We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Modern and lovely”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our room was very large and decorated in a very contemporary and comfortable style. The Nesspro in the room was much appreciated, as sometimes you want coffee before breakfast. The room was spotless and the bathroom luxurious.

The choices at the breakfast buffet were excellent, and unlike most buffet warm selections, the eggs and bacon were warm. The view is also excellent. We also dined at the restaurant and found the food to be good, except for the strudel, which was recommended, but tasted like cardboard. The mushroom soup was delicious on a rainy day.

Getting wifi reception borders on the impossible -- you have to sit a certain way in the reception area and hope for the best.

Be cautious about leaving your windows open if there are drunks about -- the hotel is surrounded by a parking lot and noise carries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macintosh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    178
    82
    33
    33
See reviews for
136
291
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent place to visit. Everyone at the hotel was incredibly helpful. From explaining how/where to park the car, helping with tips on where to hike to, and where to eat. Excellent room. Very well appointed. Had a great balcony two can really sit on, over looking the lake. Get to the balcony via french doors

5 stars for the hotel; over all review knocked down to 4 stars because of slow service at the restaurant at the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for water view room with a balcony. higher up is better than lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarloaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent two nights at the Heritage Hotel in late August. We had booked into another hotel in the town for two nights and because of the low standard of accommodation decided to stay only one night and to look for something better. When we enquired at the Heritage they were extremely helpful and offered us a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was beautiful and the view over the lake fantastic! We ended up staying an extra night and ate at the restaurant both nights. We found the food and service excellent and the staff very friendly and engaging. Thank you for making our stay at Hallstatt so enjoyable. We'll be back again in the future!! Linette and John Penhall, Ballarat, Australia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights, and what an amazing view. Just spectacular. Our room fronted the lake - just magnificent. It gets 5 stars for the view.

What puzzled us was that from the moment we arrived, the staff all seemed to be completely uninterested in whether we existed or not. We saw not one smile, and lots of occasions when they stood around talking to each other. If we asked a question it was like we were intruding. Whoever owns this place needs to change that culture, which might be acceptable in a backwater but this is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Maybe they are just happy and fat with the constant stream of Chinese tour groups who visit Hallstatt.

By contrast, we were delighted at the service provided at dinner at the Seehotel up the road.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellowdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 221 Heritage Hotel

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Views of the water but with a parking lot in front… would have been nicer to have been directly on the water like some of the other hotels. Next to all the restaurants and things to see in town.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: About 2.5 hours from Innsbruck by car.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was good but not luxurious. Linens could have been of better quality… a bit rough / Pillow was thin.

LIGHTING: Adequate lighting in both bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom is the nicest part of the room. Very modern. Shower nozzle in an awkward position to make for a less than enjoyable shower as you have to stand in the very corner. Good water pressure with some inconsistent water temperature.

TOILETRIES: Seem to be of high quality (non-name branded)

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is very clean but doesn’t feel very new.

A/C: No AC in room… probably heat only. We were too hot at night when trying to sleep (typical of most of the best hotels in smaller towns in Germany/Austria).

STYLE OF ROOM: Modern and nice but not picture taking worthy. Great balcony for a view of the water even though there is a parking lot in front.

COMMON AREA: Not much of a place to hang out besides the restaurant.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Hotel was very quiet and the morning sun could mostly be blocked.

FOOD: Only had breakfast here which was not enjoyable. Items were not impressive, fresh or displayed in an appetizing way.

TV/INTERNET: TV is a bit small for the room (didn’t use it). Internet is wired in the room or wireless in common areas. Our room was able to pickup a weak wireless signal.

SERVICE: Staff were very friendly at check in and answering questions about the area.

SUMMARY: Hotel See AM definitely has a better location with no parking lot in front but with all the complaints about that hotel, I am glad we stayed here. I will choose more comfort over a better view. No hotels in Halstadt will impress but this is probably the best of them all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shizuoka
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Booking.com, requesting a ground floor since we were travelling with elderly parents. When we arrived around 8:30 pm we had a few unpleasant surprises. First of all the hotel does not have parking (as well as other hotels and businesses in Hallstatt), you need to park outside town and walk to the hotel 10-15 minutes. Then we were told that because we came late our rooms will be in a different building on the 3rd level, which is located well above ground, requiring steep ascend and descend. Additionally the man who came out of the hotel (probably the owner) was very unpleasant and rude to the receptionist and to us. We decided to leave immediately and had to look for another place which was difficult considering late time and busy holiday period. Fortunately we were lucky and found accommodation in the nearby town.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lalo1216Shizuoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A wonderful location, view a lakeview from the room. If we stayed again, we would book a room with a balcony to greater enjoy the beautiful setting. The lovely restaurant also had a lakeview. An excellent dinner, we enjoyed a very well cooked steak and pork medallions, although service was very slow. The friendly and helpful receptionist gave excellent advice on things to enjoy during our short stay. A great place from which to explore a wonderful part of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to enjoy the lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.0 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#8 of 8 in Bad Goisern
13 reviews
5.7 mi away
Brandwirt Gasthof
Brandwirt Gasthof
#3 of 5 in Gosau
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel Hallstatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Hallstatt

Property: Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Address: Landungsplatz 101, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Hotel Hallstatt 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage.Hotel Hallstatt - downtown Hallstatt Between the mountains and the lake, amid Hallstatt's UNESCO World Heritage, there is just enough room for something special - a hotel where you can experience the unique Hallstatt feeling, a hotel that pampers you with luxury. The Heritage.Hotel melds three historic houses into a special kind of luxury hotel: 12 Heritage.Suites and 42 Heritage.Deluxe double rooms will charm you their unique flair and stylish appointments. In these historic monuments, no two rooms are the same; each enchants with its own unique history. The ****Heritage.Hotel Hallstatt is a member of the association: „Castle Hotels & Mansions“. Enjoy a unique vacation in the Salzkammergut at our lakefront hotel on Lake Hallstatt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Hotel Hallstatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing