We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing dishes!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Zauner

Gasthof Zauner
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Hallstatt
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing dishes!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I loved my Zaunerstern or Zauner's Star. Every piece of meat was cooked perfectly the way I told them I'd like. The taste was great with good balance of seasonings!

Helpful?
2 Thank Angeereindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    97
    29
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We just had a most lovely dinner/evening at Gausthof Zauner. I had the smoked fish appetizer which was divine: lightly smoked so the essence of the fish was not lost. I even tried the horseradish - and it was hot! But the yogurt sauce helped. My Schnitzel was the best we have had among us this week: crispy on the outside but the pork cutlet very tender inside. My husband enjoyed his mixed meats skewer along with his venison appetizer. Our friend's pork was ok but the vegetables and Gorgonzola sauce on the noodles were delicious.
Our waiter ("Leslie" a translation into English) was such a gentleman. Answered our questions about the menu, even going to the kitchen to get an answer. And he was so proud of the 120 + history of the restaurant! showing us pictures and telling us about it all. Very, very nice evening. So cold and wet out, - warmed us in another way!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanaepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
479 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nice smoked trout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We only had lunch and tried a limited number of items.
The smoked trout was excellent, barely smokey and moist, one of the better ones no doubt.
Being the asparagus season we have tried both the white and green and they were nice too.
Tried the local "caviar" from some lake fish which was interesting but nothing special.
Wanted to try the char but they did not have it so we want for the trout again. Simple but nice dish with potatoes and salad, you can not go wrong with it.
The staff was very kind, efficient and pleasant, not always a given in Austria.
Hallstatt is a beautiful place but do not expect to be dazzled by food in any one place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharingIsCaring2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“We ate there and it also had nice rooms priced low”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The atmosphere of the restaurant was superb. We thought we were going to have to leave our room at another hotel so Gastof showed us a nice room with a balcony that we almost took. They are not on the water but still at a nice setting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Typical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I visited this restaurant on 12/20 k 12/21, and i did like the beef and venison in this restaurant. The food is very typical of Austria food. Besides, I enjoy the dessert with strawberry source. Such a great experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonChien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Zauner also viewed

 
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Gasthof Zauner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing