We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Gasthof Hirlatz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Hirlatz
Ranked #9 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is located a short walk away from the cable car lift and the main area of the town. I really liked how quiet the hotel and the area was as well as the proximity to the cable car for the salt mines. The hotel was very clean and my room had a balcony. The breakfast selection was more than satisfactory. I also had dinner here one night of my stay which was delicious and very fairly priced. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because of the front desk service during my stay. When I arrived to check in there was no one at the desk and we had to look for the worker to serve us. There was also no one there on two other occasions when I went down to the desk to get recommendations or directions. Otherwise, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odorhei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Clean room with a beautiful view from the balcony, helpful, kind and english speaking staff. Breakfast was the basic buffet and it was OK. It is situated in a beautiful and quiet place, surrounded with mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexbela67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Room: Basic and clean room, big bathroom. But the mattress is too soft, not enough support for a good sleep.
Location: far from town, need to walk at least 30 min to get to the town centre. Walked over 1 hour everyday to go in town and back to hostel was not enjoyable at all.
Breakfast: Basic buffet with eggs. Good enough to start a day.
Staff: Very friendly and helpful daughter with great smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were franklly disappointed by this place and the lack of hospitality shown by the staff - the only time we experienced of this on a week's tour. The hotel is the furthest away from the market square - at least 3/4 of a mile away which it did not make clear. We ate in the village and had to get a taxi which cost 10 Euros each way. Breakfast was poor and offered little variety. We paid considerably more than we did in Salzburg for a very ordinary room which has very hard beds.

All in all they need to improve for the prices they charge and take a little more interest in their guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were only guests but were able to have dinner each night which was very tasty. Should have been shown facilites. Breakfast was okay. Cutlery missing at breakfast and bread rolls not fresh on one morning.waiting staff very attentive and intersting to talk with.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
532 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I spent two nights in Hallstatt at the Gasthof Hirlatz. This is a small family run place that was perfect for my needs. The hotel is a short walk or drive from the Hallstatt center, not too far from the funicular. There is free parking behind the hotel. I had a clean, comfortable single room on the second floor (no elevator). The room had a flat screen TV with English channels. My friend had a larger double room with a beautiful view of the mountains. The family who runs the hotel is very friendly and helpful and they speak good English. The rate included breakfast, which was a typical Austrian breakfast. They offered a 4 course dinner both nights for those staying at the hotel and we ate their twice. They provided us with the menu at breakfast and we had to let them know if we would be eating there and what we wanted for our main course by late afternoon. The meals were good and reasonably priced at 14 euros. The wine was also good and reasonable. We walked to the funicular and took it up the mountain to the salt mine tour, which was more interesting than I expected. You buy a combination ticket. On a nice day I recommend having a drink at the restaurant at the top of the funicular because the view is incredible. I hope to return to Hallstatt and Hirlatz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this marvelous cottage tucked away in the small town of Hallstatt, Austria. While staying here we met 3 generations of the family who continue to operate and care for this facility. The atmosphere has the warmth of a bed and breakfast rather than just a place to sleep. The rooms are so clean with a card of welcome on a carafe of water. Our room had a balcony which overlooked soaring mountains in the distance and a loaded apple tree in the yard. The breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was awesome. In addtion to the cereal, bread, meats, cheeses, and yogurt, you were offered a soft boiled egg. At night you could reserve dinner which cost 14 Euros and included 5 courses and was delicious. It was located a short walk into the town of Hallstatt, which made the rooms extremely quiet at night. There is also parking available if you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.9 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirlatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirlatz

Property: Gasthof Hirlatz
Address: Malerweg 125, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirlatz 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof Hirlatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing