We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalled”

Gasthof Simony Restaurant am See
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Hallstatt
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 27, 2016

We visited this restaurant/cafe after rain had moved through the area. The waiter who (eventually) served us was surly and disinterested. We were at the verge of walking out due to his attitude.
What appalled us the most was that an apparently pleasant Asian couple were totally ignored by all staff. The man had to go and ask for a menu, then go and ask to place an order. At no time did the staff make an effort to approach their table.
In fact, after the Asian man had requested a menu, the staff were observed making fun of the couple.
We were singularly unimpressed and would definitely not recommend visiting this establishment.
Halstatt is a big tourist destination, if you don't like the tourists, don't work there.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank grampsbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2016

We sat outside by the lake and the views were gorgeous. Our food was good and prices weren't bad for the location.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

This review is based on one dinner experience. We ate outside and took advantage of the excellent view over the Hallstatt Lake. Having eaten so many fish dishes, we decided to try something else. Bad idea! The two schnitzels (turkey and pork) were so heavily breaded that both diners scraped them. The pork loin filet with pasta was a better choice, but even it was nothing special.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank realbigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

We went there to have a sweet bite and enjoy nice scenery of the lake, but soon a blast of windgusts moved us inside. We ordered Kaiserschmarr and Germknödel. Both stood up for the test, sweet and tasty.

Recommended.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wrc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

The service wasn't great but the food was incredible! I had chicken wrapped in bacon with pasta and it was a generous portion. I ate every crumb. I had the apple cake which was very good but not as sweet as I like. My cousin had the dumpling with poppy seeds for dessert. It was unlike anything we had ever had and we really loved it.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WVTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Simony Restaurant am See also viewed

 
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Gasthof Simony Restaurant am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.