We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expired food served for breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braugasthof Lobisser Gasthof
Ranked #5 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Expired food served for breakfast”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We drove to Hallstatt by car. There was no any parking space close to the hotel. The parking lot that the hotel provided was 10 min walking away. So we had to take the heavy luggage to walk 10 min to reach to the hotel from car park.

There is no one stayed at the reception of the house most of the time. So we had to turn to the staff at the restaurant downstaris for some help such as the water, milk, etc. Fortunately they were very helpful and friendly.

The house was very old and not clean. Only good thing is the view from the balcon is really nice. But any guesthouse facing towards the lake should have the similar view.

The most horrible thing is the breakfast. We found all the yogurts that they provided was expired 4 days ago.We checked with the lady and received the answer was "it is very normail. you can just drink without a problem"! We tried to ask for more ham as when we went to the breakfast there was almost no ham left. But after requesting twice, they still did not bring out anything addtional and we had no time to wait and just left.

If you have better option, do not recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonShanghaiLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
45
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
554 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel located on the street opposite the lake., It easy to find there. The big room in side the old buiding, decorated traditional style very beautiful.
The staff is very freindly, they works together with '' Dirndl to go'' shop. you can get the great photo with the traditional costume there.

Room Tip: the room at the top is more quiet and lake view is very beautiful,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NarisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

During our three-weeks of travel through Germany and Austria, we stayed in some lovely hotels and guesthouses, but this was our absolute favorite! Not having been to Halstatt before, and going by the previous reviews, we weren't quite sure what to expect but we were so happy that we went ahead and made reservations and weren't disappointed in any way. The location was perfect, right on the main road that comes into Hallstatt proper. We found the car-park easily, called for pick-up, and the shuttle came right away to bring us to the hotel's front door (a bit of a "white knuckle" ride, but all part of the experience!). Service back to the car-park was just as easy. Our room was lovely and comfortable with incredible views of the lake from both the room and the balcony. Our balcony also overlooked the hotel's lakeside cafe on the opposite side of the very narrow road. The breakfast selections were plentiful and delicious, as were the meals served in the popular main floor restaurant where the service was friendly and quick, and at the outdoor cafe (try the goulash soup!). Verena and her staff were pleasant, easy to work with and available if needed. This hotel was old, quaint, comfortable and charming, exactly what we hoping to find in going to Bavaria and Austria. As in most of the places we stayed, there was no elevator, but I doubt that many places in Hallstatt do have one. We are in our mid-60's and managed to get our luggage up the stairs and to our room, which upon entering and seeing the view, took our breath (what we had left) away!!! Free in-room wifi was convenient. We loved Hallstatt and wished we had allowed more than two nights there. As it was near the end of our trip, Hallstatt was the perfect place to relax. We took in all the town sights and history and rented one of electric motor boats to see Hallstatt from the water, but didn't get to the salt mine, cable cars, or caves as planned on the second day because of heavy rain and fog. But we were content to stay in our comfy room with the view that was beautiful even on a rainy day, reading and watching the trains' arrivals and departures across the lake. The hotel's location was also very close to the boat landing that ferries back and forth to meet every train. Even before leaving Hallstatt, my husband and I were planning a return visit. P.S. The hotel does not have a fitness center so disregard the rating as I was unable to remove it.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, ask for a room with balcony as not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Overpriced and terrible service...went to the restaurant at 7pm and asked for dinner, was told by a waitress "maybe later". Room was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NebraskaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It took me forever to book a room in the first place. They hardly respond to your emails or phone calls. One getting there, the service is non existent. The restaurant below is their main business and no one pays any attention to the hotel guest. I spent all evening trying to find someone to talk to about internet. The staff at the restaurant later told me that they left for the night. This was 7pm and no one was at the desk!
The place itself is overrated especially for the price. There are way better hotels in Hallstatt where I'm sure guest will be more welcomed and taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingWhileTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon because of its beautiful lake views- which was the only good thing about this room. When we arrived, there was some confusion about the somewhat complicated parking situation and Mrs. Lobisser got quite short and rude with me- which wasn't a nice start for our 3 day stay in this hotel.
The room was not too clean (there were hair in the bathroom sink and on the floor, the beds were clean though.
The beds were super creaky. Just turning around made a huge amount of noise. Not too romantic for a honeymoon.
The first night I only got about 5.5 hours of sleep, since the restaurant staff partied just underneath our window until midnight (after the restaurant closed down around 10 p.m.) and the next morning a truck with soft drinks/beer arrived at 5.30 a.m. and was noisily unloaded.
The breakfast was good.
All together - next time I am visiting Hallstatt I will chose a more quiet hotel with better beds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadiantraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Well what can I say....this place was lovely...querky but absolutely lovely...Stayed in room 7 with my partner Ian and wow we were blown away by the stunning view from the balcony (even though it was dull...well until our last day!!)...Very welcoming and friendly with lovely food...We definitely stay there again....and soon I hope :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B4rb513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gruner Anger
Gruner Anger
#1 of 16 in Hallstatt
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braugasthof Lobisser Gasthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braugasthof Lobisser Gasthof

Property: Braugasthof Lobisser Gasthof
Address: Seestrasse 120, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Hotel Class:3 star — Braugasthof Lobisser Gasthof 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing