extra bed is just a sofa bed. No air-con but it was cool in the evening in August, so it´s not a problem. Price is higher than other hotels, It is just a minute walk to the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Exceptional hotel situated on the main square with outstanding lake views to the rear. Our room was spacious and clean with it's own private balcony overlooking the main square. Breakfast was plentiful. Although the hotel itself was exceptional there was very little connection between 'us' guests the evening bar staff, they were uninterested in serving and knew very little about customer service. Only other minor point at breakfast was the abundance of flies over the cold meats & cheeses. Maybe a covered tray or chiller unit would remedy this issue. I'd certainly recommend this hotel. "great aperol spritz by the way".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there with friends for a weekend after the Salzburg Festival, Hallstatt - the city itself - what a beautiful and peaceful place, the hotel: "only got a room with a non-lake view" but I actually thought the view on the main square was even better, was able to use the hotel teracce anyway! my room was newly renovated with all modern amenities while still keeping with the rustic charme, best bed ever I had in a hotel in Austria, receptionist and service personal very friendly, you should also have dinner there as there is actually no better place to dine in the city than at the Seehotel, very good price for a great stay! I will be back

Room Tip: ask for a room in the top floors (newly renovated), might be worth to pay for an upgrade to a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roesslerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
105 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel
0.1 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Gruener Baum

Property: Seehotel Gruener Baum
Address: Marktplatz 104, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Gruener Baum 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seehotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Gruner Baum Hallstatt
Seehotel Gruner Baum Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing