We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will try them again”

Gasthof Simony Restaurant am See
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Hallstatt
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We arrived early on a Sunday and wanted breakfast but were only able to enjoy a cappuccino, which hit the spot. The terrace extends to the waters edge and has great views of the lake and the light water-traffic, the surrounding mountains and entertaining the water-bird life (many families of swans and ducks). They referred us next door for breakfast but they could not help out either although they have an even better terrace in a upper market setting (and prices to match). We did return later in the day to enjoy an ice cream and I will consider this restaurant again based on the location.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Orlando W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 230 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2016

We got here early before the crowds came and were treated to an incredible lunch. The setting is second to none on the lake at Hallstatt and the food was amazing and very reasonably priced in relation to my other experiences in Austria

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewpJ938MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

The restaurant is probably most popular for its views and it is very nice to sit down by the lake. The food was okay, but you can't expect any gourmet meals here.

Although it was a lot of staff the service was a bit slow and it took a while before we got to order. They only accept cash (actually the only restaurant during our week-long stay in Austria who did not take credit cards). Next time we will try one of the other restaurants in the town.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jakob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is right at the lake and has beautiful views. Since we stayed at Hotel Gasthof Simony we had several meals at this place. It had a number of vegetarian options and the food was tasty. They were kind enough to provide us milk at night for my 3 year old son. The staff was courteous and we enjoyed our meals here while my son threw pebbles in the lake.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Alittlebitoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

We visited this restaurant/cafe after rain had moved through the area. The waiter who (eventually) served us was surly and disinterested. We were at the verge of walking out due to his attitude.
What appalled us the most was that an apparently pleasant Asian couple were totally ignored by all staff. The man had to go and ask for a menu, then go and ask to place an order. At no time did the staff make an effort to approach their table.
In fact, after the Asian man had requested a menu, the staff were observed making fun of the couple.
We were singularly unimpressed and would definitely not recommend visiting this establishment.
Halstatt is a big tourist destination, if you don't like the tourists, don't work there.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank grampsbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Simony Restaurant am See also viewed

 
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Gasthof Simony Restaurant am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.